We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vondel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Vondel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Vondel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vondelstraat 26 | City Centre - Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam 1054 GD , The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Leeds
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Weekend in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We got some inexpensive flight from KLM to Amsterdam. It was only after we had the flights that we realised this was Queens weekend in Amsterdam with the abdication and all the City was pretty full. Our first choice of hotel was not confirmed so we went for the Vondel and must have got the last room.
we were allowed to check in a couple of hours early, 13:00 instead of the usual 15:00. we were given room 106 and it took a while to realise the room was down one floor. I then remembered the review of the room about the noise from 6:30 as you are under the kitchen and dining area. well they were right so if you are a light sleeper or la late riser this is not the room for you. We are neither and it was only a three night stay. On the plus side it is a large room with a nice bathroom with full bath tub. You also look out over the garden terrace.
The dining area is light and airy and never overcrowded even with a full hotel. There is a good selection of food and quality is also very good. The staff who serve the coffee were very attentive and friendly. The reception staff were the same.
Cleanliness of the hotel is to a very high standard.
And what a location. Two minutes walk from Leidersplein and the trams. In fact if you are going to Centraal Station on your departure the number 1 tram stop is just one minute away. You are also close to Vondelpark a lovely place if you are there on a warm summer day.
So a good quality hotel with the only drawback being if you are given a first floor room and like a lie in you may be disappointed.

Room Tip: Avoid first floor rooms as they are at basement level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    272
    136
    67
    46
See reviews for
50
313
32
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hawick, Scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed for one night and the hotel is very nice and the staff were great. Its in a great location in a very nice neighborhood. The only problem was that I was allocated room 105 which is in the basement and the small windows are the ones you see at the front entrance at street level so all you see are the shoes of people walking by. This in itself is not really a problem, however the real issue is in the morning when people are unchaining their bikes etc and the noise is really loud together with peoples voices as they walk past! I think the hotel should only let this particular room if the rest of the hotel is full and they mention its position to guests. In my case the hotel was not full and they obviously feel it is acceptable to provide this particular room, which is a shame as the rest of their hotel and service is great.

Room Tip: Just avoid room 105 or really any room starting 1 as these rooms are not on the first floor but are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamburg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

had a very nice stay in this hotel,
big room with jacuzzi , top floor, clean, light and silent
walking distance to leidseplein and vondelpark, central,
good breakfst, fair price and i would return here anytime

thank you for saving our holland trip after a terrible night in an apartment in amstel

Room Tip: top flor - view to back or park with jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We booked this hotel for my Mum & Dad's 30th Wedding Anniversary - we had a weekend long city break in Amsterdam. Check in was smooth and easy - we were upgraded to Executive Suites on arrival which were beautiful! The bath was so deep and the huge rainfall shower was amazing. The beds were comfortable and there was maid service every day. The hotel itself was spotless, really living up to it's 4* rating. Also - stupid thing to notice, but the hairdryer in the room was a really good one - usually the hotel hairdryers are not very good!
Mini bar was expensive, and the bar in the hotel was expensive, but no more expensive than everywhere else in Amsterdam. We paid 9euros for a cocktail one night!!
All in all a lovely trip, in a perfect location right next to the Leidesplein.

Room Tip: Executive Suites are lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I enjoyed a family visit to various places in Holland with my wife and 2 boys over Easter.
We had planned to stay either 1 or 2 nights in Amsterdam’s American Hotel on the Leidse Plein but instead we stayed in Hotel Vondel as it was recommended by my brother in law as being more personal and friendly.
When we booked in I was told that they were nearly full and didn’t have the best rooms in the house, instead did we want to stay at another hotel in the group on the PC Hoofdstraat, I thought it looked like a decent hotel, it was only for 1 night and we just wanted to get settled in and relax in Amsterdam.
After a great meal in Luden restaurant in the Spui Straat we headed back to the Hotel Vondel and went to bed on the lower ground floor only to be woken at 6AM by loud food steps on the wooden floor above us, it worked out to be a passage way between the kitchen and breakfast room straight above our room.
The excessive noise lasted for hours and I complained as I paid for a room to sleep in at my leisure and not to be woken up at 6AM!
The worst thing about this experience is that I can’t have been the first guest to complain about this room, I wouldn’t ask my dog to sleep there, and the hotel management should not have rented it out.
My complaint was waived away with the message “ We told you that it wasn’t the best room in the hotel” and I asked them “ did you tell me that I would be woken up at 6?” the answer was that they didn’t and they would discuss my complaint with the manager.
They didn’t discount my bill for the inconvenience caused nor did they apologise so if they want to treat their guest like this they don’t deserve your business!
There are hundreds of good rooms for similar prices managed by people who care about their customers and don’t treat you with contempt.
I will certainly never stay in that hotel or a hotel in their group again, even the taxi driver taking us to the airport knew about the lower ground floor and that is exactly why I feel like writing this, if rooms are not fit for guest to stay, use them for something else.
Bad management, bad attitude, horrible experience and they know it! That’s the worst of it all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The location is perfect! This nice and quiet area of Amsterdam is only a short walk away from facilities like shopping, restaurants and museums. The fact that the hotel had a cozy backyard surrounded by trees and was located so near the Vondelpark, really softened the urban impression. The hotel itself was both charming and had a very interesting mix of modern and classic interior and exterior.
The breakfast varied a lot in quality and size. Since the buffet was a bit dry and smaller than we expected, we tried the omelet from the à la carte menu. The first one was really good, but we were rather disappointed the second time we ordered it. One must also be aware that the building is rather old, you can therefore hear much through the thin walls. Expensive compared to the facilities.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Vondel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vondel

Address: Vondelstraat 26 | City Centre - Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam 1054 GD , The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#65 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vondel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vondel is nestled among Amsterdam's lively centre. The hotel offers outstanding accommodations at an excellent location. Distinguished by its extraordinary interiors, the hotel has a very stylish and unique ambiance. The 86 guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide comfort for everyone’s taste. Start your day with an extensive breakfast buffet at JOOST Eat & Drink, or just stay in and enjoy it in your room. The bar extends into a charming garden for guests to relax during the summer months. The hotels exclusive and intimate size doesn't prevent it from possessing an array of facilities oriented towards both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is located a stone’s throw away from the Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum right in the museum quarter & fashion district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Vondel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vondel Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vondel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.