We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth every penny” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vondel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vondel to your Saves list
Hotel Vondel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vondelstraat 26 | City Centre - Rijksmuseum, 1054 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #149 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
merseyside
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth every penny”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Let me start off with the only 2 bad points I could find with Hotel Vondel 1st Hotel room was a bit business like it needed a few homely touches. 2nd Our room was number 130 Executive room with jacuzzi and is situated by the main reception ,there is also a stair well located by your front door and bath room and you could hear people walking past your room and going up/down the stairs but not to the extent of waking you from your sleep . The Hotel is located in a very quite residential street a few minutes walk from the town,its very modern and clean and our room was great A tip for you hire a bike to get about we wish this is what we had done as it would of made things a touch easier 13 euros for the day.

Now that is over the Hotel Vondel is a very nice hotel and I would definitely recommend you stay in this hotel if your thinking of visiting Amsterdam. It is situated 10-15 mins away from all the main attractions and it is a very pleasant walk to the main parts. When you 1st arrive at centrel station jump on trams 1,2,or 5 to Lieplinsen cost 2.60 euros you can get any of these trams back to centrel station from outside the Bull Dog. Like any city Amsterdam has its own problems with pickpockets and shady people just be vigilante act normal and enjoy yourself don't let other stories worry or put you off visiting Amsterdam as you do feel very safe there anyway.
Lieplinsen town centre is a busy, bustling,lively up and coming place there's lots of restaurants ,pubs, theatres,cinemas and coffee shops to visit.

Out of our 3 days we visited the red light district 4 times out of curiosity and is well worth a visit you can not go to Amsterdam and not visit the RLD .
We will be going back to Amsterdam and Hotel Vondel will be the Hotel we will be staying at again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    340
    173
    79
    51
See reviews for
80
428
36
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

I stayed here with a friend recently. The hotel was clean and comfortable with ample room,on arrival we were given a free upgrade which was nice. The Decor was nice , The beds were really comfy & the bathroom was clean.. The shower was really good, we had a little small balcony with 2chairs on which was nice for the air on a sunny day - The staff seemed friendly enough when we spoke to them, The only bad thing if I were to nitpick would be the layout can be a bit confusing to find your room..
We had slight trouble finding the hotel as we were never in Amsterdam before - The website we booked it through didn't seem to offer us directions. Basically if you get the tram to Leidseplein look for the Marriot Hotel & it's on the road adjenct to that. The area seemed very well kept and not dodgy at all. We were really happy with our stay and would very much stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

I had a business meeting last week and enjoyed it! So Did my colleagues. Everything that was needed for a succesfull meeting is in the package. Great location, after the meeting we went to a restaurant, 2 min. walk from hotel Vondel. Friendly and helpfull staff. I will come back nxt time :)

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

I am currently in-house at the Vondel and am experiencing the worst business event I have been involved with for several years.
The meeting space is accurately photographed on their website, however does not mention the fact that the room is several floors underground, guests literally have to climb down tiny staircases as if entering a bunker. Downstairs in this grim dark room, the tables are in desperate need of repair/ replacement, you could injure yourself on the metal frames that are broken and splintered on several of the tables. It would have helped if they had tablecloths, though they do not and could not manage to arrange any with over half a day's notice.
Throughout today if I had not asked for the coffee breaks to be served at least 5 times I doubt that they would have been served at all, still they were late.
The lunch was a complete disaster, fish served raw, full of bones accompanied by rock hard risotto, it was only that the entree was such a large serving that the group are not going hungry, the main course and the desert (which was partly still frozen) were both un-edible. There were comments that this was the worst meal ever eaten...or rather not eaten, I am now actually starting to feel sick from the meal (the part of which I could eat).
Trying to have documents printed here is also not advisable, the one printer they do have was unable to print 5 pages without jamming and the helpful staff that were on duty last night managed to completely break the printer with the rough manner in which they were trying to get it to work.
The bedrooms are good, that is if you are lucky enough to be away from the ground floor where my colleague unfortunately was located and had to leave her tv on overnight in order to drown out the constant noise passing her door.
The staff also like to argue, for example according to them my fish and the 20 un-eaten portions were apparently not raw..in this hotel it seems the customer is never right!
So in short, a nice spot for a weekend getaway, anything more than that stay well clear!

Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
79 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

Fantastic location, right across all the bars, restaurents and the main shopping area. Van Gogh walking distance too.
Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patras
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

Trendy city centre hotel, but although our room had a shower and a bath tub no shower handle was available neither in the shower or the bath tub. We still wonder why the management took the decision to remove them...

Anyway, breakfast area was very inviting and the overall room experience above avarage. Situated in a quiet steet near to many major Amsterdam attractions.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Close to museums, clean accomodation, helpful staff

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#63 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 404 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#42 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 516 reviews
Vondelpark
Grand Hotel Downtown
Grand Hotel Downtown
#99 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#74 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 603 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#30 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#79 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vondel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vondel

Address: Vondelstraat 26 | City Centre - Rijksmuseum, 1054 GD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#114 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vondel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vondel is nestled among Amsterdam's lively centre. The hotel offers outstanding accommodations at an excellent location. Distinguished by its extraordinary interiors, the hotel has a very stylish and unique ambiance. The 86 guestrooms have been specifically designed to provide comfort for everyone's taste. Start your day with an extensive breakfast buffet at JOOST Eat & Drink, or just stay in and enjoy it in your room. The bar extends into a charming garden for guests to relax during the summer months. The hotels exclusive and intimate size doesn't prevent it from possessing an array of facilities oriented towards both business and leisure travelers. The hotel is located a stone's throw away from the Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum right in the museum quarter & fashion district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Vondel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vondel Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vondel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.