We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Backpackers haven” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre

Save Saved
You added Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beursstraat 11 - 19, 1012 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Terminus)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #234 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Backpackers haven”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights, the room was clean, the bed was firm and the bathroom spacious. The walks are thin and the floors are lets just say, characteristic.
We were after good location at a budget price and that's what we got, right in the heart of Amsterdam, short walk to central station, Dam Square, red light district, everything that the old Amsterdam has to offer.
As a bonus you can get high and horny just by walking the streets. Pubs and beer great, restaurants and food variety fantastic all with titilating entertainment for free.
Good base in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: You don't stay at this hotel to sleep only to recover from the night before.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    235
    238
    113
    97
See reviews for
76
262
67
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed here for a long weekend with partner. Can't fault location it's right in the centre of things. 2 mins from Dam Square and Damrak . Very old and creaky building so every footstep past the room can be heard. That said our room was clean and no damp. Breakfast was plentiful but unimaginative. It's overpriced for the facilities but as a base (which is all you need in Amsterdam) it ticks the boxes.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Toilet not cleaned when we arrived.
Than new room where impossible because of the outside noise (coffee shops street).
Staff unfriendly.
Wifi connexion only good in the lobby.
Old nails on the floor.
....
I wouldn't recommend this hotel, it s really too expensive for what it is.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Stayed here 3 nights during honeymoon. Enjoyed it and it's location to city centre. Bit noisy at night being in red light district so if and our room window was facing that street but it didn't really bother us. Overall room was clean. Only thing is could have had a mini bar to keep water etc cool but other than that highly recommended and very good price.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I give it 5/5 because although it isn't luxury, it doesn't profess to be and there's nothing at all wrong with it. We went for a hen do and it was perfect for that. The four bed room we had was massive. There was no view, & really steep stairs, it's a good job there was a lift to take luggage up! Can't remember exactly what we paid, maybe around £70 for the night? It's easy to find once you know where it is- just head for The Grasshopper from Centraal Station and it's just past that (go straight ahead from station drop off point for coaches and head a bit left! Past the canal cruises.). Check in was easy- don't forget change to pay the city tax. There is a locked luggage area which is free (only thing is- everyone in the hotel can have access to this area so it's not completely secure). Friendly enough staff.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in April 2014 and found this hotel had the basic requirements for a stay in the heart of town.

The bed was not as comfortable as we would have liked and the room was quite small for two adults with 4 small pieces of luggage. The room we had had a strange arrangement where we had to climb up 3 steep steps to reach the bathroom. It was very awkward and quite slippery to negotiate.

It would have been very hot had we stayed there in summer as it was quite stuffy even on the cool spring days we encountered.

The location was the best aspect of this hotel closely followed by the extremely helpful staff. After our horrible experience in a London hotel, there people were angels in comparison.

It was quite noisy at night with every noise accentuated when people passed the room and creaked the floorboards. It seemed that the walls weren't very well insulated as all noises could be heard.

There was a good variety of choices for breakfast so no need to eat out.

Read the other reviews about room choices and ask what sort of room you are being given so that you can make your own selection.

Room Tip: Read other reviews to make a room selection
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre

Address: Beursstraat 11 - 19, 1012 JT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel Terminus)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Venere, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulip Inn Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;