We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quentin England Hotel

Save Saved
You added Quentin England Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Quentin England Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roemer Visscherstraat 30, Amsterdam 1054 EZ, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #265 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Brooklyn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Do not stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was the most over priced horrible hotel we've ever stayed in. The room cost us 258E and we had no hot water in the morning. The internet didn't work either. The room itself was a dump with a hollow core sliding door to separate the bathroom. There was no soap in the bathroom, only a "body and hair" foam. the walls were paper thin. We could hear our neighbor coughing in the morning as well as everyone passing int he hallway.
The staff was incredibly apologetic an encouraged us to write a bad review because they knew how bad it was.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuentinGroupHotels, Front Office Manager at Quentin England Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We had a power failure in the electrical system and that was the reason that there was no hot water or internet. We are sorry that you felt the hotel did not do everything they could do to solve the problem.
We recently introduced a new soap system in our hotels which is called “The Spa Collection”. With this soap you can also wash your hands. Thank you for letting us know your experience with this soap.
We also will be using your review for our next renovation plans and we truly appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    55
    91
    55
    73
See reviews for
13
75
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

First thing first, the location is just about perfect. Everything we planned on doing in Amsterdam was just a walk away (or one tram from the end of our street for when we went out of Amsterdam). The hotel is in a really nice quiet location too. The staff are very friendly and were always helpful, they even booked a taxi for us.

The room was on the 3rd floor, and was just about the right size for a double bedroom in Amsterdam. As expected in Amsterdam, the stairs in the hotel are extremely steep, but this turned into a funny joke every night going back to the room, so as long as you don't have a huge suitcase you'll be fine.

The "double" bed was two singles pushed together, but was comfortable none the less. There was a little TV which got english channels, and there was enough room to dump the stuff from our packs all over the floor. The bathroom was clean and the shower was pretty good too. Our room was at the back of the hotel so we had a nice view through the window.

Next time we go back to Amsterdam we'll be happy to book at this hotel again, it was everything we needed!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuentinGroupHotels, Front Office Manager at Quentin England Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you very much for you positive feedback about the Quentin England Hotel. We highly appreciate every feedback from our guests. We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed at the Quentin England Hotel for 3 nights with my Mum in September 2013.
A simple hotel in a quiet street with nice staff, very close to the city center and the museum quarter .
The only negative point is : there was no ventilation in the bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuentinGroupHotels, Front Office Manager at Quentin England Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. We will be using your comments about the bathroom ventilation for our renovations plans and we really appreciate your feedback about this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I booked with my boyfriend to spend a weekend in Amsterdam and the location of this hotel is indeed very good. Depsite the location, we did not manage to go to sleep until 06.00 am. There was no noice contral for people coming in & out in the middle of the night. Our room was next to the garden and we were guaranteed by the receptionist that the garden would be locked at midnight - this turned out not to be the case. The total atmosphere of the place is a hostel and should not be classified as a hotel. we had a terrible experience and waking up on a Saturday morning after 3 hours sleep was not a good start of the weekend with my boufriend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuentinGroupHotels, Front Office Manager at Quentin England Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are very sorry to hear that you had problems with sleeping because of the noise during the night. Let me please assure you that we are always trying to make our guests aware that there are other guests in the hotel, besides themselves. In the meantime, we have already taken additional measurements to reduce the noise during the night. For your information, we also have a 24-hour reception, in case our guests require any information or are in need of any assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vordingborg, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Hotel i located in a quiet and beautifull small sidestreet not far from central areas. It is quiet and clean, with a good service level. All staff I met were friendly and helpfull.

Parking in Amsterdam is expensive and there is not realy any good parkingsightes close to the hotel. The reception will provide you with a few options, non of them realy inviting though. But that is a general problem i Amsterdam.

Breakfast is good, continantal type with a touch of Netherlands.

The single rooms we had is not recomended for other activity than sleeping and showering. The are claustrophopbicly small. Stairs are steep, very steep in places.

Overall a place I would use again.

Room Tip: Ask for a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuentinGroupHotels, Front Office Manager at Quentin England Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our staff. Please keep in mind that the Budget Rooms are not very spacious. In case you are not happy with the room you can come to the reception and we are always willing to help you out with the best solution possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samobor, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed in 2008 in corridor room(about 4m2).I never write recension about my time spend there.Instead of the bed it was 3 mattraces upon one another.No window,no air condition,no space even to walk in room.The smallest room that i ever stayed in.HORRIBLE experience.You could easilly get panic attack there.For a money they charge it was very bad. I visit Amsterdam few times after 2008 and i always avoid that space.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuentinGroupHotels, Front Office Manager at Quentin England Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that the room did not meet your expectations. The beds have been changed and In the meanwhile we are busy with new furniture. Please keep in mind that the Low Budget Rooms are not very spacious. In case you are not happy with the room you can come to the reception and we are always willing to help you out with the best solution possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quentin England Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quentin England Hotel

Also Known As:
Quentin England Amsterdam
Hotel Quentin England
Quentin England
Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 30, Amsterdam 1054 EZ, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quentin England Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in a 18th century building and part of the famous ‘United Europe’ buildings, this are seven houses and every house is an example of a typical building style from seven European countries (England, France, Germany, Russia, Spain, Italy and Holland). The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible.The hotel is located at the Vondelpark, near to all Amsterdam’s highlights such as the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Albert Cuyp Maket, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. The Roemer Visscherstraat is a quiet street, so you will be in the city centre of Amsterdam but still have a good night sleep.The hotel offers many services and facilities such as a private garden with terrace, free wireless internet throughout the building, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is always open (24/7) and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information.The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Venere, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, getaroom.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Quentin England Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quentin England Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.