We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its a hostel not a hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quentin England Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Quentin England Hotel to your Saves list
Quentin England Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Roemer Visscherstraat 30, 1054 EZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #277 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“its a hostel not a hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I booked with my boyfriend to spend a weekend in Amsterdam and the location of this hotel is indeed very good. Depsite the location, we did not manage to go to sleep until 06.00 am. There was no noice contral for people coming in & out in the middle of the night. Our room was next to the garden and we were guaranteed by the receptionist that the garden would be locked at midnight - this turned out not to be the case. The total atmosphere of the place is a hostel and should not be classified as a hotel. we had a terrible experience and waking up on a Saturday morning after 3 hours sleep was not a good start of the weekend with my boufriend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuentinGroupHotels, Front Office Manager at Quentin England Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are very sorry to hear that you had problems with sleeping because of the noise during the night. Let me please assure you that we are always trying to make our guests aware that there are other guests in the hotel, besides themselves. In the meantime, we have already taken additional measurements to reduce the noise during the night. For your information, we also have a 24-hour reception, in case our guests require any information or are in need of any assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    84
    129
    65
    96
See reviews for
25
128
48
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vordingborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Hotel i located in a quiet and beautifull small sidestreet not far from central areas. It is quiet and clean, with a good service level. All staff I met were friendly and helpfull.

Parking in Amsterdam is expensive and there is not realy any good parkingsightes close to the hotel. The reception will provide you with a few options, non of them realy inviting though. But that is a general problem i Amsterdam.

Breakfast is good, continantal type with a touch of Netherlands.

The single rooms we had is not recomended for other activity than sleeping and showering. The are claustrophopbicly small. Stairs are steep, very steep in places.

Overall a place I would use again.

Room Tip: Ask for a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuentinGroupHotels, Front Office Manager at Quentin England Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our staff. Please keep in mind that the Budget Rooms are not very spacious. In case you are not happy with the room you can come to the reception and we are always willing to help you out with the best solution possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samobor, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed in 2008 in corridor room(about 4m2).I never write recension about my time spend there.Instead of the bed it was 3 mattraces upon one another.No window,no air condition,no space even to walk in room.The smallest room that i ever stayed in.HORRIBLE experience.You could easilly get panic attack there.For a money they charge it was very bad. I visit Amsterdam few times after 2008 and i always avoid that space.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QuentinGroupHotels, Front Office Manager at Quentin England Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that the room did not meet your expectations. The beds have been changed and In the meanwhile we are busy with new furniture. Please keep in mind that the Low Budget Rooms are not very spacious. In case you are not happy with the room you can come to the reception and we are always willing to help you out with the best solution possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I've stayed here 4 - 5 times over the years on various trips to Amsterdam. It's in an excellent location. Rooms are very basic but definitely functional, kept clean and well-maintained. If you're looking for something reasonably cheap and no frills, this hotel is a good shout.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel tend to have balconies - decent street view, nice for if you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed here with 2 other friends, we are all females in our mid 20s. The location was good, only a short 10min walk before you arrive to the main areas in the centre. We stayed in a private triple room with bathroom for 2 nights. Whilst we were there the beds were made and the bins emptied. The people on the front desk were all really helpful and told us how to get to all the main sites. Rooms were clean and big enough for three of us. We found this hotel on a hostel site so we were pleasantly surprised when we got there. In terms of hostel standards it would be 5 out of 5. Would definitely go back to this place if I ever went back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This hotel was very clean and a good price.

The location is only a few minutes walk from Leidseplein square.

The hotel staff were friendly and informative.

The room was a decent size and had a good bathroom.

I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#251 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#283 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 326 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#247 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#250 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 330 reviews
De Pijp
Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam
Aalborg Hotel Amsterdam
#221 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
#128 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quentin England Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quentin England Hotel

Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 30, 1054 EZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #277 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quentin England Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in a 18th century building and part of the famous 'United Europe' buildings, this are seven houses and every house is an example of a typical building style from seven European countries (England, France, Germany, Russia, Spain, Italy and Holland). The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible.The hotel is located at the Vondelpark, near to all Amsterdam's highlights such as the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Albert Cuyp Maket, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. The Roemer Visscherstraat is a quiet street, so you will be in the city centre of Amsterdam but still have a good night sleep. The hotel offers many services and facilities such as a private garden with terrace, free wireless internet throughout the building, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is always open (24/7) and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information. The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Quentin England Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quentin England Amsterdam
Hotel Quentin England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quentin England Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.