We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a quiet hotel in a great area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Piet Hein

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Piet Hein to your Saves list
Hotel Piet Hein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vossiusstraat 52 - 53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #191 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
melbourne
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“a quiet hotel in a great area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

This hotel was selected for us through work & I would highly recommend it. The staff were very helpful, rooms clean & light, we even had a balcony. Excellent breakfast, fast free internet & a small cute bar at the front. It is opposite Vondel park, around the corner from the Van Gogh Museum & can be reached by trams 2 or 5 from the central station easily. You can walk to most places from here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muchachitaoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

The smell in the room was very bad. They might have a bug problem (or maybe they just solved it?) because the whole room smelled like bug insecticide, in other words, toxic used to kill bugs. This made my stay quite unpleasant.

Otherwise the room was clean, although a bit on the small side. The staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingman1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghnad
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

I have stayed at Peit Hein when visiting Amsterdam on many occasions. Location is great, meters away from the fashion district and high end restaurants. Breakfast is pleasant. Staff friendly. Value for money. Rooms are small, too small but this is Amsterdam. Cleanliness is a great concern in Amsterdam. On my last trip I noticed grime in between the tiles in the shower and the overall appearance of the bathroom was dirty, worried, I was reluctant to use it. The dirt observed was obvious and not cleaned the following days. I started feeling unsure about the bed sheets too. I am worried this hotel is masking its overall appearance with the boutique look. I will not stay here again. But, having said that some 5 start hotels in Amsterdam are getting worse reviews. Amsterdam is not a place for clean cut visitors. It is a very dirty place when you pay attention to detail.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ghnad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

My partner and I booked an executive double room at the Piet Hein for November 2009. Their web-site pictures showed an elegant and spacious modern room done in greys, tans and black. Good lighting, nice linens and updated bathroom!! I actually called the hotel to secure the reservation, making sure an executive double was available. It was to be the last stop on our 3 week trip to Europe and we planned to spend 6 nights there. We wanted to end on a high note. This would be our most expensive hotel at just under 200 Euros a night.
Our taxi driver could not find the hotel but this is not an uncommon phenomenon. The hotel is situated on Vondelpark. The public entry is very stylish with a nice seating area, chic and busy small bar and a few computers near the front desk for the clients' use. The lobby has a young, business traveller feel. We were shown to a room on the top floor. All white. It was just large enough to hold the queen size bed and allow the room door to open. An attic room, the ceiling was slanted and a small beam ran down it so that in bed one would hit one's head if turning towards one's partner!! There was a small window looking out at the park. The bathroom was of almost equal size but had been modernized (but several things were in disrepair). I realized this was not the room I had seen on the website and thought an error in booking had occurred. Not so. This WAS the executive double. I urged the young man behind the desk to visit the website with me. I showed him the room that was pictured/offered and that I thought I had booked. "I want that room!", I said. It doesn't exist. The photo is a mock up that is intended to give a "feeling" of the style of the hotel!!!! I was furious. This was a clear case of misrepresentation. Much drama followed. We booked somewhere else and I threatened to slam the hotel on the internet. Finally 2 new behind-the-deskers worked with me to find a quiet, much less expensive "older" room.
We ended up enjoying our stay. The reduced rate helped a lot. Breakfasts, included, are very good with ample amounts and choices. The staff were helpful with giving directions and calling cabs. Not so true of their restaurant suggestions but I recognize that this is a highly subjective area. We loved the location.
All in all I would not advise against staying at the Piet Hein I would just warn .. buyer, beware!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

Great location in the heart of the old city, walking distance to all the great museums and night life. Nice, hotel with breakfast and a small bar for a late night drink.

Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank eelco28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
346 reviews
194 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2010

Do make your booking directly with the hotel on its website instead of through any agent because the price quoted is much the same BUT only the former includes breakfast.

Price: Comparatively, the price is good among the hotels in Amsterdam. Euro 80@ single room.

Location: Convenient though not in the main area of Central Station (train). You may take number 2 or 5 trams to and fro (15 mins ride). One way fare Euro 2.6. I used to stroll in the city rather, 3 mins walk to Museum Van Gogh, 30 mins to Dam Square/Anne Frank House, 50 mins to Central Station. There is a bus no. 197 from airport to Museum Van Gogh. Feel safe in neighbourhood.

Hotel: Modern, neat, clean. There are 4 free computers at lobby and I enjoy browsing the youtube every morning after waking up at 4am.

Room: Clean, neat, space ok. Well equipped with hairdryer, safe. Bed is sooo comfortable. Temperature control is good (it is so cold out there and I find the room inside warm enough but not too warm as I experienced in other European countries).

Noise problem: I learnt from this web and a guest in breakfast room that there is noise problem. I was not disturbed luckily as I fell asleep at 8pm already when people had not returned I suppose. I did heard the footsteps from the ceiling and the noise of opening/closing door locks though. I specially requested a quiet room on higher floor upon booking. My room is facing the park.

Breakfast: Very good buffet. The yolk of boiled egg is semi-solid, fantastic! The staff is ok already as I had unintentionally "tested" them. I ever unintentionally spilt the whole cup of hot chocolate over the table and floor. I apologized and said thank you when the lady was cleaning. She still could say "you're welcome!" though sounded not so welcoming at the first instance upon learning what happened. By the way, commonly the cup in Holland bear a metal handle which can be easily dismantled from the cup body. I found it unsecured to use.

Service: Staff at reception ok, but they are more friendly and patient when there are fewer guests around. The lady checked me in is nice enough to give the room early (11am) and offer me free breakfast when I was waiting.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissHK2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the PietHein for 2 nights and enjoyed the hote;. It is within walking distance to anything and next to a beautiful park (Vondelpark). The hotel is very moden with LCD tv, keyless entry (knd of) and an in room safe. The only annoyance was the shower curtain did not meet the floor and the whole bathroom floor got wet every shower. Friendly staff and free internet access in the lobby and with wifi adds a nice touch. I would defintely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GringoSmalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,025 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#140 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 528 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#175 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
BEST WESTERN Leidse Square Hotel
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#132 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piet Hein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piet Hein

Address: Vossiusstraat 52 - 53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #191 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piet Hein 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Piet Hein is a contemporary boutique hotel, located directly at the Vondelpark, in the heart of the museum and fashion district. Quiet yet only a stone's throw away from Amsterdam's vibrant nightlife and culinary delights. We are looking forward to share our home away from home experience with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Piet Hein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piet Hein Hotel
Piet Hein Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing