We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Piet Hein

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Piet Hein to your Saves list
Hotel Piet Hein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vossiusstraat 52 - 53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #181 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Clean, nice and good location. I would stay there anytime, good location and friendly staff. Short walk to the center of Amsterdam and the pedestrian streets. I had a window facing the park and that was nice

Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    282
    109
    41
    17
See reviews for
56
196
100
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Although the triple room was quite tight - lacking in floor space and storage - it was certainly pleasant enough. Quiet, with windows facing out to a nice private courtyard.
Location is excellent, right on the Vondelpark, short walk to transit stop as well as Van Gogh and Rijksmuseums, reasonable walk to city center.
Good breakfast in a cheery breakfast room.
Only off-note for us was the indifferent service at the hotel bar, where the server seemed much more interested in flirting with a couple of girls at the bar than he was in pouring me a beer. I wouldn't mention it, except that this was a consistent pattern over a 5 day stay - management ought to insist on better.

Room Tip: Facing on courtyard is definitely the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

stayed here for a 3 night stay in August. Had been travelling around Europe for 2 months and this was the worst place I stayed in (out of approx 14 hotels). I was in the basement and my window opened onto a public area so I was not comfortable having it open (middle aged woman, travelling alone) - when I did, people walked past and could look in - I didn't need to hear their conversations. As there was no air conditioning, the room was very hot and stuffy - especially with the window closed. I asked the reception desk if there was a portable fan that I could use - I got three different responses -'there are none', 'they are being ordered', 'they are all being used by other people' (lucky them). The reception staff were aloof and not really interested in assisting. They had no solutions - I spent three very uncomfortable days here and was very pleased to leave.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2015, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel Piet Hein was a good choice as a solo traveller. The price was reasonable for August. You don't get much space as stated in other reviews, a small single bed, full length mirror, desk and bathroom (with a wet room style shower). Although small, I found it to be perfect for my needs as I spent all day exploring the city. The hotel is easy to get to from central station, a short tram ride and walk. The hotel is opposite vondelpark and near popular museums such as Van Gogh. There are nearby teams that can take you into the more touristy and central attractions. The hotel serves breakfast if wanted and there is a supermarket nearby as well as places to eat.

Stayed August 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 2 nights in an economy room. No denying that the rooms were small. However, everything else was great. Comfy bed lovely lobby and garden areas helpful staff. The location was great. The hotel is in the museum district which is beautiful, opposite Vondel Park, and only 10 minutes walk from Leidsplein. I would certainly think about staying here again.

Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at Hotel Piet Hein 16 - 21 Aug 2015. Location opposite Vondel Park was excellent - 30 minute walk to Central Station - suited us very well as we like to walk off the food and drink of holidays. Very close to restaurants of Leidseplein and the museums of Museumplein - just round the corner from Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum. Plenty of public transport and the bus 197 delivers you from/to Schipol airport for 5 Euro per head. Local Albert Heijn supermarket a 5 minute walk. Staff that we dealt with were very helpful with some minor issues we confronted and with advice on a range of local topics. We originally stayed in one of the newer rooms which was airconditioned, but a little small for three adults. However, our request to move was completed on day two (the Hotel was quite full) and we moved to an original room on the 4th floor - excellent size for three adults for a longer stay - no aircond but cooling breeze was fine. We would definitely stay at Hotel Piet Hein on any future visit to Amsterdam, and I would rate it as a 3.5+.

Stayed August 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked a basic room that was very clean and comfortable and just what we wanted. We don't spend much time at the hotel so just needed a base that is close to the attractions and that is comfortable and provides a good nights sleep. This hotel fitted the bill precisely.

We didn't ask for much but when we did we always got a friendly smile and great service.

Would definately use this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#126 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 941 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#194 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
#151 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#68 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piet Hein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piet Hein

Address: Vossiusstraat 52 - 53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piet Hein 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Piet Hein is a contemporary boutique hotel, located directly at the Vondelpark, in the heart of the museum and fashion district. Quiet yet only a stone's throw away from Amsterdam's vibrant nightlife and culinary delights. We are looking forward to share our home away from home experience with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Piet Hein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piet Hein Hotel
Piet Hein Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Piet Hein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.