We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay in Piet Hein” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Piet Hein

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Piet Hein to your Saves list
Hotel Piet Hein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vossiusstraat 52 - 53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #177 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Strasbourg
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“nice stay in Piet Hein”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We finished our journey in Holland with a 24h tour in Amsterdam. I chose Piet Hein for it location close to the museumplein neighbourhood. The staff was very nice and the room was very clean. A small detail: we had a small problem with the TV set. The breakfast was fantastic. The only problem is that the hotel did not have a parking and we had to park the car in a street not far from the Hotel, which is expensive, but I guess it is a general rule if you wanna be in the center of the city. We had dinner in a rvery nice restaurant very close to the hotel. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and we will be back next time.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    252
    97
    36
    13
See reviews for
42
168
93
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hotel with my partner. We arrived early expecting just to use they luggage room, but they said if we come back in hour or so the room will be ready. A few hours before check in , when we returned we were offered a beverage from they're bar. The staff we're polite, friendly and helpful. They even printed our return E-tickets.
When we got to our room, it was actually bigger than we expected after reading the reviews. But you do get what you paid for. We just wanted somewhere to sleep and shower while we we're exploring Amsterdam. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable, there was very little noise.
Great location, close to tram and bus stops. Worth a stay if your looking for somewhere reasonable.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is in a perfect location, close to museums and Vondel Park. The neighborhood is lovely and you can walk to most places you'd want to visit. Our biggest problem was the size of the room. We booked a triple room for 3 adults with 3 single beds in the description of the room. When we checked in and went to our room it was truly 3 single beds, 2 that were pushed together and a 3rd that was separated by less than 2 feet. That bed was pushed up against the desk which was useless because it had a bed blocking it. The only place to sit in the room was on the beds. There was no dresser or chair (there was no room for it) and only a small closet in which to hang clothes. There was a small safe in the closet. The bathroom was an ok size by European standards but the bathtub had several brown stains which we figured out must be cigarette burns....at least we hope that's all it was. Fortunately we were only there for one night so the tiny space was only a mild inconvenience but if you plan on staying there be aware of the tiny rooms. On the other side of things, the staff was friendly and helpful, our room was ready a few hours early for check in and they do have a breakfast that can be purchased there. The hotel did have free WiFi. If I were going back to Amsterdam any time soon I'd probably look for a hotel with a little larger rooms.

Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is great, very close to famous museums (walking distance), park, and canal. Room was very small but that is expected anywhere in Europe. Staff was courteous. Be ware of Air Conditioning in Room. We had booked A/C room, but when we arrived, they gave us non-A/C room. Luckily, we noticed it as soon as we entered in the room. So, then they moved us to A/C room which is in the lower level (poor outside lighting). The rooms were clean and they made the rooms everyday. Price point is bit high.

Room Tip: Make sure that you have A/C room, otherwise summers can be very hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Utterly dreadful hotel in a good location. My room was tiny, barely large enough to accommodate two single beds stuck together. No room for a chair. Terrible lighting in the main room, with a dark and dingy bathroom. After spending one night in the tiny wardrobe my clothes came out spelling faintly of human excrement. I'm going to have all my personal possessions fumigated as soon as I get home. And all this for the bargain price of 150 Euros.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I spent 4 nights in one of the single rooms at the hotel. There was just enough room for my suitcase and backpack and then the bed and desk. The window opened in to the room, which is fine except the bed is right next to the window and so you cannot leave the window open very wide while sleeping. I was there on a day that was unusually warm and was pleased to discover the room had air conditioning! A great plus! The bathroom had very limited counter space by the sink and no shelf in the shower for your shower items. The shower was a good size, but it needs some storage space. The hotel breakfast is very good with pancakes, sausage, bacon, meats and cheeses, pastries, cereals and yogurt. Plenty to fill you up for your day. I felt the location was good as it is right around the corner from the Rijksmuseum and tram stops to get you to the city center.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed at the Piet Heim many
years ago. It is just next to the Vondel Park, close to museum plien and restaurants and the canals. The hotel is very pleasant, nicely decorated and friendly. The breakfast is buffet style and very European and delicious. Our only complaint is that it was a very rare weather event in Europe that year - very hot and the rooms are not air-conditioned. To put this in context most of Amsterdam is not. Any other time it would not have been an issue, but that year it detracted from what would have been a perfect place to stay. We tend to prefer smaller hotels and this one had the size we like and the comfort of a larger place. Would definitely stay there again

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Piet Hein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piet Hein

Address: Vossiusstraat 52 - 53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piet Hein 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Piet Hein is a contemporary boutique hotel, located directly at the Vondelpark, in the heart of the museum and fashion district. Quiet yet only a stone's throw away from Amsterdam's vibrant nightlife and culinary delights. We are looking forward to share our home away from home experience with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Piet Hein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piet Hein Hotel
Piet Hein Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Piet Hein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.