We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Piet Hein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Piet Hein to your Saves list
Hotel Piet Hein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vossiusstraat 52 - 53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 351 Hotels in Amsterdam
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 3 nights. Had room on second floor overlooking Vondelpark. Room was small but adequate. View of the park was lovely.

Downsides.
Lighting in bedroom and bathroom was very poor not enough light to be able to read my book. Plug in bathroom Washbasin didn't work properly and the bathroom extractor did not work. Despite telling reception everyday that we were there that the bannister rail on staircase was hanging off the wall it was not repaired. Also toaster in breakfast room was out of action for the last 2 days of our stay. Do they not have any maintenance?

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    243
    91
    35
    10
See reviews for
35
162
91
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Very quiet location, yet only a 5 minute walk to the Museums (Van Gogh and the Rijksmuseum). 10 minute walk from main shops and bars.
Hotel reception was smooth and charming, the rooms were well equipped and stylish. Bar area was clean and tidy.
All the staff we encountered were charming and polite. Thoroughly recommend this Hotel.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great, great value. The single room is small, but quite adequate. Staff was friendly and helpful. Loved having the park close by, nice for a run in the morning. Everything was nice and clean. Had a good view from fourth floor window.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After reading a few recent reviews of this hotel i can only agree wholeheartedly and add my recommendations.
The hotel is in a great spot not in the city centre but close to my 2 favourite museums.The Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum.The city is only 10 to 15 minutes walk away.
The room was ideal, the bed really comfortable and I had a view of the back courtyard...very nice.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the bar was a great place for a quiet tipple or coffee.
As stated by others breakfast was very good.Fresh, tasty selections and the reliable "egg station" to cook them as you liked.

I can recommend this hotel as well above average and it helped make my Amsterdam trip very enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Quiet street yet close to everything the museum quarter has to offer. We hired a car for a couple of days to go touring out from Amsterdam and were delighted to find how easy it was to park in the street in front of the hotel.
The breakfast area is not well set up and can get very congested, but the food is fine of you can get at it!
We saw how well the staff dealt with a minor first aid incident, using their comprehensive first aid kit.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Only booked in for 2 nights but stayed a 3rd night . Great value . Great location next to Vondel park. Within walking distance to major attractions . Good transport links to center . Rooms very comfortable . Good value breakfast . Staff very friendly . Would highly recommend this place . Will stay again that's for sure .

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Recently stayed at Piet Hein for 4 nights. I would highly recommend the hotel due to location, staff interaction and an excellent breakfast. The rooms while small are very clean, and nicely furnished. Lighting in the second tier rooms is their only real negative as you only have one medium size window. If you get a front facing room lighting is better due to window size. The location is about 3-4 small blocks from the Rijks and Van Gogh museum. The tram is about the same distance if you're going to central station or central Amsterdam. Also it's close to a Vondel park where you can take a nice morning or evening stroll or run. Also a great seafood restaurant is around the corner, along with a small coffee shop and if you walk another block or so a great bakery. Our rate included the breakfast and I would say it had plenty of variety in your selections and staff will also cook your eggs as you like them if you request it. Overall this was a very good if not above average experience,

Room Tip: request a front facing room it your rate allows it
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Piet Hein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piet Hein

Address: Vossiusstraat 52 - 53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#76 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piet Hein 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Piet Hein is a contemporary boutique hotel, located directly at the Vondelpark, in the heart of the museum and fashion district. Quiet yet only a stone's throw away from Amsterdam's vibrant nightlife and culinary delights. We are looking forward to share our home away from home experience with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Piet Hein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piet Hein Hotel
Piet Hein Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Piet Hein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.