We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Piet Hein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Piet Hein to your Saves list
Hotel Piet Hein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vossiusstraat 52 - 53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
surrey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is centrally located for the city and all its attractions and away from the noise, and great location for the canal trips. the hotel is opposite the central park which is a must see and walk through. Rooms are very comfortable and clean and the staff are very friendly, we booked through Expedia without breakfast but it only cost 9euros for good selection and as much as you like. Canal trip and city sight tour hop-on hop off bus is a great way to see the city and the canals. Red light district is a 20 min walk away through the canals streets.

The canals do take a bit of getting used to but is it s fantastic city as does the people on the bikes :-).

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    237
    89
    35
    10
See reviews for
34
160
89
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Hotel was in a great location, away from all the noise of busier areas. Hotel was very clean, staff very helpful, and breakfast is ample, with a choice of English, continental or both if you wish.
We were in room 141 on top floor, lift available, room was good, beds very comfortable, bathroom spotless and very warm.
Would definitely stop here again when I return to Amsterdam.
Many thanks for a lovely stay.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel location is not in the action area, if you are a typical tourist. It's in a residential area surrounded by high end shopping street and great coffee shop around the corner and museums.

The plus in the hotel: decent, away from the coffee shops of Amsterdam, family oriented. We booked the superior room, still it was small, but I am not familiar with Amsterdam room sizes. The breakfast was adequate but not fancy; it's highlight is the coffee and cuppuccino machine, beds comfortable and clean sheets. There was always lemon and orange water in the reception and it was refreshing. Wifi was excellent in all areas. They kept our luggage till the end of the day happily and were very helpful overall.

The minus: the breakfast area needs better ventilation. The bathroom in our room did not have a banyo; it was a flat floor. Adjusting the water temp. was a hassle. The toiletries were not replenished. Did not like that. The breakfast could have more choice of cheese and pastries. I hope they will work on it.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a twin room including breakfast for 110,00 € with a good shower and extra long beds with superb matrass.Good fishrestaurant nearby.
In the Vondelpark is a cafetaria 5 min.walk wit terrace outside and good coffee

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liphook, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely hotel close to all the museums and situated nearby Vondelpark with main tram and bus routes very close by. Our room was ready on arrival. Room was clean and spacious. Had a triple , plenty of space. Cleaned fast and effectively every morning. The beds were extremely comfortable. Brilliant breakfast serving time no need to be up at crack of dawn. Food was plentiful, hot and cold selections, very nice morning coffee. Reception staff extremely helpful, knowledgeable printing off information for us on local transport.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'll start with the good things:
-great location, from here you can walk pretty much in any direction you want in the Amsterdam city centre/ tourist attractions. It is situated next to Vondelpark and surrounded by well-to-do residential houses. Very quiet and green and peaceful.
-small room, but they made the most out of it - you've got a decent TV, decent wireless Internet, everything works properly, you can leave the heat on if you think it's too cold and the worm will become a sauna in less than 30 minutes, shower, etc; there was no fridge / mini bar in my room; despite the aparent sterness of the room, the sense of dutch interior design added a few touches that rank the hotel above other similarly star-rated hotels. Oh, and the king sized bed makes for a wonderful sleep. Very respectful, no inading cleaning staff,too.

The bad things:
-the customer service/ receptionist staff could use a smile every now and then; and this applies to almost all the Dutch clerks I ran into
-that 10-euro breakfast is a joke, I would NOT recommend the breakfast, especially as there is a bagel shop immediately around the corner, where you can get a far better tasting coffee & snacks.
-the walls are thin; so you if you want to have sex, you might want to consider tone it down, if you don't want the other visitors to hear you; two nights ago I accidentally eavesdropped on two Chinese girls who were shouting and yelling at each other all night until someone banged their door and they stopped. So, yeah, it's not the most quiet hotel you can book in Amsterdam, but it's not the ganja fueled bed & brekfast place that you would normally get to book for thhis price.

So all in all Im giving it 4 stars.

Room Tip: book the room above the reception (1) level, as the rooms below the reception looked rather dark and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

Stayed here with my wife a weekend in March. The rooms are very small. Barely more than a bed. But nice and the bathroom with a bathtub an extra plus. Location is great. We could walk to anywhere in the city centre from the hotel. And then it is right outside a nice park.
Breakfast was really great as well. It is not included but if they don't have a "season offer" where it is included it is definately worth the extra price.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Piet Hein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piet Hein

Address: Vossiusstraat 52 - 53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piet Hein 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Piet Hein is a contemporary boutique hotel, located directly at the Vondelpark, in the heart of the museum and fashion district. Quiet yet only a stone's throw away from Amsterdam's vibrant nightlife and culinary delights. We are looking forward to share our home away from home experience with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Piet Hein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piet Hein Hotel
Piet Hein Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Piet Hein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.