We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and a Fair Deal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Piet Hein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Piet Hein to your Saves list
Hotel Piet Hein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vossiusstraat 52 - 53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #149 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good Location and a Fair Deal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Location: Removed from the less desirable parts of Amsterdam. Superbly positioned for Vondelpark, Museums, De Pijp.
Staff: Very efficient & friendly.
Room: A bit sparse/ No frills/ Housekeeping disappointing/ Good wi-fi connection
Breakfast: Very good value/ Decent variety

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    195
    66
    32
    7
See reviews for
21
130
83
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was irritated by several things about this hotel whilst also being impressed by other things. I booked this hotel because it had been booked by my two German friends who were going to Amsterdam for the first time.
First of all that, having booked the hotel, they took the charge for the room from my account a week before I arrived (most hotels do not do this and you only pay at the end of your stay). And then when I arrived I also then had to pay the local taxes charge as this had not been included in the original payment.
Second that the room was not as clean as I expected a supposedly 3 star hotel to be. I deliberately left some "traps" of small amounts of rubbish in various parts of the room that were not removed during my whole stay. Also, that the overall standard of décor was quite "shabby!, with ceiling paint flaking off in the bathroom, scuff marks on the walls etc, and some very small, yet visible marks on the sheets. I expected much more for the price and that it is supposed to be a 3 star hotel. The photographs of the hotel and its rooms are, I suggest, quite misleading and make it appear better than it is.
When my friends arrived a couple of hours after I did, they had been given a room in the basement. Once seen, they immediately requested a different room, as the room seemed to be damp and certainly smelled of damp. Fortunately they were offered another room which was on the third floor two rooms along from mine, which was much better than the first room and the one I had.
Positive aspects of the hotel are that: it is very convenient for Museum Square (all within a few minutes walk); the location is in a quiet street and the local area has many good shops and restaurants; the staff are very friendly and helpful; the breakfast buffet is very good value at 9.50 euros, with a great variety of foods to suit all tastes, and scrambled eggs cooked to order, and, basically, an "all you can eat" ethos, which I like because I find that by having a big breakfast I can usually go the rest of the day without eating until dinner. But it is, of course, an additional cost to that of just the room making the overall cost quite high.
Overall prices in Amsterdam are becoming quite horrendous for even a short visit, with high charges for just about everything from hotels to restaurants, museums, churches et cand maybe because it is, despite the costs, still a big tourist destination so the hotels, restaurants etc think they can charge higher prices because of high demand. This, I suggest, will eventually "backfire" on them with less tourists going and/or opting for cheaper places to stay and eat. I flew with KLM and there were also "extras" charged with them once I had booked my flights. Maybe something the Dutch tourist industry needs to consider.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel ticked all the usual boxes - clean, good (massive) bed, modern decor, good bathroom, air conditioning etc. The location is great, just a 5 minute stroll from the Rijksmuseum and close to tram stops for easy access to the whole of the city. The massive Vondelpark is right outside the hotel's front door too - a huge green open space full of locals out for a jog or a cycle. Even closer than the museums is the most amazing shopping street too with everything from a Tesla showroom to a Burberry store.

The staff were exceptionally helpful. They allowed us to check in at 10am when we arrived despite check-in technically not starting til 2 and when we left, they stored our luggage for the whole of our last day until the shuttle to the airport they had booked for us arrived.

We didn't have time to drink at the hotel bar but it looked great. The breakfast was all-you-can-eat and very reasonable too.

Awesome service. Thank you for a great stay, will be back!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The best thing about this hotel is that it is close to a lot of the renowned museums in Amsterdam. It is right around the corner from the Van Gogh Museum and a short distance from the Rijksmuseum. it is also right around the block from the P.C. Hooftstraat shopping district. The staff are friendly, especially the bartenders. I suppose it is a hotel for all ages, but probably geared more towards a mature crowd. You probably won't even spend all that much time in the hotel other than to sleep. Overall, it was a nice place and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

great location, away from the hustle and bustle of Amsterdam and close to the museums. Bedroom floor was sloped quite a bit, and mattress very thin. I woke up each day and the mattress had migrated toward the sloped side of the room and was hanging 4 inches over the edge of the bed base. not enough to fall out of bed, but uncomfortable. breakfast was fine, not great. Bathroom was tiny. No fridge. Common areas of the hotel were much nicer than bedroom. staff very helpful. As others have said, rooms are very small.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A lovely hotel opposite Vondel Park and within walking distance of the Van Gogh museum. Keep an ear out for the female busker in the Park across the road.

I had a single room, which was small, but contained everything I needed.

The breakfast is excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I just spent 5 nights at this hotel. There are more pros then cons but Iwould not spend more then one or two nights here again. First the pros 1) nice location and close to shops and restaurants and tram. Just to walk onto the street is nice because park is across the street. 2) The building is delightful with a welcoming lobby. 3) breakfast is very nice 4) check in and check out went smooth with no hitches. 5) lots of hot water 6) clean towels everyday. Now the pros 1) housekeeping is poor and they don't seem to do well with making a bed. Did get clean towels and that is it. I expect a clean room every day. 2)ROOM IS VERY TINY and that would be ok but the room has a big bed & there is no room for anything else. 3) No coffee unless you take their breakfast 4)I booked a bike tour through their front desk - well what a hassle and I sent here and there and then finally found the bike rental place to find outthat I wasn't on the list for the 1:30 tour. 5 They did fit me in. I did not book anything with them again. As I said I would stay here again but only for a couple of nights. 6) the lighting in the room is so poor - there is a window but the lights are dim.

Room Tip: take a small suit case. Bring a flashlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Piet Hein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piet Hein

Address: Vossiusstraat 52 - 53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piet Hein 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Piet Hein is a contemporary boutique hotel, located directly at the Vondelpark, in the heart of the museum and fashion district. Quiet yet only a stone's throw away from Amsterdam's vibrant nightlife and culinary delights. We are looking forward to share our home away from home experience with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Piet Hein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piet Hein Hotel
Piet Hein Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Piet Hein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.