We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Piet Hein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Piet Hein to your Saves list
Hotel Piet Hein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vossiusstraat 52 - 53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Arnhem
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Conveniently located hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

We booked a 3-persons room (not many hotels offer such rooms). The room was clean but rather small and little space to leave your luggage. Mattresses rather hard. The staff was friendly. Breakfast buffet sufficient, space around the buffet, however, rather cramped. Location is great, just across the Vondelpark and a short 5 minutes walk to the Rijksmuseum, van Gogh museum and also to the Leidseplein with lots of cafés and restaurants. From there it is another 15 minutes to the Dam and Central Station. Overall a good hotel, reasonably priced (for Amsterdam standards) and a good choice for a short visit to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    211
    73
    34
    8
See reviews for
27
144
84
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for three nights and found the hotel clean, the staff friendly and the breakfast simple, but nice.

Some of my colleagues got very pokey rooms and were not as happy, so make sure you ask for a room with a bit of space. The location was good, quiet and right next to the Vondelpark and within easy walking distance of Leidseplein. There were several decent restaurants just round the corner.

The hotel was very reasonable and far better than I had expected for the money. The hotel has a large back garden, which is probably very nice in the summer. I would not hesitate to stay here again - if I was sure to get one of their larger rooms.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I stayed for four nights at Hotel Piet Hein which is modern, clean and smart. The staff were polite, friendly and helpful. they booked a tour for me and the shuttle to return to the airport. the hotel is situated next to Vondel Park and the museums. There are nice restaurants and a bakery selling savoury and sweet pastries, drinks, nearby. If you want to eat a little cheaper you can either take a tram or walk over to Leidseplein. My room was clean and comfortable. I enjoyed my time there - if I could change one thing I would ask them to provide tea/coffee making facilities in guest rooms - being English I always have to have tea each morning before going down to breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Neat clean rooms good hotel overall. Good location close the city center. However staff could be a bit more polite. We have asked for help to carry our luggage. They were not willing to help and they have complained all the way.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This hotel had a very good reputation in the hands of the same General Manager for over 30 years. I booked our room several months in advance - not knowing about the change - with my credit card as security for our reservation for a 3 nights stay. To our surprise when checking-in I was asked to pay in ADVANCE the final bill including breakfast. When I asked why this was not mentioned in their confirmation I was told recently the hotel has been sold to new owners, they have a new director and advance payment is the new policy. I had no alternative but pay as demanded.
Soon after checking in I informed reception that the light bulb in not working in the bathroom by the washbasin and as there is no window I'll have difficulty to shave in the morning. As we were going out to dinner the receptionist promised to take care of the matter while we will be out. We came back - nothing happened. Next morning I've reported the same to another Receptionist and also that at back of the bathroom door there are only two holes as the hooks are missing to hang our pyjamas and dressing gowns. It'll be down by the time we'll get back from the museum was the promise on day two...and the same promise we had on day three. Finally we checked out on the morning of day four with still no light by the washbasin or hooks on the door and all this for 520.89 euros for 3 nights!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Park and remember it's NOT the same hotel as it was before due to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

i found this hotel very comfortable by its location near museum quarter and its facilities are also enough good for staying for 3-5 days in Amster
unfortunately there is no big shops around hotel where we could buy some food and alcohol

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Piet Hein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piet Hein

Address: Vossiusstraat 52 - 53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piet Hein 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Piet Hein is a contemporary boutique hotel, located directly at the Vondelpark, in the heart of the museum and fashion district. Quiet yet only a stone's throw away from Amsterdam's vibrant nightlife and culinary delights. We are looking forward to share our home away from home experience with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Piet Hein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piet Hein Hotel
Piet Hein Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Piet Hein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.