We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Poor ” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Piet Hein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Piet Hein to your Saves list
Hotel Piet Hein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vossiusstraat 52 - 53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #154 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Poor ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Hotel Piet Hein gets a star for very friendly service at the reception and another one for free Wi fi in the room.

Bathroom extraction fan cannot be turned off. It's not as loud as a jet engine... But it's pretty damn loud.

Room smelled of drains.

Opened window to hotel courtyard and a steady breeze of cigarette smoke came in...

I am writing this from the hotel. I am staying on my own in a superior double.

Would not stay here again. Even marketing itself as a cheaper alternative does not excuse the woeful quality.. I have 4 nights left. Ugh!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    201
    71
    34
    8
See reviews for
26
139
84
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

On my quick trip to Amsterdam this hotel was a great option, it was a reasonable price and location was super convenient to museums, the center, transport (trams lines 2&5 and bus 197 to/from the airport stops nearby) and the Vondelpark. The hotel is clean and well-maintained with a modern look. However, this doesn't correspond to a 'luxury' rating -- don't expect toiletries, robes or your choice of pillows. Do expect a very small bathroom, and fairly tight room, but decent beds (I had two twins pushed together that 'passed' for king size). The breakfast buffet was better than similarly-priced in other hotels I think. And the staff truly was helpful and friendly all-around.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This hotel has the most helpful and courteous staff. It is in a fabulous location. We wanted to go to all the wonderful museums and all were within walking distance. Our room was very comfortable. The lobby is great with a nice bar as well. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We only stayed here for one night in December and we were not disappointed. Great rooms with views of Amsterdam (both the suburbs and the Vondelpark). The buffet breakfast was also delicous.The hotel was close to the Museum district and about 20 minutes from the city centre.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed here in April for a few days to explore the city. The room we were given was on the lower floor. The room size was quite big, very basic but clean and we only had a tiny window so the light was quite poor. All in all an OK hotel room. The staff were friendly and helpful. Location was good (but quite a walk into the centre) with a park opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

I have stayed in the Piet Hein numerous times over the past year, and have never been disappointed.

The hotel is well located, in the Museum district, and alongside the Vondelpark. The rooms are well-appointed, if sometimes on the small side. As a tip, I would say ask for one of the rooms starting with "3", as these are the newest, although the rooms beginning with "2" are the quietest.

The staff are very friendly and breakfast is good, but starts at 7:30, a little late for some business trips! The bar and lounge are also good. Be aware that the hotel has no restaurant for lunch or evening meals; you can order a takeaway to be delivered, or use one of the local restaurants.

A big plus is that - unlike most hotels - the (very reasonable) price never varies with supply / demand. Rooms can also be cancelled with 24 hours notice at no penalty. That can be very useful.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Piet Hein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piet Hein

Address: Vossiusstraat 52 - 53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piet Hein 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Piet Hein is a contemporary boutique hotel, located directly at the Vondelpark, in the heart of the museum and fashion district. Quiet yet only a stone's throw away from Amsterdam's vibrant nightlife and culinary delights. We are looking forward to share our home away from home experience with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Piet Hein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piet Hein Hotel
Piet Hein Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Piet Hein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.