We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in corner to Museumsquare” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Piet Hein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Piet Hein to your Saves list
Hotel Piet Hein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vossiusstraat 52 - 53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #144 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Porvoo, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in corner to Museumsquare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Bus 197 from Airport is the easisest way (20 min) to get to the Museumplein and then less than five minutes walking to the hotel.

Piet Hein is a rather small hotel with perfect location. Staff is extremely helpful, my double bed room was very cozy and "design"-hotel kind of a room beds were good (rather hard madrasses) and bathroom was small but very functional. Rooms are in good condition, everything works and hotel is very clean.

My room in third floor is silent with a window to inner yard. Road side rooms should not either be very noicy as the windows have double glass and the road heads to Vondelpark - not much cars.

Outdoor terrace area was not very posh as it was +5 Celsius and raining in October :(. Only negative point is that the elevator was broken when I came - that happens. :)

I stay four nights in the hotel and visit RAI (the fair centre) for two days - just an easy tram trip to take.

Stedelijk museum is my favourite museum, Van Gogh museum is good to and for all who visit The Netherlands first time it is essential to visit Rijks Museum (Rembrant Night Watch etc.) all these and Konsertgebouw are less than 10 minutes to walk from the hotel.

Excellent choice!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    192
    61
    30
    7
See reviews for
21
122
83
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Nice hotel in a good location near museums, and only a short walk through the park from more livelier part of the city. The room we had was not large but fine for a few day's stay. Didn't try the breakfast for 15 euros however plenty of places to eat nearby for breakfast and any other meals. Staff friendly & helpful, would certainly use this again.

Room Tip: Rooms over the gardens are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a very nice boutique hotel with a well trained, friendly staff. The rooms are clean and are air conditioned. Windows also open for fresh air. Valuables can be kept in the room safe. The rooms do not have a refrigerator, but the bartender was kind enough to keep a bottle of wine chilled for us. The hotel is a short walk to the Rijks Museum, the Van Gogh Museum and Vondel Park. The morning breakfast was excellent as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

For a major trade show this year we decided to stay at a hotel that had more of a local feel and settled on the Piet Hein. The staff are lovely and attentive, especially the gentleman who mans the bar, and the rooms are efficient, clean, and cozy. The breakfast that is included and is excellent, and the decor has an inviting contemporary feel.
Overall, it had been a very nice stay and is a quick walk to the tran and local restaurants. We ate a few nights at Seafood Bar around the corner, and at Bicken down the street. Close by there are some excellent shops.

Room Tip: There are many different room sizes so be sure to ask about sq. footage and bed size or number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aracena
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I can recommend this lovely Boutique hotel. It is very well situated for touring Amsterdam on foot and next to a beautiful park. the service was excellent and the staff very helpful. some of the rooms are a little small and the general quality/price is very good and rooms have everything you would need.
Nice sitting area to relax and well stocked bar.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

An average hotel, with very good buffet breakfast, but small rooms, no drawers or shelves for clothes, no air-con, noisy in front rooms and very weak lighting in bedrooms. Staff friendly and helpful, but we had to ask for glasses, kettle and cups. No tissues or tea and coffee. Too expensive for what we had, ie not good value.

Room Tip: At the back is quieter place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

On arrival I was informed that the single I booked was unavailable and I would therefore be provided with a double room.
The room was spacious, clean and quiet. There were evident signs of use but the overall standard was well-maintained. The staff were courteous and helpful, especially on my last day when I required help in printing my boarding pass. I hope that this hotel will have vacancies the next time I travel to Amsterdam and that my stay will be equally enjoyable.

Thanks to the staff at Piet Hein.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Piet Hein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piet Hein

Address: Vossiusstraat 52 - 53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#77 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piet Hein 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Piet Hein is a contemporary boutique hotel, located directly at the Vondelpark, in the heart of the museum and fashion district. Quiet yet only a stone's throw away from Amsterdam's vibrant nightlife and culinary delights. We are looking forward to share our home away from home experience with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Piet Hein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piet Hein Hotel
Piet Hein Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Piet Hein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.