We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Piet Hein

Save Saved
You added Hotel Piet Hein to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Piet Hein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vossiusstraat 52 - 53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #144 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

An average hotel, with very good buffet breakfast, but small rooms, no drawers or shelves for clothes, no air-con, noisy in front rooms and very weak lighting in bedrooms. Staff friendly and helpful, but we had to ask for glasses, kettle and cups. No tissues or tea and coffee. Too expensive for what we had, ie not good value.

Room Tip: At the back is quieter place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    189
    59
    30
    7
See reviews for
21
121
81
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

On arrival I was informed that the single I booked was unavailable and I would therefore be provided with a double room.
The room was spacious, clean and quiet. There were evident signs of use but the overall standard was well-maintained. The staff were courteous and helpful, especially on my last day when I required help in printing my boarding pass. I hope that this hotel will have vacancies the next time I travel to Amsterdam and that my stay will be equally enjoyable.

Thanks to the staff at Piet Hein.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hvar, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel staff was very helpful and polite, the room was nice , but the cleaning could also be just a little better. Breakfast was good but 15 € is a little bit much.
In front of Hotel is Vondel Park and just a 2 min walk to Museum Plain. Near the hotel is Old Town with much Restaurants, Bars and few Clubs.
All in all it was very nice 4 day stay in Amsterdam, next time I will take the same Hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Made a booking despite recent negative reviews. I was pleasantly surprised by what I got. The single room was small (but sufficient for a solo traveller with a cabin sized bag). I liked that it was quiet on the third storey overlooking the courtyard. Best of all, I enjoyed the location with Vondel park at its doorstep and Van Gogh museum a short walk away. Felt safe too. Finally, just around the corner: The Seafood Bar -- must try.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

A nice hotel for the value. I looked at several rooms before I chose one that worked for me. Great location, close to the park. We waled everywhere from the hotel. They have a very sweet little bar downstairs for coffee in the morning and drinks later on. I thought the staff was most helpful.

Room Tip: Look at a few different ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Worst hotel I've ever been to. Second floor in the BASEMENT for $170 for one night iis a waste of my money!!! I feel like a prison as soon as I step into my hotel room. Terrible, terrible choice. Don't ever book thus hotel!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed at the Piet Hein many years on a holiday in Amsterdam and enjoyed it, so decided to come back again on a recent holiday. Arrived early in the morning (had booked an extra night to guarantee the room on arrival). Receptionist was wonderful. Gave us four room keys and let us take a look at different rooms and then select the one we preferred!

We ended up taking a room on the upper floor overlooking Vondelpark. Was wonderful. You could open the windows in the morning to hear the birdlife in the park, or close them later in the evening when the crowds decend on the park for a night out. Windows are double glazed so you don't hear much at all when they're shut. Rooms also have blockout curtains to cut out the sun when you want to sleep.

While the bathroom is small, the shower was very good - great water pressure. Enough room in the room itself for all our cases and bags.

Breakfast in the ground floor dining room is a basic continental style breakfast. We stayed 4 nights - and the only minor criticism I'd have is it would be good to see a little bit of variety in what was offered every couple of days. You get bored of eating the same things for breakfast by day 4. But really only a very small room for improvement comment.

Best thing about Piet Hein of course, is the location. Directly opposite Vondelpark, a short 5 minute walk to the Museumplein (Van Gogh, Stedelijk, Rijksmuseum, Concertgebouw) and trams running at both ends of the street.

Would very happily stay at the Piet Hein on future trip. Great staff, good rooms, comfortable beds, good breakfast. Everything you need for a short stay in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Room on upper floors overlooking Vondelpark are great. You can open the windows in the morning durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Piet Hein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piet Hein

Address: Vossiusstraat 52 - 53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piet Hein 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Piet Hein is a contemporary boutique hotel, located directly at the Vondelpark, in the heart of the museum and fashion district. Quiet yet only a stone's throw away from Amsterdam's vibrant nightlife and culinary delights. We are looking forward to share our home away from home experience with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Piet Hein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piet Hein Hotel
Piet Hein Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Piet Hein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.