We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location but rather efficient use of space” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Piet Hein

Save Saved
You added Hotel Piet Hein to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Piet Hein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vossiusstraat 52 - 53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #144 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great location but rather efficient use of space”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Despite its great location, there are a few issues that made my stay less enjoyable as I had hoped for. While I am aware that in Amsterdam things are built a bit smaller, my room was just as wide as the bed was long - which was still a bit too short for me (6"4'). Also, the fact that the windows could not be opened while in bed doesn't really contribute to a good night sleep. While helpful, the staff couldn't really do anything on a fully booked night.
On a related note: the lights in the bathroom was very poor, paint fell from the ceiling, and the faucet was loose ... not the best impression unfortunately.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    189
    59
    30
    7
See reviews for
21
121
81
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
339 reviews 339 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

A wonderful location near Vondelpark and Museumplein, and a couple of different tram stops. The room was smaller then I expected, but was quiet enough because it overlooked the back patio (parto of the hotel). Another plus was the hotel bar which is an intimate affair in the lobby staffed by friendly bartenders in the evening. A good place to unwind. The hotel staff was also very helpful regardng restaurants and taxi. I would consider the room rather spartan (even by European standards) and the lighting was dim (no light near the closet). The room cleaning could also be better. Comfortable enough for a short stay and the location was great. I hope there are better rooms, because this one was OK.

Room Tip: Probably better to choose something above the basic room. Looking out the back was a nice view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WORCESTER UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights in june - have stayed here before. Good location next to vondel park and museums. You can take the 197 bus from the airport here - hop off at museum platz. Got upgraded to an executive room without asking - very nice room with massage bath and shower. However the bathroom is not so private. Breakfast was good - if i had to comment it would have been nice to have a kettle in the room. However there is a very friendly nice bar and staff in the lobby - you can order a coffee there if you wish.Very handy for a visit to Paradiso. Will stay again for sure.

Room Tip: If you have a partner - an executive room may test your prudish side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Hotel Piet Hein and consider ourselves lucky not to have contracted some exotic disease. We stayed in room 247. What a shameful place. With no exaggeration for effect here is what we encountered. When we entered the room the dark blue carpet was covered in white bits. The room carpet remained this way our entire stay. Not once did the housekeeper vacuum the room. The hairdryer is held together by 2-inch wide scotch tape. The top of the hairdryer and toilet paper dispenser are covered in an 1/8 of an inch of dust. Disgusting ! The grout between the shower tiles is black/green with mould. Some water from the shower got on the bathroom floor. We wiped it up with a white towel that was black as the ace of spades afterwards. The floor probably hadn't been washed in years. The plastic drinking cups, which we didn't touch, were cracked. The Do Not Disturb / Clean The Room sign was torn and wouldn't stay on the door handle. It was never replaced. Within minutes of showering the bath tub fills with water 6 inches above your ankles. The shower head was broken making it almost impossible to shower properly. When we came to check out, the women at the front desk couldn't generate a receipt staying we had paid in full. We didn't leave until they gave us something handwritten and signed. OMG ! This place is a DUMP and should be closed down by city health inspectors.

P.S. For those of you who are driving. Every morning we came out onto the street several parked cars had been keyed overnight. On our second to last morning, besides the usual keyed cars, a van had its passenger side windows broken—shattered glass everywhere inside the vehicle and on the sidewalk.

Room Tip: Stay at the hostel down the street. it's probably safer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed here for one night on my own in one of the single bedrooms. Like all hotels in the centre of Amsterdam, it is very overpriced, though compared to some of the others it appears reasonable. The location is nice - right next to Vondelpark and not far from Leidseplein and the museum district, a nice, up-market area.

The bedroom was very basic for my €99, just a single bed, small bathroom and fairly beaten-up wallpaper. However, it was pleasant enough, though breakfast wasn't included.

Overall there were no problems with the hotel, it just left no impression. If it's in your price range and in an area you like, then sure, stay there. If not, don't. Nothing else to say really.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed in this boutique hotel in April. Chic entrance and lobby. Small rooms but that was expected. Accommodating staff. Great location. Walking distance to night life and shopping.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Good location - we stayed for 3 nights in April 2013. We booked a deluxe room however the room was very small and the small safe was not attached to anything in the cupboard so you could just have walked out with it. The room had windows which you could open, the bed was comfortable and the reception staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Check out which room you will be in before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Piet Hein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piet Hein

Address: Vossiusstraat 52 - 53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piet Hein 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Piet Hein is a contemporary boutique hotel, located directly at the Vondelpark, in the heart of the museum and fashion district. Quiet yet only a stone's throw away from Amsterdam's vibrant nightlife and culinary delights. We are looking forward to share our home away from home experience with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Hotel Piet Hein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piet Hein Hotel
Piet Hein Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Piet Hein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.