We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reviewer William W you're spot on” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Piet Hein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Piet Hein to your Saves list
Hotel Piet Hein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vossiusstraat 52 - 53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #173 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Victoria
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Reviewer William W you're spot on”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at Hotel Piet Hein and consider ourselves lucky not to have contracted some exotic disease. We stayed in room 247. What a shameful place. With no exaggeration for effect here is what we encountered. When we entered the room the dark blue carpet was covered in white bits. The room carpet remained this way our entire stay. Not once did the housekeeper vacuum the room. The hairdryer is held together by 2-inch wide scotch tape. The top of the hairdryer and toilet paper dispenser are covered in an 1/8 of an inch of dust. Disgusting ! The grout between the shower tiles is black/green with mould. Some water from the shower got on the bathroom floor. We wiped it up with a white towel that was black as the ace of spades afterwards. The floor probably hadn't been washed in years. The plastic drinking cups, which we didn't touch, were cracked. The Do Not Disturb / Clean The Room sign was torn and wouldn't stay on the door handle. It was never replaced. Within minutes of showering the bath tub fills with water 6 inches above your ankles. The shower head was broken making it almost impossible to shower properly. When we came to check out, the women at the front desk couldn't generate a receipt staying we had paid in full. We didn't leave until they gave us something handwritten and signed. OMG ! This place is a DUMP and should be closed down by city health inspectors.

P.S. For those of you who are driving. Every morning we came out onto the street several parked cars had been keyed overnight. On our second to last morning, besides the usual keyed cars, a van had its passenger side windows broken—shattered glass everywhere inside the vehicle and on the sidewalk.

Room Tip: Stay at the hostel down the street. it's probably safer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    271
    106
    37
    14
See reviews for
51
185
95
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed here for one night on my own in one of the single bedrooms. Like all hotels in the centre of Amsterdam, it is very overpriced, though compared to some of the others it appears reasonable. The location is nice - right next to Vondelpark and not far from Leidseplein and the museum district, a nice, up-market area.

The bedroom was very basic for my €99, just a single bed, small bathroom and fairly beaten-up wallpaper. However, it was pleasant enough, though breakfast wasn't included.

Overall there were no problems with the hotel, it just left no impression. If it's in your price range and in an area you like, then sure, stay there. If not, don't. Nothing else to say really.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed in this boutique hotel in April. Chic entrance and lobby. Small rooms but that was expected. Accommodating staff. Great location. Walking distance to night life and shopping.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Good location - we stayed for 3 nights in April 2013. We booked a deluxe room however the room was very small and the small safe was not attached to anything in the cupboard so you could just have walked out with it. The room had windows which you could open, the bed was comfortable and the reception staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Check out which room you will be in before you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

5 star in reception 2 star in room have not seen wood chip wallpaper in a long time , handle falling off the door also very badly fitting door didnt feel safe , maid kept taking do not disturb sign off door and slipping it under into the room, paintwork badly chipped , wont come back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Piet Hein while attending a trade fair at the Amsterdam Rai. The hotel was well-placed for this as it is just a fifteen minute tram ride from the Rai. It is also really well located for those wanting to visit Amsterdam's many museums....walking distance from the Van Gogh, the newly refurbished Rijksmuseum, and the technology museum. The hotel faces directly onto the leafy Vodelpark. Although it is ten minutes away from the city centre itself the location is ideal for seeing the city. Like most hotels in Amsterdam it is not cheap for what it is. However it is well organised, the staff are friendly and courteous, and my room was very clean. Breakfast was not included in my room rate but it was well worth the fifteen euros. If you wanted to be picky you could point to the lack of tea/coffee in the room and soap dispensers in the shower room (no little bottles) Against that you have a decked garden area to sit in in the evening and a very good experience overall.

Room Tip: A few of the rooms must look on to the Vodelpark. Try asking for one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 4 nights in this charming little hotel right next to vondel park. It has a nice little bar area and a very friendly staff. the only warning i would give is to try avoid being in room 241 or 242. its right over the kitchen and close to the bar so the noise can be a little overbearing. That aside, i would strongly recommend this hotel for singles or couples.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 927 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#119 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#198 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
#128 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#75 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 607 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Piet Hein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piet Hein

Address: Vossiusstraat 52 - 53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piet Hein 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Piet Hein is a contemporary boutique hotel, located directly at the Vondelpark, in the heart of the museum and fashion district. Quiet yet only a stone's throw away from Amsterdam's vibrant nightlife and culinary delights. We are looking forward to share our home away from home experience with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Piet Hein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piet Hein Hotel
Piet Hein Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Piet Hein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.