We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem of a Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Piet Hein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Piet Hein to your Saves list
Hotel Piet Hein
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vossiusstraat 52 - 53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Little Gem of a Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just returned from Piet Hein for a 3 day break. The hotel is next to Vondelpark, and at the end of the street you reach you can reach the main tram lines into the centre of Amsterdam. On arrival the staff warmly greeted us, and couldnt do enough to make our stay a good one. Contemporary styling, breakfast continental, but plenty of it for the hungriest of travellers. Room standard size, clean , free safe for valuables, bar and reception area welcoming. Hotel perfect location for van gogh, rijk , trams just around the corner, 5 min walk through vondelpark to hard rock cafe and blue boat canal stop. In quieter location, but totally accessible to the centre of amsterdam. Definitely would stay again and would recommend this little gem to anyone. Thank you again to the staff for their customer service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    213
    73
    34
    8
See reviews for
28
144
84
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Channel Islands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

I only booked this hotel because it said it had a smoking floor and they confirmed that they had a smoking room booked for me (waiting for the comments from the anti-smoking brigade). On arrival we were sent to a non-smoking room. We complained and they said there was nothing on the booking about a smoking room until we showed them our confirmation which had smoking on in capital letters. They said there was nothing they could do as the two smoking rooms (not a whole floor) were occupied but we could move to one the following day. They suggested we put our head out of the window to smoke, as it happened we were able to climb out of the window onto the patio. On check out we were given a discount for the inconvenience having declined the offer of a free breakfast.

The first room was quite nice with a lovely big window (all the better for climbing out of) but the second room, as expected, was not as nice with a small high window looking out onto wall and the bathroom was tiny.

If you want a central hotel this is not for you but it was quite nice to be away from the hustle and bustle. It is at the side of the Vondelpark which is massive, around the corner from all the upmarket shops, a five minute walk to Liedesplein with loads of restaurants and five minutes to the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum.

Room Tip: Ask for a park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Great location, next to the park entrance. Close to lots of shops and grocery, hairstylists, museums, great food, transportation, but quiet and private. Friendly staff. Walk and bike everywhere from here within minutes. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moscow, id
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

For me the room was standard Euro size, clean, friendly staff and a nice location. Good breakfast, decent coffee. It was a twenty euro taxi drive from the train station, and a ten euro drive to the station.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend trip. An elegant old building converted into a small basic modern hotel, opposite the Vondelpark. Good location (quiet but convenient), a five minute walk from the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh Museum (and the tram stop for Centraal station) and the Concertgebouw. It's also a short walk through the park to a Blue Boat stop. We had a small but comfortable double room with en suite bathroom (and a shower which turned the bathroom into a wet room), cable tv (CNN), small desk and wardrobe with in-room safe. No minibar or kettle. Our room had a view over the rooftops. Breakfast was included in our room price: fresh bread (including delicious rye rolls), croissants, cold meats and cheese, scrambled egg and bacon, butter, jam, honey or chocolate or fruit sprinkles which apparently all Dutch breakfasts need, fruit salad, cereal, granola and yogurt. The coffee from a DIY coffee machine wasn't the best. There is a very small bar and lounge area. The plus points were the very friendly and efficient staff, who were always available with advice or help, the free high speed wifi, the comfortable bed and the location. We'd certainly go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We have stayed here in januari for one night. We booked on the same day as arrival and got an upgrade. So that was very nice. The room had everything you need, was a bit small but clean.
The staff was very friendly and location is also good. Just a vew stepps from the vondelpark.
And city centre is just a 10 min walk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Piet Hein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Piet Hein

Address: Vossiusstraat 52 - 53, 1071 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Piet Hein 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Piet Hein is a contemporary boutique hotel, located directly at the Vondelpark, in the heart of the museum and fashion district. Quiet yet only a stone's throw away from Amsterdam's vibrant nightlife and culinary delights. We are looking forward to share our home away from home experience with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Piet Hein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Piet Hein Hotel
Piet Hein Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Piet Hein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.