We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nes to your Saves list
Hotel Nes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kloveniersburgwal 137-139, 1011 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #262 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“everything OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Agree with all the recent reviews on the size of the rooms but that said they were clean and well kept. Good location and I found the staff helpful. Breakfast finished a little early for me but a fair selection of food.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    63
    52
    29
    27
See reviews for
11
74
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The pros: the location. 15 min walking from the central station, 5 min to Dam square, lots of bars, restaurants around but very quite at the same time.
Cons: rooms are small. There is not sound isolation. You can hear every whisper in the room next to yours as well as every move when your neighbors have sex. The other night we had a group of British guys in the next room...they were shouting, laughing and watching TV and it felt like they were all in our room. The hotel has no intimacy whatsoever. I would not stay there again.
And on top...the price is too high for such an establishment.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Great location! Room was a bit small, but everything was there. Stuff was friendly. Breakfast was OK, not luxurious but OK. Only "bad thing" I can mention was street renovation works in font of hotel during our stay, but luckily the was holiday for workers also.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Nothing works, no service from the staff, location is good but everything else is crap, do yourself a favour and stay somewhere (ANYWHERE!!) else. How this place gets 3 stars I don't know!! Must write some/all of their own better reviews!! That's the only way they could get good reviews in my opinion!!!

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Great spot to base yourself for sightseeing, lovely rooms with views, one twin and one double on our last stay. Small rooms, but clean and comfy. Breakfast excellent and staff five star, friendly, welcoming and helpful. I have stayed here three times at different times of the year and always given five star treatment by staff, very professional. Good value for money, the hotel is within walking distance of the flower market, the tourist squares, parks and museums and recommend the boat trips, which is based by the hotel. Area is quiet although Central and you can walk from the railway station or hop on a tram to reach the hotel. Very central. Would recommend to visit, with friends, as a couple, or family break.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

For the price and the central location, I thought Hotel Nes was excellent. It is right near Rembrandt Sq. with easy access to transit. I thought it was very clean. But if you're put off by strong cleaning smells like I am, this also might be good place for you. I didn't have any problem there (although this is a bigger problem in the U.S. than Europe, like your staying inside a Pine Sol bottle.) There is construction right next to the hotel but I was gone all day so it didn't bother me. It could be a little loud on a weekend night but that comes with being central. You can't have it all! I thought the staff was very helpful and friendly. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Hotel Nes was in a great location - right near Rembrandt Square (with its many bars and restaurants) and on one of Amsterdam's many canals and as such the room had a great view over the canal. The room was basic but clean and comfortable enough for a flying visit to Amsterdam where not much time was spent at the hotel. The bathroom was surprisingly large (having read previous reviews I was worried!) with a shower over a bath. The room had basic amenities such as a hairdryer, hand wash, shower gel and shower caps but no tea/coffee making facilities or mini fridge for stocking with your own drinks / water.
Communal areas were nice and staff were helpful. A great value hotel in a brilliant location.

Room Tip: I had room 301 which had a large bathroom and a fantastic view over the canal towards Rembrandt Squa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Amsterdam House Hotel
Amsterdam House Hotel
#208 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Amstelzicht
Hotel Amstelzicht
#135 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 256 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rokin Hotel
Rokin Hotel
#195 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Eden Amsterdam
Plantage & the East
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera
#117 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,785 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#114 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nes

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 137-139, 1011 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #262 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nes 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of exciting Amsterdam you will find Hotel Nes with its beautiful views of the Amstel canal. Due to it´s excellent location, you can explore our wonderful city on foot or by bicycle. Hotel Nes offers you the experience of sleeping in a beautiful building, built in 1890. Hotel Nes has 39 cosy rooms, all with private facilities. The rooms and lobby were recently decorated by Ellen van Gent, a Dutch interior designer. The design is a mixture of Dutch art and modern furnishings. The rooms are tastefully decorated to suit the needs of all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Nes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nes Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.