We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location and Great Staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nes

Save Saved
You added Hotel Nes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Nes
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kloveniersburgwal 137-139, Amsterdam 1011, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #252 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Flower Mound, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Location and Great Staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Nes on 9/13/13 to 9/16/13. The Hotel is located in a good location in the inner city of Amsterdam about a 20 minute walk from the Centraal train station and about a 10 minute tram ride away. The hotel is clean and the staff was excellent. Our room was extremely very small and we paid a very very high premium to get the one we were assigned. Breakfast was 10 Euro a person if we wanted to purchase it daily. We declined and stepped out for breakfast each morning to some of the wonderful cafes and confectionaries. When we booked the room, we knew the price would be extremely high because of the International Broadcasting Conference (IBC) that was being held in Amsterdam during our stay. We had no choice for our scheduled itinerary. Everyone in Amsterdam was renting something it seemed to get a piece of the action for incoming travelers from around the world. From their own apartments and homes to the shantiest of so called rooms. We didn't want to stay outside the innercity or near Schipol Airport either as daily commutes would have cost too much and defeated the purpose for us. We had a great view from our 4th floor room of a portion of the city. The bathroom in our room had a shower in it that sprayed directly on the floor where the toilet and sink cabinet were located, making showering a tad difficult because of water on the floor everywhere even when you drew the shower curtain. We dealt with it fine though. We loved Amsterdam and will go back one day, but make sure we miss any conferences. Internet Wi-fi was a pay service except in the lobby area, and in-room safes were a pay for service as well. We had no a/c in the room but didn't need it as we just opened a window for cool air at night. We slept well. This is a no frills Hotel, but it is nice in it's own way. It is an older building. I will rate the "value" as poor in the rating survey ONLY because we did not have any choices to really pick from during the IBC conference weekend as other places were booked to full capacity and Hotel Nes was doing what supply and demand warrants during fruitful times. So, please don't read into that rating for anything other than our particular stay. For us, Hotel Nes sufficed and was all about location, location, location, to best use our time to see Amsterdam. We recommend the Hotel Nes. Overall, we had a good stay there and would consider staying there again if the nightly rate demonstrated to be better during our scheduled travel.

Room Tip: Rooms were at a very very high premium when we stayed because of a World Conference being held. Reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    45
    44
    24
    20
See reviews for
5
50
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

An ok hotel, but great location. Friendly front desk staff. Breakfast not included, but available for cost. Room was just ok. A little dorm feeling. No A/C which was ok since weather was cool, but beware in summer. Hotel was more about location and affordability.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the annex part and it was terrible, ground level right on the street so noisy with passing people all night then you have the apartment up stairs who usr the same entrance so you hear them come and go all night and this been Amsterdam it is all night!

The room was small and cheaply furnished with the faulty toilet running constantly adding to the other noise makes this room a no go especially for ?165. Way way overpriced even for Amsterdam.

Bars also across the Windows made it feel like a prison

The main part of the hotel looked very nice and modern but only saw the reception area, good location too so maybe the main rooms are much better

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a very basic hotel in a pretty building set in a terrific location. We had a middle size room overlooking the canal and a nice view. But if this is the middle size room, I wouldn't want to be in the smaller rooms. The large bed was comfortable, but occupied at least 75 percent of the room. Luggage had to be stacked against the door at night so we could walk around the bed. There is no AC so think twice in warm weather. The large opened windows were fine in October. The bathroom is cosy but has a large tub and shower. The breakfast at 10 E is a good bargain with typical hotel breakfast items. On the plus side the reception clerks were always helpful and pleasant if not cheery. Back to location, Hotel Nes is right off the Muntplein, and the flower market. Nearby trams are convenient though most of the city is easily walk able. An easy tram ride and transfer gets you to Museumplein or the other way to Central Station. For us, this was all about location and price.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms can be noisy on weekend nights if windows are open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Middle of the range price wise. I stayed in a twin room here, with a friend of mine. We had a really nice, big twin with single beds. The nice touch was the fact that we had a fantastic view over part of the canal system right on the door step.

Conviniently located for all the places 2 mates visit when staying in Amsterdam.

Good clean hotel. Would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great location, friendly staff, nice breakfast. Rooms, modern, clean, Stayed in the Annex, quiet street location located on the canal. Would surely go back and stay again, Convenient to all the attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
México
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed in this hotel after finding myself in a very important date in Amsterdam with absolutely no hostels available anywhere. This was one of the only hotels with available rooms at the moment. The price was definitely not low, actually quite high if compared with a hostel, but low when compered with hotel from the Red Light District.

I ended up in a tiny single room. There was a small TV, but who cares? You don't go to Amsterdam to watch TV. Bathroom was recently renovated, very, very clean with clean towels and free soap. If you like cleanliness, don't hesitate in staying there. The elevator and stairs may be misleading, as they seem very old, rusty, and out-of-date, but rooms are clean enough for bacteria freaks. Most rooms have street view, either to the canals from the front of the hotel or to the back. Some have ugly view to adjacent houses, though. Staff was helpful, although by "staff" I mean the person at the desk and only person I ever saw there.

There is a restaurant in-site and free access to Internet with a good computer in the basement (not actually basement, but a few steps from the desk). You need a credit card to hold an amount for damages.

If I am not giving the Very Good rate is because of its price, which is very high for the size. It is located in a street in the heart of the Red Light District, a few block away from Rembrandt Plein and of course, from mayor buses and subway lines connecting to other suburbs of the city, like Haarlem, and others.

Room Tip: Lower rooms are easier to access because the elevator is very old and slow. If time is not a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Nes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nes

Address: Kloveniersburgwal 137-139, Amsterdam 1011, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #252 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nes 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the center of exciting Amsterdam you will find Hotel Nes with its beautiful views of the Amstel canal. Due to it´s excellent location, you can explore our wonderful city on foot or by bicycle. Hotel Nes offers you the experience of sleeping in a beautiful building, built in 1890. Hotel Nes has 39 cosy rooms, all with private facilities. The rooms and lobby were recently decorated by Ellen van Gent, a Dutch interior designer. The design is a mixture of Dutch art and modern furnishings. The rooms are tastefully decorated to suit the needs of all our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Nes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nes Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.