We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget break.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Blyss

Save Saved
You added Hotel Blyss to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Blyss
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vondelstraat 74-78, 1054 GN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #315 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Budget break.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My friends and I stayed here for a 4 night break.

Location - a little out from the hustle and bustle, but very close to the tram line with regular connections that taken between 5 and 10 mins. Walking distance from Von del park and Van Gogh Museum.

I personally stayed in a single room. The room was clean but very dated. It was in the attic and was very hot (in february). With the windows left open it was fine. I was lucky enough to have a double bed... that was ok. Very basic but for the price not bad

I would visit again.

My friends got upgraded to a deluxe.room and their room was much bigger and more modern and luxurious. ..so could be worth it.

Staff were very friendly.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    39
    59
    48
    61
See reviews for
30
50
28
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Was bit worried about going to stay here after reading some of the reviews, however the hotel is actually alright. Look you get what you pay for here, it's a place to rest you're head at night. The rooms are basic and not the most up to date but they are generally clean. A lick of paint wouldn't go a miss.

We stayed in room 103 right above the main entrance and the room was fine and it was cleaned every afternoon and we got clean towels everyday.

I Think some folk on here are expecting the Ritz... Here's a thought for the snobs. Book into the Ritz.

Location is excellent. With Vondelpark not even a minutes walk away. It is a bit of a trek to and from city centre (Red light) but the tram system is excellent.

Staff in Hotel Blyss where all excellent. The owner (Indian man) is very approachable. We enjoyed talking to him about his experience in Scotland.

So all in all it's not the Ritz but it's definitely worth the money and we would stay again and we plan to later this year.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Don't be misled by my overall rating. This is at best a 2.5-star hotel. However, it was a very good property considering what it is.

I led a group of 14 university students who spent 5 nights at the Blyss. Before the trip, many of the students had read reviews on Tripadvisor and had serious concerns about staying there. Those fears were unfounded. We were scattered throughout the hotel--I was in Room 22--and I heard no serious complaints from anyone.

I wonder if the people who have written the seriously negative reviews have stayed at other hotels in Amsterdam? If not, they may not be able to put their experiences at the Blyss into persective.

The location is excellent. It's just off Overtoom Straat, with easy access to Tram line #1. There are many eateries and a Starbucks close by. It's also a short walk to Leidseplein.

The hotel itself is solid. My room had a double bed with a desk and fridge. As far as rooms in Amsterdam go, it was large. It wasn't as large as my room when I stayed at the Asterisk in 2012, but there was still plenty of space. There was some noise from the hallway and the neighboring room, but I anticipate that at any hotel. That's why I always travel with earplugs. Any noise there was in the hotel did not interfere with my ability to sleep at night. The linens were not luxurious, but they were clean, and housekeeping did a good job each day. The bathroom in the room was basic, but I did not experience any of the mold or smells that other reviewers mentioned. Also, the wifi was very good. It was not ultra high speed, but it accommodated FaceTime calls.

The breakfast was the typical Amsterdam hotel breakfast: bread, cheese, meats, boiled eggs, cereal, apples, canned fruit, and a few other items. Having stayed at a few Amsterdam hotels, I don't understand why some reviewers complained about it. My only complaint about breakfast would be that it starts late: 7:30 on weekdays and 8:00 on weekends.

I also don't understand the complaints about the service. Everyone I encountered was pleasant. Having found service in general in Amsterdam to be indifferent, I would attribute some of the negative comments about service to be from people who are not accustomed to service in Amsterdam. (I stayed at the Hotel Pulitzer in late 2008, and the people at the front desk of the Blyss were just as friendly and accommodating as those at the Pulitzer.)

I gave the Blyss the 4/5 rating, because that's what I gave the Hotel Asterisk in 2012. These are both basic hotels that are very good at what they do. I would suggest that potential guests not be put off by the negative reviews or have unreasonable expectations

Room Tip: Room 22 is a nice room that looks out the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We recently booked for 3 nights, we were attending an event at Melkweg so the only thing to the hotels advantage was the proximity to the venue. The drain in our bathroom smelled so bad! The room wasn't vacuumed for the duration of our stay and the litter bins weren't emptied. There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room and the wallpaper was starting to peel. The small shelf attached to the hand basin was only attached on one side. For the cost I feel that this was very overpriced rubbish. The rooms had no soundproofing and we could hear our next door neighbour with hiccups in the early hours! I had to ask for an extra pillow and the duvet was smaller than the duvet cover. All in all very disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

When we booked to stay here we were asked for our credit details as a guarantee for reservation of the rooms. We were told no money would be taken off our cards. Later that day over £900 was stolen from my friends account to buy flights to Dubai and meals in Amsterdam. £30 was taken from my account and I was told it was as a deposit for the room I later found out that this was used to buy food in Amsterdam. The hotel staff were not very helpful in dealing with the accusation of fraud and I was told to dispute it with my bank on return home. In the end I didn't know who to trust therefore I will not be returning to the bless hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Avoid this Hotel Blyss as much as you can. Only the location is good: non-professional service, uncomfortable bed, small room, lots of noise, poor cleanliness... This hotel requires a huge sense of humour ;)

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

There was two receptionists that were very nice and friendly one was from Romania, that was great but to the rooms, we stayed in a double room, the carpet had bits of the ceiling after it had been cleaned the window would not stay open the shower room had mold in the corner and one of the so called fresh bed sheet had what looked like Doritos dust so did the cleaner have a munch? The decor was ok but had the same theme throughout the hotel.
The power went off 3 times but was restored quickly by the beutiful Romanian receptionist. We stayed in room 202
I wouldn't say avoid this hotel but use it to sleep and that's it, it is close to one of the liveliest squares.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Blyss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blyss

Address: Vondelstraat 74-78, 1054 GN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #315 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blyss 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel BLYSS in the centre of Amsterdam on a quiet street near Leidseplein and Vondel Park is known for its location, outstanding service, very friendely and pleasent staff. The hotel is surrounded by many attractions Museums Van Gogh, Stedelijk, Rijks Museum,floating Flower market, Theaters, bars, restaurants, clubs,casino, bike rent etc.etc. are within 5 minutes walking distance. RAI the exibition centre is easily accessible with in 10 minutes by tram or taxi. Vondel Park is 50 meters from the hotel and is a delight for joggers, bikers and in summer for music and theater admirers.Hotel Blyss has a cosy lobby with open fire place, study room with internet, a bar, breakfast room, a terrace and a garden to relax. Complimentary wireless internet is accessiblee all over the hotel. All 40 rooms are well equipped with facilities and most of the rooms have flat screen TVs. Blyss is a unique hotel in Amsterdam providing standard, deleuxe, suite and family rooms for 3 to 5 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Blyss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blyss Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Blyss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.