We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not satisfied” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Blyss

Save Saved
You added Hotel Blyss to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Blyss
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vondelstraat 74-78, 1054 GN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #299 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“not satisfied”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

where to start with hotel blyss??

On arrival we were greeted with open arms very nice young asian girl working at reception great smile great manner.
We were very early as there is 2pm check in we arrived at 10am and thanks to the help of this young lady she informed us she could check in early.

So off we went very happy that we werent stuck roaming the streets of amsterdam with our luggage.......until we entered our room,the walls were dirty door was smashed at the back fire escape plan trown on the floor bed linen dirty....to clarify how dirty the room was i wore some white socks while walking on the floor and the bottom was completely black.

The cleaner does do a good job doh she came to us everyday with fresh towels and did give the room a going over but lets face a fact here she hasnt got much to work with this place needs a serious updating.

All in doh a lick of paint some new curtains,doors and carpets and it would be worth the 450euros for 4 nights..........

the location is great not to far of a walk to the main tourist areas

The staff are very pleasant(always say hello and goodbye)

On leaving the hotel the atmosphere was not great doh it was as if they were in a rush to get rid of us(the brazilian or young asian were not on duty)

keep the staff you have here well the 2 mentioned anyway

Due to the above i would not reccomend staying here

And if you do use the local coffee shop as much as possible and you wont notice the dirt

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    47
    64
    49
    56
See reviews for
25
47
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Booked a room for my parents as there was some super deal on one of the booking websites. It looked very awesome on the pictures and the price was good and also breakfast included. But, when we arrived to check my parents in, found out that I have to pay extra, breakfast was not included and the rooms are dirty and in very bad condition. The breakfast (that you pay for) is equal to 0, better cross the street and buy a few croissants from Albert Heijn. Staff is also not very friendly, and wanted to charge us even more, but they couldn`t explain why. It is a weird hotel, if you have other options, stay away from it. Only good thing about this hotel is the location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed here for our one night in Amsterdam. They were fantastic with early check in. We arrived from our flight from Australia at 7am and they checked us in without a worry. The foyer is misconceiving, it's been nicely renovated, that appears to be where the renovations end. The rooms were small and carpet old. The shower lacked water pressure. The location was great, we were able to access everything we wanted. It is a good location lots of shops around. It was a beautiful walk into the centre which took about 30mins. There was free wifi which was great. Breakfast not included but could be purchased for 10 euros per person. We ate at many the numerous bakers around which were delicious. Overall not a bad hotel but for the price compared to others we stayed in during our trip it needs work.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

i stayed 3 night in blyss hotel it is one the cheepest hotel in amesterdam , rooms are clean but small and all of them is non smoking , choose a room is neer elavator becuase some rooms are far from elavator and if you have baggage reaching too room is so hard!!!!!! it is quate hotel and with 5 min walking you can arraive to tram station and directly can go to amesterdam central

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We recently stayed here as a party of 4 for innovation in the dam and stayed in room 17 which is a basement room. If you're coming for something like innovation then room 17 would be perfect so see if you can request it, it has a door which leads into the garden so you can smoke and the room we had was actually quite clean and modern.
We did go for a wander around the hotel and it does look tired and worn down and i can imagine that some of the other rooms aren't as nice as the one we had and that we were quite fortunate really. The location is perfect so if like us your not planning on spending much time in the hotel its great but if you were wanting a hotel that you can relax in your room then probably not. You're about a 5/10 minute walk into melkweg which has a bullddog cafe and loads of places to eat and the red light district is about a 30/45 minute walk but there are trams.

You do get wifi and a TV in your room which is a plus and the wifi is free too. Another plus are that the beds are really comfy so you'll get plenty of sleep.

It does need some work done as it hasn't really got a friendly feel to it but over all our experience was ok.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This hotel is terrible. Dirty, smelly, messy, ugly, anty hygienic. Room door closes hard, some light bulbs in the room are burned-out, wind blowing through the windows, etc.
Poor breakfast - dry bread, uncertain quality villainous ham and weak tea. Decay apples and no vegetables.
It must be closed for a renovation. I simply can't believe that such poor quality hotel may be in Amsterdam. Who gave him 3 star rating? It is worth a maximum of 1.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Blyss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blyss

Address: Vondelstraat 74-78, 1054 GN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #299 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blyss 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel BLYSS in the centre of Amsterdam on a quiet street near Leidseplein and Vondel Park is known for its location, outstanding service, very friendely and pleasent staff. The hotel is surrounded by many attractions Museums Van Gogh, Stedelijk, Rijks Museum,floating Flower market, Theaters, bars, restaurants, clubs,casino, bike rent etc.etc. are within 5 minutes walking distance. RAI the exibition centre is easily accessible with in 10 minutes by tram or taxi. Vondel Park is 50 meters from the hotel and is a delight for joggers, bikers and in summer for music and theater admirers.Hotel Blyss has a cosy lobby with open fire place, study room with internet, a bar, breakfast room, a terrace and a garden to relax. Complimentary wireless internet is accessiblee all over the hotel. All 40 rooms are well equipped with facilities and most of the rooms have flat screen TVs. Blyss is a unique hotel in Amsterdam providing standard, deleuxe, suite and family rooms for 3 to 5 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Blyss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blyss Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Blyss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.