We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Blyss

Save Saved
You added Hotel Blyss to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Blyss
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vondelstraat 74-78, 1054 GN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #298 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Kaunas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Avoid this hotel!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

This hotel is terrible. Dirty, smelly, messy, ugly, anty hygienic. Room door closes hard, some light bulbs in the room are burned-out, wind blowing through the windows, etc.
Poor breakfast - dry bread, uncertain quality villainous ham and weak tea. Decay apples and no vegetables.
It must be closed for a renovation. I simply can't believe that such poor quality hotel may be in Amsterdam. Who gave him 3 star rating? It is worth a maximum of 1.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    38
    58
    46
    53
See reviews for
25
47
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
winchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The only thing that rates this hotel is the location for the Museums.
I had what I can only describe as a garret room in the roof with a vellux
window that didn't shut. The room was extremely tired.
For the price, it was so shabby and in need
of total renovation. A one star not 3!
The breakfast was 10euros extra and one of the worst buffet choices
I have ever seen. A rip off. Better to head toward the nearest cafe.

The sad thing is this hotel is busy as the demand is so high for the location,
guests will book it as the web site is better than the real thing. I over heard a guest making a complaint to the
owner, it was water off a ducks back. Not interested at all, no surprise there!
I found the staff polite and friendly but would I not return to the Blyss even on a free ticket!
The Hotel Vlondel further along is a much better bet choice.

Room Tip: there is no choice room as far as I can see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Dry white bread, jam and butter. Bland coffee.

The standard of the rooms are quite poor. The front desk clerks are not attentive or helpfull. For once our room lacked à remote controller. The bath room wasn't properly cleaned. The isolation was terrible in terms of noice

Next time in Amsterdam I'll stay someplace Else.


Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This was not bliss. The hotel and service was terrible. I booked 3 nights via Booking.com and regret I did. Euro195 total.

Room 24 was a joke:
A narrow small sized room converted from what looked like was previously the entrance hallway of the building. I've stayed in hotel rooms in Japan known for their small size. Room 24 was smaller than typical Japanese hotel rooms.
The bathroom is a fully tiled small space comprising of a shower, shower curtain, hand basin and toilet. The whole floor space of the bathroom got wet turning into a "swimming pool". To use the toilet I had to wait until the water on the floor drained away and then towel dry the toilet and floor.

Inhospitable and incompetent staff:
The receptionist was not overly welcoming, nor informative. Upon check in I was asked to pay in full. I was short of cash for the 3 nights so offered to pay for 2 nights and pay the balance the following day after getting more cash. That was not good enough for her, I had to pay in full for the 3 nights upfront. She instructed me to go to the ATM around the block.

The receptionist also failed to inform me their routine of locking the reception doors each night thereby eliminating my main route of entry to my room. She didn't instruct me on the alternative route I needed to take which involved a few flights of stairs and many corridors. I had to figure that out late at night by myself with nobody around to ask for help.

Not clean and lack of security. I found a couple of long hairs on the bed upon checking into my room on the first night. Housekeeping were careless leaving my room door unlocked and open after cleaning my room.

Some positives:
Good WIFI. Nice backyard garden area.
The location is very good for Vondel Park, Van Gogh Museum, Stedelijk, Rijksmuseum and Leidseplein are all within minutes easy walk. Centraal train station, Anne Franks haus and Red L.D are a short tram ride away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terni, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I’m italian, I stayed in this hotel last year, during the winter for my holidays in Amsterdam with my wife.
This Hotel is terrible!!It’s old, nasty and dirty, the rooms are small and the carpet is filthy!
The beds are combined, broken and the bathrooms is very small!!
The only positive thing is that it’s near the centre of the city and Vondelpark, but it’s expensive and the staff are rude.
The breakfast is very poor and low quality and you must do it in a room like a cellar
Avoid this Hotel!!

Room Tip: Avoid this Hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Very basic indeed. Our double room looked like a sleeping hall with four separate beds lined up in parallel along the wall. The remote control for the TV did not work - no battery power. The soap container in the bath room fell apart. The cleaning staff left dirty towels on the floor. Most receptionists (new ones every day) were uninterested or close to unfriendly. The bar could not serve what they proposed.

The only good thing was the location - close to Museumplein, Bagels & Beans (where we had breakfast) and the old town. That was the main reason for booking this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I travel to Amsterdam every September and have stayed in quite a few of the 'budget' hotels and generally they are quite good. This was apparently 3 star. The reception was a 3 star and so was the bar and garden that NEVER open. When we arrived the miserable receptionist just look at us, we informed her who we was and demanded that we pay for our stay on arrival. This WASN'T on the website. I generally like to pay when I leave. Anyway, we went up to the room which was a twin when we requested double, the room smelt of damp, the bathroom was not clean(smelt of sewers and damp). Stain on the carpet which looked 'dubious'. The next morning we asked for a different room as we DID ask for a double, the same receptionist refused. I asked to see the manager and she changed rooms for us. However the stay was tarnished by now and we willneverstay there again. False, Rude and downright horrible attitude-room was dated and probably last decorated in the early 90's-NO WAY a 3 star. Sorry but was rubbish!!!!

Room Tip: Dont go unless desperate Terrible Service Rude staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Blyss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blyss

Address: Vondelstraat 74-78, 1054 GN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blyss 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel BLYSS in the centre of Amsterdam on a quiet street near Leidseplein and Vondel Park is known for its location, outstanding service, very friendely and pleasent staff. The hotel is surrounded by many attractions Museums Van Gogh, Stedelijk, Rijks Museum,floating Flower market, Theaters, bars, restaurants, clubs,casino, bike rent etc.etc. are within 5 minutes walking distance. RAI the exibition centre is easily accessible with in 10 minutes by tram or taxi. Vondel Park is 50 meters from the hotel and is a delight for joggers, bikers and in summer for music and theater admirers.Hotel Blyss has a cosy lobby with open fire place, study room with internet, a bar, breakfast room, a terrace and a garden to relax. Complimentary wireless internet is accessiblee all over the hotel. All 40 rooms are well equipped with facilities and most of the rooms have flat screen TVs. Blyss is a unique hotel in Amsterdam providing standard, deleuxe, suite and family rooms for 3 to 5 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Blyss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blyss Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Blyss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.