We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but not value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa 92

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Europa 92 to your Saves list
Hotel Europa 92
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1e Constantijn Huygensstraat | 103-107, 1054 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #240 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good location but not value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I've recently spent 2 nights at the Hotel Europa 92 with two more friends. The hotel is well located and the staff who attended us was very friendly and helpful.
The room was clean and quite ample, however the bathroom was very small and the shower's water pressure was very weak. The safe didn't work, as they are replacing them, but the receptionist offered us a safe downstairs. The hotel is quite nice, and I'd go back...if only it was cheaper. Way too expensive for what it actually is!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    73
    50
    34
    21
See reviews for
33
84
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

the hotel is in a lovely location, a few minutes from the Vondelpark, Leidesplein and the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum. central Amsterdam is very easy to walk around. From the Central station if you have no luggage you could walk in a straight line south it will take about 30 mins, or else get tram 1 and get off at Constantijn Huygensstraat which is the stop after Leidesplein. you can buy your tram ticket on the tram at a manned ticket booth. My hotel room (104) was very small. Despite having 2 single beds, you'd have real trouble having 2 adults in there! But it was fine for me for 3 nights. my only issue was not having a loo seat but i lived without that. Breakfast area perfectly pleasant, it's basic continental breakfast - coffee, tea, chocolate froma good machine, bread rolls, toast, cheese and cold meat, fresh fruit etc. did me fine, and ofcourse take a fruit for a snack later and a piece of cake (pre-wrapped) and your sorted for lunch. If you want more comfort in your room and a more varied breakfast, or are staying for longer than about 4 nights, you may need to accept to pay more for another hotel. this one was quite fine, with friendly staff, i found it clean, no noise (but this was early Sept, maybe noisier during the holidays).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europa92, Front Office Manager at Hotel Europa 92, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear your stay was pleasant. It is indeed true we are a hotel for people who stay around 3 nights. We hope to welcome you again in our hotel!

Kind regards,

Ilse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manistee, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I've stayed here once on business and have another stay planned. Although I don't have a lot to compare to in Amsterdam, this place was great. Staff is very personable, friendly and fun to talk to. There is a great small bar in the lobby with seating inside and out.
It's clean and professional with a great self serve breakfast every morning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europa92, Front Office Manager at Hotel Europa 92, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear,

Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to hear that you had a nice stay and that you're coming back. We are looking forward to welcome you again on your next visit.

Kind regards,

Ilse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We spent five days and found it to be above its 3 star rating. Conveniently situated for good restaurants(try Bocco or Peper & Zout both 2 mins away, or there are hundreds to choose at Leidseplein, 10 mins.) The hotel is perfectly clean and quiet and above all friendly and welcoming. Our good sized room was at the back overlooking the garden which is a delight but there may be an issue with its continued use. Check with the hotel. For a modest five day break this hotel was perfect.

Room Tip: Although on a main road junction the traffic is mostly quiet trams and bicycles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europa92, Front Office Manager at Hotel Europa 92, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you had a pleasant stay in our hotel. I want to let you know that we are doing good with the garden, so that is very positive! We hope to welcome you again sometime.

Kind regards,

Ilse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Don't know why I booked this terrible place, I do believe it got quite good remarks on Booking.com, but after staying there I just cannot see why.

First the positive;
1. Friendly staff
2... well.... think that's about it.

Paper thin walls, hordes of youngsters smoking weed and partying at 4 o'clock. Tram line and major road outside the hotel with no AC means closing the windows equals certain death and keeping them open equals no sleep what so ever. Breakfast was a joke (and do not make the mistake we made and go for the pancake shack near Ledseplein, they'll charge you 50EUR for 4 pancakes and milk.
This place is no better than the crappiest of youth hostels that I've stayed in. Expensive as well.
It's not far from where the action is, but there's loads of other places to chose from, so chose something else.

Room Tip: Something away from the road. But the best room is probably located in another hotel alltogether.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The only good thing about this hotel is location, few steps to tram, near Vondelpark and Museumplein, actually you can walk anywhere from there.
What I didn't like is, quite superficial cleaning, the dust was all around the room and the bathroom is quite outdated.
Shortly it is ok, but will not recommend it to my friends for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for the room facing the backyard, it is quite. On the street side the tram will wake you every t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were at Hotel Europa 92 late 2012 and were very disappointed after reading better reviews before we arrived. I know how small rooms in Europe are, but the room was so small you had to crawl over the tv stand that was attached to the wall to get into the bed. The room was not at all like pictures on the website. Bathroom had mold and tub was not clean. The tv remote was missing the batteries, the light in the bathroom bulb was not working and there was no soap in the dispenser in the tub. The front desk was able to give us 2 batteries, a light bulb and more soap when we asked and picked the items up from the desk. There are many mazes and hallways that wind through the hotel, not just a straight walk up the stairs to the rooms. Creaky walkways, filthy and torn carpet and marked up walls. The hotel definately needs work. The breakfast was nice, considering you're in Europe and the location was decent but next time I'll pick something else.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you accept it. A room off the street would probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europa92, Front Office Manager at Hotel Europa 92, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear,

We are very sorry to hear that you're stay wasn't as it's supposed to be. We would like to let you know we renovated the hallways, so everything looks much better and fresher now. If you're visiting Amsterdam again we hope you'll come back to us. We will promise you will stay in a nice room for the first night free.

Thank you for you review, so we know how to improve.

Kind regards,

Ilse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Europa 92? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa 92

Address: 1e Constantijn Huygensstraat | 103-107, 1054 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 92 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Hotel Europa '92 AmsterdamHotel Europa 92 is one of the few remaining family-run 3-star hotels in Amsterdam. An atmospheric, centrally located ‘home from home’, it’s conveniently close to the Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum. In April 2012 Hotel Europa 92 has renovated 32 of its rooms.Amsterdam is a city with something to offer everyone: culture, history, an intoxicating nightlife, delicious food and fantastic shopping. Because it’s so centrally located, Hotel Europa ’92 is an ideal place to base yourself during a weekend or mid-week stay in Amsterdam. Inside, you’ll find a relaxed outdoor atmosphere.Our cosy bar is open every day until 1 am, and behind the hotel there’s a magnificent garden. If you spend time sitting here, the hustle and bustle of the city will seem very far away. It’s the perfect spot to relax after a day’s ramble through the glories of Amsterdam or simply to enjoy a drink. We also serve breakfast outside in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Europa 92 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa 92 Hotel
Europa 92 Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europa 92, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.