We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europa 92

Save Saved
You added Hotel Europa 92 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Europa 92
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1e Constantijn Huygensstraat | 103-107, 1054 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #234 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The only good thing about this hotel is location, few steps to tram, near Vondelpark and Museumplein, actually you can walk anywhere from there.
What I didn't like is, quite superficial cleaning, the dust was all around the room and the bathroom is quite outdated.
Shortly it is ok, but will not recommend it to my friends for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for the room facing the backyard, it is quite. On the street side the tram will wake you every t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    62
    37
    24
    16
See reviews for
30
63
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were at Hotel Europa 92 late 2012 and were very disappointed after reading better reviews before we arrived. I know how small rooms in Europe are, but the room was so small you had to crawl over the tv stand that was attached to the wall to get into the bed. The room was not at all like pictures on the website. Bathroom had mold and tub was not clean. The tv remote was missing the batteries, the light in the bathroom bulb was not working and there was no soap in the dispenser in the tub. The front desk was able to give us 2 batteries, a light bulb and more soap when we asked and picked the items up from the desk. There are many mazes and hallways that wind through the hotel, not just a straight walk up the stairs to the rooms. Creaky walkways, filthy and torn carpet and marked up walls. The hotel definately needs work. The breakfast was nice, considering you're in Europe and the location was decent but next time I'll pick something else.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you accept it. A room off the street would probably be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europa92, Front Office Manager at Hotel Europa 92, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear,

We are very sorry to hear that you're stay wasn't as it's supposed to be. We would like to let you know we renovated the hallways, so everything looks much better and fresher now. If you're visiting Amsterdam again we hope you'll come back to us. We will promise you will stay in a nice room for the first night free.

Thank you for you review, so we know how to improve.

Kind regards,

Ilse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hotel is less than 10 mins walk from the Rijksmuseum,the Van Gogh museum and Vondelpark, and is right on the corner of a popular tram stop - perfect for tourists!

There was lift access to our room on the 2nd floor, however, we still had to go up and down some very steep stairs with a couple of near falls...
The room itself was bright and spacious, and overall much better than expected.

The breakfast was pretty basic, but it hit the spot, and there are quite a few nice nearby cafes and restaurants for any necessary refueling.

Just one thing: leaving the luggage in the hotel after check out on the last day (to fit in some final sightseeing) amounted to abandoning it underneath the stairs - the receptionist assured us that it would be completely safe, but when we came back to pick it up there was a different receptionist on duty (who presumably had no way of knowing who we were) and no one challenged us when we casually walked away with our cases... Of course nothing was taken so it was absolutely fine, but we would think twice before leaving anything there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europa92, Front Office Manager at Hotel Europa 92, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you had a pleasant stay. It is true that our hotel contains a lot of stairs, but on the other hand that's part of Amsterdam! If you ever come back again and you would like to get a room where you don't have to walk any stairs please let us know and we will make sure you'll get that room.

Kind regards,

Ilse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Small hotel with friendly staff. OK service, but it could have been slightly cleaner. The location is perfect for a stay in Amsterdam and I think that is refected in the relatively high price we paid. Our room faced the back yard and we slept very well our two nights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hotell.no

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We recently stayed at Hotel Europa 92. I can't fault the staff who were very helpful, and the breakfast was good (continental so no hot food, but this is what you expect in most of Europe and there was still a good selection and plenty of it).
However, the room itself was very disappointing! I had booked the hotel based on the pictures on the website as it looked like the nicest hotel in our price range in the location we wanted. Obviously only part of the hotel has undergone renevations as our room had dirty walls, stained red carpet and tired blue wicker furniture. It was nothing like the clean, modern wooden floored rooms in the photographs. It did as a place to rest our heads, but was not the lovely room I was expecting. Also, there must have been a leak in the bathroom as really big puddles kept appearing next to the door after we had a shower. Really the hotel should include a photo of rooms like this on their website so that guests are not as disappointed as we were upon arirval as they will at least know what they might be getting.
I'm sure if I had gotten a renovated room I would have enjoyed my stay a lot more, but I wouldn't stay again as there is no guarantee of the room I would actually be getting.
One other thing, the hotel says that it is forbidden to smoke weed in the hotel and guests caught doing so would be asked to leave, but the corridors smelled of weed every day we were there so this obviously is not the case.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room towards the back as the rooms at the front can be noisy. Also ask for a roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Hotel Europa 92 (not to be confused with a hotel of similar name in Amsterdam) was a great option for me and 3 teenagers. We really needed the 4 beds. Once you figure out the tram system - you will see this is a great option. It is right in front of No. 1 tram stop. I may have missed it, but am hoping the hotel adds public transportation directions to their website. We took the 197 bus RIGHT outside the airport and it took us directly to Leidseplein...from there a very short walk to hotel - we had to stop to ask for directions so explicit directions on website would have been helpful. But this bus was great - I think it was about 16 Euros total for the 4 of us and it took less than 1/2 hour and was SO EASY. They even sell tickets right at the bus stop because it's such a popular option. Beds were comfy...Yes...you could hear the trams once in a while but with the windows shut it was hardly noticeable.
The garden in the back was lovely - so beautiful and such a surprise!!!
Staff was very helpful they even printed out my Anne Frank tickets that were sent to me via email...BTW a good option...bypass the line - even if you arrive earlier at the museum before your actual printed time - walk to the front of the line and see if they'll take you then...most likely they will.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The location of this hotel is excellent, it is walking distance to most of the main areas of Amsterdam. Right next to Vondelpark and Leidseplein. We only stayed here for one night, so for this reason the location of this hotel was a massive pro.The staff was very easy going but not exactly helpful. Luggage was difficult to carry up and we had absolutely no help. The room is pretty small and the bathroom is meh. Bed is pretty uncomfortable. The worst though was the smoking scent in our bedroom. It absolutely lingered on our clothing from just sitting in the room. We had absolutely no idea there was smoking allowed in this room. The room was definitely sold as a nonsmoking. For this reason, I give it three stars. However, if you don't mind the smoking smell, this hotel is great in terms of value and location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europa92, Front Office Manager at Hotel Europa 92, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear,

Thank you for your review on out hotel.

It is true that some of the rooms in our hotel are smoking rooms. Unfortunately you were given a smoking room. If you are planning on staying again we will make sure you get a comfortable, non-smoking room, just like you want it.

We are trying to make your stay as comfortable as possible and you can help us with that by contacting us about your preferences. Please let us know your preferances the next time you're visiting our hotel!

Your review really helps us to improve our hotel, so we would like to thank you for that and we hope to see you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Ilse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Europa 92? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europa 92

Address: 1e Constantijn Huygensstraat | 103-107, 1054 BV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Europa 92 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Hotel Europa '92 AmsterdamHotel Europa 92 is one of the few remaining family-run 3-star hotels in Amsterdam. An atmospheric, centrally located ‘home from home’, it’s conveniently close to the Leidseplein, Vondelpark, Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum. In April 2012 Hotel Europa 92 has renovated 32 of its rooms.Amsterdam is a city with something to offer everyone: culture, history, an intoxicating nightlife, delicious food and fantastic shopping. Because it’s so centrally located, Hotel Europa ’92 is an ideal place to base yourself during a weekend or mid-week stay in Amsterdam. Inside, you’ll find a relaxed outdoor atmosphere.Our cosy bar is open every day until 1 am, and behind the hotel there’s a magnificent garden. If you spend time sitting here, the hustle and bustle of the city will seem very far away. It’s the perfect spot to relax after a day’s ramble through the glories of Amsterdam or simply to enjoy a drink. We also serve breakfast outside in the summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Europa 92 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europa 92 Hotel
Europa 92 Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europa 92, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.