We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prime Location, Good Price, High Quality, Wonderful Service, Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Gerstekorrel to your Saves list
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Prime Location, Good Price, High Quality, Wonderful Service, Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

I visit Amsterdam every year - it is the most beautiful city and there is so much to see. With over 40 museums in Amsterdam alone, and with The Netherlands having the highest concentration of museums in the world, we enjoy every moment and you need to be in a prime location. And that is one of the best features of the Hotel de Gerstekorrel.

We travelled in October 2008 with DFDS Seaways aboard the MS King of Scandinavia. After a wonderful crossing, we stayed in the hotel for one night. This year, we are staying in the hotel for two nights, but I must say that after our first stay at the Hotel de Gerstekorrel last year, I would be more than happy and will be staying here again in 2009. On arrival, the weather was thoroughly miserable, and due to a DFDS Seaways map being wrong, it took us almost an hour to find the hotel in the rain. Every Dutch person we asked, all they told us was it was on the Dam Strad. After finding it, we were told we couldn't check in for another couple of hours, which annoyed us slightly, as we weren't told of this, but we probably wouldn't of minded if the weather wasn't so bad. It didn't ruin the trip.

Because the hotel was so cheap, we expected it to be very basic and prepared for it to be very low standard in its cleanliness and quality. However, when we arrived in our room, we were delighted to find a television with lots of English and Dutch channels, a telephone, a nice clean toilet and shower (although small) and a huge room. It was the same room but on two different heights with a few steep stairs Although our room window faced out onto a wall, we came to Amsterdam to go out and explore and didn't plan to stare out the window all day. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were clear and I can't express how friendly and co-operative the staff were - and moreso how great their Engish was. We received our automated wake up call right on time, and we enjoyed the continental breakfast delivered to us at our room at the exact time, sharp and prompt. It also had free WiFi, and I will taking advantage of it this year when I take my laptop.

The rooms were very well heated/air conditioned, depending on the weather and I would thoroughly recommend this hotel. It is located just next to Dam Square, so you're near lots of major attractions - although we had quite some time walking to Science Centre NEMO - which I must say is incredibly interesting! There is a great family feel to the hotel. It is only a bed and breakfast, continental breakfast at that, but that is all you really need and it's edible. Nearby is a coffeeshop, but there is no problem with that, nobody ever bothers you. With a one minute walk to Dam Square/Madame Tussauds/Nuewie Kerk/Royal Palace, 5 minute walk to Central Station and 3 minute walk to the Red Light District, this hotel is in a prime location and its fantastic quality with great prices.

If travelling with DFDS Seaways, you must purchase the Day Trip Passes (that's the A, B, C, D and E) tickets which allow you access to different attractions for a great price. I think it cost us £60 each, but it cost us all £45 to get into Madame Tussauds anyway, so it's a great deal. Lots of different attractions to enjoy. I recommend this hotel to everyone - it is true quality for a great price.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    102
    81
    28
    19
See reviews for
31
109
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

My daughters and I stayed here for 6 nights on the 3rd floor (triple room).

I booked through expedia. The room was waiting for us when we checked in. The hotel staff are very friendly and all speak great english. The room was clean and the bathroom very small - but clean! Housekeeping did a great job everyday.

The hotel is located right next to Dam Square and is only one stop down the tramline from Central. There are restaurants surrounding the entry of the hotel and if you're looking for a coffeeshop, there's one just a few doors up and another a few doors down. The red light district is just a few blocks away and it sure is something to see.

If you're in town for sight seeing make sure you get the iAmsterdam card!

We liked the hotel and had a nice time in Amsterdam. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

Stayed here for two nights a week before Christmas whilst on a cruise package. Overall we must have paid about £20 for two nights for the accomadation so we didnt expect much, however, we were pleasantly surprised.
ROOM: The room was small but was clean and cosy and had everything you needed. The TV helped for the morning after when you were a bit monged out!
BREAKFAST: Left a lot to be desired as I usually have more than a roll and slice of cheese for breakfast! however, you only had to walk about a minute to find some cheap places to eat. Also you cant expect a full english breakfast for the price you pay!
LOCATION: This hotel has probably the best location in Amsterdam, it is literally on the Dam and is a few minutes walk to shows, red light district, restuarants, madame tussaads, shopping etc. The Location is PERFECT, in my eyes I would much rather pay less, have a less star hotel and be close to everythingas opposed to paying more, having a posh hotel but be a while away from the attractions.
STAFF: We encountered two different memebers of staff on out trip. Both were extremely friendly and helpful and assisted us n finding certain attractions etc.
Overall I would say this hotel is perfect for non fussy people, who are on a tight budget and want to see amsterdam as opposed to relax in a hotel.
I would say the only negative thing about the hotel would be breakfast and would definately recoomend to a friend!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rotherham south yorkshire
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

Room on third floor, steep stairs no lift, room was very small, double bed pushed against the wall, tv, tiny wardrobe.. room overlooked a brick wall.
Very hot but fans available from reception at no extra cost.
Clean.
Staff very helpful.
Breakfast delivered to your room ... continental.
Great location central for all attractions, eateries etc.
Fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

On arrival the lady at the desk spoke impeccable English and was very friendly and helpful. Beds are stupidly comfy! Ensuite wetroom. Really like the fact that there was four of us and we could have 1 room. TV with loads of channels incl BBC1. Excellent location - walking distance to anywhere incl red light district, Dam Square, Central station, bars, etc. Despite being on a busy road it wasn't noisy of a night. Probably only downside was it was difficult to find as it is just a door between two fast food restaurants. Would definitely stay there again when I go back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2009

If you dont do stairs easily dont stay here. There are several floors in this hotel and no lift.
Our room was a split level triple bedded room. Basic and clean. Nice large flat screen tv. Continental breakfast is served in your room. The hotel is very central with a good variety of restaurants in the same street. Might recommend this to friends who are not fussy.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2009

Stayed at this hotel for a long weekend: 13/2/09 - 16/2/09, with two friends looking to relax and enjoy the Dam nightlife.
Hotels location is excellent, easy walk from Central Station and located less than a min away from Dam square and ~4min away from red light district. The street its based on is very busy, and has lots of take out places. Pizza place and chinese are below the hotel, so perfect for late munchies. Only downside is the prices charged on this street are rather high incomparison to other areas.
Hotel itself was very clean, simple and had all the basic amenities (hairdryer, iron, room service, tv). hotel staff we friendly and pointed us in the right direction.
Downside: no elevator (not even 4 luggage) so we had to climb 3 flights of stairs, suitcases in tow to get to our room.
Overall positive experiance!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel De Gerstekorrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Address: Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Gerstekorrel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for an excellent central location with friendly service and extras like breakfast in bed? Then choose Hotel de Gerstekorrel, where guests return year after year! Our 32 room hotel offers single rooms, 2 persons rooms, triple rooms as well as four persons rooms - come alone, with a friend, the whole family or a group of friends!Smoking rooms are available in the hotel by advance request. Hotel de Gerstekorrel is a popular and modern hotel close to the famous Dam Square, shopping streets such as De Kalverstraat, the canals, wonderful restaurants and unforgettable nightlife. Do you come for a concert in Ziggo Dome or Heineken music hall? Or want to see the Music Awards? Interested in football stadium Arena, Ajax? Stay with us and you easily reach all these places by public transportation.The famous Amsterdam museums - newly opened Stedelijk Museum and new Rijksmuseum, Hermitage, Van Gogh and several other museums and art galleries are also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel De Gerstekorrel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Gerstekorrel Hotel
De Gerstekorrel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Gerstekorrel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.