We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel De Gerstekorrel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Gerstekorrel to your Saves list
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #171 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Hotel De Gerstekorrel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed her a few times and the place was very clean a good breakfast buffet with great yogurt and other nice cold cuts. The price is very reasonable and not far from Dam Square. I would have stayed here last time I was in Amsterdam but it was booked and found another good alternative that I reviewed in another post. Do stay here if you are on a budget and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    94
    75
    26
    17
See reviews for
22
99
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 3 nights in October and loved it! It is so central and you really couldn't be in a better place! 5 minutes from red light district and 2 minutes from dam square and shops! Bedrooms were small and cosy! Beds were so so comfortable really loved our cosy warm room. Would defo go back and recommended to family and friends! Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I went with three friends and we stayed in a family room, there was more than enough room, it was clean and tidy, we were given fresh towels when we wanted and the bed were comfortable with enough pillows and blankets provided. The hotel staff were so friendly and welcoming and were happy to help us with anything we needed. There was always someone there to assist. I couldn't have faulted the hotel and it is good value for money!

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just got back from a 4 night stay. The staff were friendly and the room although small was clean. This is the only hotel I have been in where the reception is about 4 shops down from the actual hotel. So you get your key go back out and walk about 4 shops down through a door and up the stairs. Which are Very steep and the further up you go the steeper they get. If you need a hair dryer take your own as they do lend you one but you have to return it then borrow it back next day. There aren't any free toiletries but you can buy them from reception. No kettle but you can get a drink from a machine at reception so out you go pay €2 and walk back. Very strange. Now there is a choice of front or back of the hotel if you are in the front you have a view of the street and a bit of noise or the back no noise and the view is the air conditioning units. Breakfast is actually in the pizza shop next to the main reception. It is again basic with little choice but fresh and you can eat as much as you like. Again the staff are friendly. You have to finish by 10.30 as the pizza shop opens. We paid for the break up front and it's a good job we took a card with us because they asked for another €26 room tax that we weren't aware of. After all that the hotel is located in a great place you can walk to all the attractions and it is a 15 min walk from the station. So what you need to do is weigh up what you want and for a short break you can put up with the stairs ect to be in the city centre.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

Hi

This is a 2 star hotel in the center of Amsterdam, if you are young and traveling across Eu this might be a good idea but for anyone that cares about hygiene or comfort this would be a very bad experience. My room had a used tissue beneath the bed, hairs scattered in the shower, on the toilet and behind, mould in the shower, broken shower handle, window that can't be opened beyond 2 inches, the dust in the room was not wiped for at least a month, due to the lack of ventilation the room had a slight stench.... well overall a bad experience, endured for 4 nights and will never do so again. In case the manager would read this and would like to get picture evidence of this, I stayed in the room 30, 14th-17th October 2014.
regards, Igor

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, November 9, 2014
Dear Ig0rTA:
Thank you for taking the time give us your feedback. Our goal is to make our guests’ stay with us as comfortable as possible. By reporting any issues you have immediately to reception you give us the opportunity to remedy the situation to your satisfaction during your stay with us. If the solution is to move you to a different room that better suits your needs then we are happy to do so. We hope that you will visit with us again and please contact the hotel prior to making your reservation so that we can make certain that you are booked to the room of your choice. Best regards, the staff at the Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 1st-3rd in two couples, location was amazing considering the price, bedroom was modern, service was so lovely. Location was bang in the middle between dam square and the red light district
Staff were always there to answer our questions and when asked to book us a cab to the airport they made the taxi driver come in to make sure they were legit, then let us get in the car!
Bedroom was cleaned and even our shoes lined up and clothes that were on the bed were folded. It was a walk in shower so the floor was wet after showering but it was clean & a good temperature. If we come again we will be staying here, Thank you

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, November 9, 2014
Dear Tasha W,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you liked our location and found the room comfortable and clean. We hope to see you again soon. Please let us know prior to your next visit so that we can make certain that you are booked to the room of your choice - returning guests are given top priority. Best regards, the Staff at the Hotel do Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Gerstekorrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Address: Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Gerstekorrel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for an excellent central location with friendly service and extras like breakfast in bed? Then choose Hotel de Gerstekorrel, where guests return year after year! Our 32 room hotel offers single rooms, 2 persons rooms, triple rooms as well as four persons rooms - come alone, with a friend, the whole family or a group of friends!Smoking rooms are available in the hotel by advance request. Hotel de Gerstekorrel is a popular and modern hotel close to the famous Dam Square, shopping streets such as De Kalverstraat, the canals, wonderful restaurants and unforgettable nightlife. Do you come for a concert in Ziggo Dome or Heineken music hall? Or want to see the Music Awards? Interested in football stadium Arena, Ajax? Stay with us and you easily reach all these places by public transportation.The famous Amsterdam museums - newly opened Stedelijk Museum and new Rijksmuseum, Hermitage, Van Gogh and several other museums and art galleries are also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Hotel De Gerstekorrel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Gerstekorrel Hotel
De Gerstekorrel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Gerstekorrel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.