We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Save Saved
You added Hotel De Gerstekorrel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #186 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Espoo, Finland
1 review
“Nice hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in April and were very satisfied with the location. Easy access everywhere. Small hotel with very friendly staff. No elevators. Bathrooms new and clean. Ja jos olet suomalainen, asiointi on todella helppoa, koska miltei koko henkilökunta on suomalaista.

Room Tip: We stayed at the top floor and it was very quiet with a nice view over the roofs of Amsterdam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    85
    70
    26
    16
See reviews for
21
92
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Lakes
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights last week. It's in a great location and was everything we needed - central, clean and tidy, breakfast provided, late check-out and able to store our luggage on our last day. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room and bathroom were spotless. We were at the front of the hotel but, despite it being on a very busy street, it was quiet (we were 3 floors up!) and the beds were really comfy. 2 things to note - no lift and the stairs are quite steep, so don't book if you've mobility issues and 2, its very easy to miss, so look out for it! (Tip: turn left out of the hotel, then 1st left again - there's a restaurant called Van Kerkwijk - you can't book and there's no menu on display but the food is fabulous, the atmosphere lovely and its all very reasonable. You've got to go for a meal - you won't be disappointed!)

Room Tip: Ask which floor you're on - lots of stairs - no lift!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Tiny place, blink and you miss it. very basic, clean, awesome location, breakfast terrible, not worth paying for. not exactly cheap but I assume thats down to locaton. great bar just down the street called Louis bar.

Room Tip: we got the group room for the 3 of us. 4 beds and its blooming massive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Graham D:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you liked our central location and that you found the rooms clean and large enough for your family visit. I am pleased to inform you that we have made some improvements to our room service breakfast since your stay in 2013. Like most travel related services and accommodations our daily rates are competitive in relation to our location and the season. We hope that you will stay with us again. We ask that you let us know in advance as returning guests’ room preferences are given priority. Best regards, the staff at Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed here with some friends from work early july 2013, the location is perfect for all the main attractions in Amsterdam, but the rooms are a little out dated. the shower room also is tiny and the rooms defiantly need decorating, for the two stars you really cant complain about much but there are a few things that they can improve on here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Patrick L.:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are happy to inform you that since your stay with us in July 2013 we have renovated the bathrooms, installed new carpeting and all rooms are now freshly painted. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time you visit Amsterdam so that you can enjoy our newly updated hotel with the same great location and value that you enjoyed before. Email us directly for your next reservation as returning guests are given priority in their room choice preferences. Best regards, the staff at Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Me and my Mum stayed here for 3 nights on a mini-cruise from Newcastle and we loved it! It's not luxurious but it's in an excellent location and our room was nice. It was quite warm due to the restaurant below but we didn't hear any noise or any cooking smells. We had breakfast on a tray in our room everyday and the room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Beckstarkitty:
Thank you for writing such a nice review of our hotel. We really appreciate the positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you found the hotel to be in an excellent location and that you found the room comfortable and enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit with us. Don’t forget to contact us in advance so that we can be sure that your room preferences are given top priority! Best regards, the staff at Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Gerstekorrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Address: Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Gerstekorrel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for an excellent central location with friendly service and extras like breakfast in bed? Then choose Hotel de Gerstekorrel, where guests return year after year! Our 32 room hotel offers single rooms, 2 persons rooms, triple rooms as well as four persons rooms - come alone, with a friend, the whole family or a group of friends!Smoking rooms are available in the hotel by advance request. Hotel de Gerstekorrel is a popular and modern hotel close to the famous Dam Square, shopping streets such as De Kalverstraat, the canals, wonderful restaurants and unforgettable nightlife. Do you come for a concert in Ziggo Dome or Heineken music hall? Or want to see the Music Awards? Interested in football stadium Arena, Ajax? Stay with us and you easily reach all these places by public transportation.The famous Amsterdam museums - newly opened Stedelijk Museum and new Rijksmuseum, Hermitage, Van Gogh and several other museums and art galleries are also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel De Gerstekorrel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Gerstekorrel Hotel
De Gerstekorrel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Gerstekorrel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.