We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Gerstekorrel to your Saves list
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #215 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
South Lakes
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Short break in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights last week. It's in a great location and was everything we needed - central, clean and tidy, breakfast provided, late check-out and able to store our luggage on our last day. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room and bathroom were spotless. We were at the front of the hotel but, despite it being on a very busy street, it was quiet (we were 3 floors up!) and the beds were really comfy. 2 things to note - no lift and the stairs are quite steep, so don't book if you've mobility issues and 2, its very easy to miss, so look out for it! (Tip: turn left out of the hotel, then 1st left again - there's a restaurant called Van Kerkwijk - you can't book and there's no menu on display but the food is fabulous, the atmosphere lovely and its all very reasonable. You've got to go for a meal - you won't be disappointed!)

Room Tip: Ask which floor you're on - lots of stairs - no lift!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamSouthLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Tiny place, blink and you miss it. very basic, clean, awesome location, breakfast terrible, not worth paying for. not exactly cheap but I assume thats down to locaton. great bar just down the street called Louis bar.

Room Tip: we got the group room for the 3 of us. 4 beds and its blooming massive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Graham D:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. We are happy to hear that you liked our central location and that you found the rooms clean and large enough for your family visit. I am pleased to inform you that we have made some improvements to our room service breakfast since your stay in 2013. Like most travel related services and accommodations our daily rates are competitive in relation to our location and the season. We hope that you will stay with us again. We ask that you let us know in advance as returning guests’ room preferences are given priority. Best regards, the staff at Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed here with some friends from work early july 2013, the location is perfect for all the main attractions in Amsterdam, but the rooms are a little out dated. the shower room also is tiny and the rooms defiantly need decorating, for the two stars you really cant complain about much but there are a few things that they can improve on here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Patrick L.:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are happy to inform you that since your stay with us in July 2013 we have renovated the bathrooms, installed new carpeting and all rooms are now freshly painted. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time you visit Amsterdam so that you can enjoy our newly updated hotel with the same great location and value that you enjoyed before. Email us directly for your next reservation as returning guests are given priority in their room choice preferences. Best regards, the staff at Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Me and my Mum stayed here for 3 nights on a mini-cruise from Newcastle and we loved it! It's not luxurious but it's in an excellent location and our room was nice. It was quite warm due to the restaurant below but we didn't hear any noise or any cooking smells. We had breakfast on a tray in our room everyday and the room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beckstarkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Beckstarkitty:
Thank you for writing such a nice review of our hotel. We really appreciate the positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you found the hotel to be in an excellent location and that you found the room comfortable and enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit with us. Don’t forget to contact us in advance so that we can be sure that your room preferences are given top priority! Best regards, the staff at Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Rooms are not exactly cheap (270 euros for two nights) with breakfast.. But the location is ideal to roam around the city at anytime. Walking can take its toll in Amsterdam and you need a place quite central to spend the night then this hotel is ideal. Rooms are small but clean, 24 hour reception and plenty of different choices if you want to eat out (walking distance) Overall a pleasant stay..

Room Tip: Try to book the double room with single occupancy even if travelling alone... No lift, so ask for so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hussain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Hussain M
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It is nice to hear that you liked the central location, the 24-hour reception and that you found our hotel clean and comfortable. We hope you will visit with us again and please be sure to contact us in advance so that we can give your room preference top priority. Best regards, the staff at the Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
Doria Hotel Amsterdam
#208 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 664 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#141 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,772 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#119 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 889 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#152 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 971 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Collection Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Gerstekorrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Address: Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Gerstekorrel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for an excellent central location with friendly service and extras like breakfast in bed? Then choose Hotel de Gerstekorrel, where guests return year after year! Our 32 room hotel offers single rooms, 2 persons rooms, triple rooms as well as four persons rooms - come alone, with a friend, the whole family or a group of friends!Smoking rooms are available in the hotel by advance request. Hotel de Gerstekorrel is a popular and modern hotel close to the famous Dam Square, shopping streets such as De Kalverstraat, the canals, wonderful restaurants and unforgettable nightlife. Do you come for a concert in Ziggo Dome or Heineken music hall? Or want to see the Music Awards? Interested in football stadium Arena, Ajax? Stay with us and you easily reach all these places by public transportation.The famous Amsterdam museums - newly opened Stedelijk Museum and new Rijksmuseum, Hermitage, Van Gogh and several other museums and art galleries are also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel De Gerstekorrel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Gerstekorrel Hotel
De Gerstekorrel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing