We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent location, but rooms are outdated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Save Saved
You added Hotel De Gerstekorrel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #171 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Decent location, but rooms are outdated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed here with some friends from work early july 2013, the location is perfect for all the main attractions in Amsterdam, but the rooms are a little out dated. the shower room also is tiny and the rooms defiantly need decorating, for the two stars you really cant complain about much but there are a few things that they can improve on here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Patrick L.:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are happy to inform you that since your stay with us in July 2013 we have renovated the bathrooms, installed new carpeting and all rooms are now freshly painted. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time you visit Amsterdam so that you can enjoy our newly updated hotel with the same great location and value that you enjoyed before. Email us directly for your next reservation as returning guests are given priority in their room choice preferences. Best regards, the staff at Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    86
    71
    26
    16
See reviews for
22
95
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redcar, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Me and my Mum stayed here for 3 nights on a mini-cruise from Newcastle and we loved it! It's not luxurious but it's in an excellent location and our room was nice. It was quite warm due to the restaurant below but we didn't hear any noise or any cooking smells. We had breakfast on a tray in our room everyday and the room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Beckstarkitty:
Thank you for writing such a nice review of our hotel. We really appreciate the positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you found the hotel to be in an excellent location and that you found the room comfortable and enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit with us. Don’t forget to contact us in advance so that we can be sure that your room preferences are given top priority! Best regards, the staff at Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Rooms are not exactly cheap (270 euros for two nights) with breakfast.. But the location is ideal to roam around the city at anytime. Walking can take its toll in Amsterdam and you need a place quite central to spend the night then this hotel is ideal. Rooms are small but clean, 24 hour reception and plenty of different choices if you want to eat out (walking distance) Overall a pleasant stay..

Room Tip: Try to book the double room with single occupancy even if travelling alone... No lift, so ask for so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Hussain M
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It is nice to hear that you liked the central location, the 24-hour reception and that you found our hotel clean and comfortable. We hope you will visit with us again and please be sure to contact us in advance so that we can give your room preference top priority. Best regards, the staff at the Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel once you've found it, is on top of everything you need for a good stay in Dam.
You get what you pay for, receptionists are ok, polite and happy.
Good points:
- perfect location
- secure and easily accessible
- receptionists helpful
- free wifi which was good value (can't watch netflix or anything though)
- bed made and clean towels everyday

Bad points:
- there were building works next door when we went, this kept us awake and woke us up at 7am every morning we were there so was very annoyed, this may be due to requesting a smoking room which is in a different building 3 doors down.
- staircase was a nightmare.. No lifts or help etc. (This is typical of Amsterdam though)

If you're looking for a place to lay your head for the night and not for luxury then his could be your place.....

Room Tip: It's really worth getting the 'Holland Pass' such good value and saves you a LOT of mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Jodesxx:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also pleased to report that the renovation work on the building behind ours is now finished.
We hope to see you again soon! Remember that returning guest’s room preferences are given top priority so please be sure to contact us for your next reservation. Best regards, the staff at the Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Its a bit difficult to find this hotel. With a little sign board in blue. Check in was easy and fast but the hotel do not have a lift. Please take note if you have difficulties climbing stairs or having big luggage. Room is small, toilet is even smaller than we thought. But it actually perfect or short stay and you can expect tidy and clean room with tv and heater. Bed are soft with good linen.
Location is good with 10min walk to Amsterdam central and near to madame tussauds. There are restaurants around this hotel. Hotels surrounding are safe too. Oh yeah, wifi is also available and fast.

Room Tip: if you have problem climbing the stairs, do inform the receptionist during your booking as this hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Bai_lao-su:
Thank you for your kind review! We hope that you will visit with us again soon. Be sure to contact us in advance so that we can make certain that your room preference is given top priority. Best regards, the staff at the Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louth
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nites and loved every minute of it. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. We got smoking room which seems to be hard to find in amsterdam. The location cant get much better its just off Dam Square and a 5 min walk to centeral station. This will be the first hotel i price on my next trip to Amsterdam. Great Find.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Sparmac:
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your room. It is true that smoking rooms are becoming more difficult to find in the city. We are glad that we are still able to accommodate smokers. We hope that you will stay with us again soon. Be sure to let us know in advance as we have only a limited number of smoking rooms. Best regards, the staff at the Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

This hotel is very easy to get to from the train station and is in a great location. Rooms (especially bathrooms) are small but you will pay less than other hotels in Amsterdam anyhow, plus get free WiFi. The hotel staff is friendly and checking in and out was very fast and easy.

If a free breakfast is something you are looking for, it is not included here but there a ton of places nearby to eat (and cafes for coffee as well). There is no elevator here but it did not give us much of a problem. The walls are quite thin though, and you can here people coming and going a lot, but otherwise the outside noise did not interfere with sleeping. My only concern was that the room smelled slightly musty and the carpets (particularly in the corners of the room) were dirty. Otherwise, if you are traveling in Amsterdam for just a night or two, and don't plan on spending a bunch of time in your room, this is a good place to stay.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage perhaps try to get a room on the lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear STrojan:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We appreciate your recommending us based on our reasonable price for an excellent central location with free WIFI. We are also happy to hear that you liked the easy check in and check out of the hotel and the friendliness of the staff. We are pleased to inform you that this winter we will be renovating rooms with new carpet and bathrooms. We hope that you will stay with us again the next time you are in Amsterdam. Let us know in advance so that we can see to it that your room preferences are given top priority as a returning guest. Best regards, the staff at the Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Gerstekorrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Address: Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Gerstekorrel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for an excellent central location with friendly service and extras like breakfast in bed? Then choose Hotel de Gerstekorrel, where guests return year after year! Our 32 room hotel offers single rooms, 2 persons rooms, triple rooms as well as four persons rooms - come alone, with a friend, the whole family or a group of friends!Smoking rooms are available in the hotel by advance request. Hotel de Gerstekorrel is a popular and modern hotel close to the famous Dam Square, shopping streets such as De Kalverstraat, the canals, wonderful restaurants and unforgettable nightlife. Do you come for a concert in Ziggo Dome or Heineken music hall? Or want to see the Music Awards? Interested in football stadium Arena, Ajax? Stay with us and you easily reach all these places by public transportation.The famous Amsterdam museums - newly opened Stedelijk Museum and new Rijksmuseum, Hermitage, Van Gogh and several other museums and art galleries are also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel De Gerstekorrel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Gerstekorrel Hotel
De Gerstekorrel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Gerstekorrel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.