We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay. Disaster end due to bed bug bites” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Gerstekorrel to your Saves list
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #168 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great stay. Disaster end due to bed bug bites”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Me and my two friends really enjoyed the stay here, I would of gave a higher score but the last day we all came out in red stops my mate had a squashed dead bed bug beside one of her bites. At the time we thought they was only mosquito bites but then when we got back home our bodies had been infested with bed bug bites. So I suggest room 21 gets a proper clean out. And if it was bed bug free I would go back.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Demsb:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. With allegations as serious as this, we hope that the guest would either inform the front desk during their stay or immediately inform us directly upon arrival home. We would like to assure you that we are taking your complaint seriously. We have the appropriate professionals investigating this matter further. Should such a problem be confirmed it will be handled by the appropriate professionals until it is fully resolved before we allow other guests in the room. We thank you for your information and hope you will stay with us again! Best regards, the staff at the Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    96
    77
    26
    18
See reviews for
23
103
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, United States
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

stayed there many many years. real friendly staff. i've been coming back since 2007. i've became good friend with the management (Timo & Lisa).
nice location in dam square, near Amsterdam central station, flower market and flea market. lots of cafe's, resturants and coffee shops nearby.
prices are fair for such a prime location in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: friendly staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Aziz S:
Thank you for your glowing review of our hotel! We are happy that you appreciate the central location of our hotel and its proximity to all of the sites and attractions of Amsterdam. Our entire staff takes great pride in their work in hospitality and customers like YOU make it so much more fun and rewarding. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Amsterdam! Best regards, the Staff at the Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Brilliant little hotel, rooms are small but its fine for 2 people. Smoking room was a good idea, and would ask for room 57 again. 2 negative things the stairs were a nightmare ( for the mrs) and wifi dropped in and out. But overall very very happy with the hotel for overall price cleaness and excellent mannor of the staff. Will definatly come back !

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Bullen13:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and glad that we were able to offer you a smoking room. We are also pleased to inform you that we have resolved the WIFI situation and the signal is strong in all of the rooms now. Please contact us directly the next time you are planning on visiting Amsterdam - as a returning guest we can see to it that your room preferences are given top priority. We look forward to seeing you soon! Best regards, the Staff at the Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel was absolutely filthy. There was no hot water, there was no soap, there were no towels, there were dishes left by previous occupants and the room was filthy. The stairs were steep and narrow and the wifi barely reaches the top floor. I arrived late because of Tuesday's storm, lost my reservation elsewhere and was fooled by the rather fancy door of the Hotel der Gerstekorrel. I didn't realise how bad it was until the morning. The receptionist said that the hot water was being repaired but she didn't seem to believe any of my other complaints and refused to look at the pictures I had taken. If I didn't have a Dutch dictionary I would think that Gerstekorrel meant 'germs" or 'bacteria". My picture of the most exposed corner of the room shows the levels of hygiene in this establishment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Daniel B,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are sorry to hear that the hotel you originally booked did not have your room available when you arrived late in the night. It seems that the same storm that made you late for your original hotel also knocked the power out in one of our buildings preventing you from having hot water. Fortunately we were able to get that repaired early the same day. All guests affected by the outage were offered hot showers in our main building, which was not affected. We apologize that this offer was not acceptable to you.
We thank you for noticing our excellent location and giving us an excellent mark there. However this central location also means the classic narrow architecture, which can include a steep staircase such as the staircase you photographed in our annex building. Many of our guests find this to be charming, as it is indicative of the authentic Amsterdam World Heritage Site.
We do supply towels and soap to all of the rooms. We are not certain why you were unable to locate these items, as we were able to confirm that these items were in your room during your stay. It is unfortunate that the breakfast tray was left in your room and we do apologize for the mistake in housekeeping. Although it is unacceptable we are fairly certain that given the intensity and danger of the windstorm earlier in that same day our housekeepers were a bit rattled by it is as well and this resulted in the unfortunate mistake. The extreme close up photo that you have taken of one of the corners of the room shows a bit of insulation from a recent repair to the wall and that has now been completed. We apologize that you were in the room prior to the repair being painted.
If you do decide to visit Amsterdam again we hope that the weather is more cooperative. We also hope you will give us another try, and if you do, we kindly ask that you contact us directly as all of our returning guests are given priority in their room type preference. Best regards, the staff at the Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUNDEE
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Two of us stayed for two nights a couple of years ago.
The location is perfect, tucked just off the focal point of Dam Square.
The room was fine and good value.
What made me decide not to stay there again was the fact that we are, regrettably ,smokers.
When I asked the lady on reception if there was any enclosed (garden) area for smoking, she said no, and that there was a big fine if we smoked in the room.
Just checked friend's memory and he says "We were treated like pariahs".
I do recall the receptionist behaving almost gleefully that we had dared to even ask about a smoking area.It was quite offensive and a dismal start to our stay.
So, it was a trek up and down the steep stairs, to go outside .
There was no awning to shelter under if it was raining, and you were jostled by the teeming crowds of grazing bands of tourists.These memories have stayed with me, and I was surprised to see that apparently there ARE some smoking rooms.The GERSTEKORREL is now featured on Smokers-United .com as a smoker friendly hotel !!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Mike P: Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Thank you for the excellent marks on our location and letting us know that the rooms were satisfactory and clean. As you mentioned it has been a few years since you stayed with us so it is difficult for us to know what the circumstances were with your particular reservation and why you were not reserved to a smoking room. However we are happy to tell you that we do have smoking rooms at the hotel! Since we have a limited number of smoking rooms we ask that guests let us know at time of booking their reservation that they would prefer a smoking room. Guests who book directly with us are given priority, then it is in order of request received. If we cannot book a smoker to a smoking room we follow up with an email well in advance of the reservation to let the guest know. We do hope that you will give our hotel another try and email us in advance to let us know that you have stayed with us before and would like a smoking room so that we can be certain you are given your room preference. Best regards, the staff at Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We are from Finland and stayed at this hotel. It was very easy because almost everyone there speaks finnish.
The hotel is comfortable and the staff is super-friendly. The central location is really ideal. The rooms are nice and
the beds very good. The room service breakfast was also very good, and the wifi was free and the connection good.
If I ever need a hotel again in Amsterdam, I will stay at De Gerstekorrel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Kiitos (Thank you) for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you soon! Don’t forget to contact us directly to see if you are eligible for any discounts and of course so that we can make certain you are booked to the room of your choice. Best regards, the staff at the Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Rooms were smelly, and there were a lot of noise. Staff was firendly though. I will not pick them next time but it wont hurt to stay in here. There for a business trip but definitely wont pick it again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Balbocegi: Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We greatly appreciate your compliments to the reception staff. Our receptionists enjoy making the guests feel welcome and hope to make each guests visit a pleasant one. We appreciate it when our guests come directly to reception to inform us if there is an issue with their room so that we can remedy the situation at once, if possible. This valuable feedback also gives us the information we need to make improvements for future visitors. We do wish that you had informed us while you were staying with us, as we may have been able to correct your particular situation. We hope that you will give our hotel another try if you return to Amsterdam and that you will let us know via email directly as there may be discounts available to you on your next visit. Best regards, The Staff at Hotel de Gerstekorrel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Gerstekorrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Address: Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Gerstekorrel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for an excellent central location with friendly service and extras like breakfast in bed? Then choose Hotel de Gerstekorrel, where guests return year after year! Our 32 room hotel offers single rooms, 2 persons rooms, triple rooms as well as four persons rooms - come alone, with a friend, the whole family or a group of friends!Smoking rooms are available in the hotel by advance request. Hotel de Gerstekorrel is a popular and modern hotel close to the famous Dam Square, shopping streets such as De Kalverstraat, the canals, wonderful restaurants and unforgettable nightlife. Do you come for a concert in Ziggo Dome or Heineken music hall? Or want to see the Music Awards? Interested in football stadium Arena, Ajax? Stay with us and you easily reach all these places by public transportation.The famous Amsterdam museums - newly opened Stedelijk Museum and new Rijksmuseum, Hermitage, Van Gogh and several other museums and art galleries are also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel De Gerstekorrel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Gerstekorrel Hotel
De Gerstekorrel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Gerstekorrel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.