We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I know where i am staying next time!!! Right here!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Gerstekorrel to your Saves list
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #170 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I know where i am staying next time!!! Right here!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Brilliant little hotel, rooms are small but its fine for 2 people. Smoking room was a good idea, and would ask for room 57 again. 2 negative things the stairs were a nightmare ( for the mrs) and wifi dropped in and out. But overall very very happy with the hotel for overall price cleaness and excellent mannor of the staff. Will definatly come back !

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Bullen13:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and glad that we were able to offer you a smoking room. We are also pleased to inform you that we have resolved the WIFI situation and the signal is strong in all of the rooms now. Please contact us directly the next time you are planning on visiting Amsterdam - as a returning guest we can see to it that your room preferences are given top priority. We look forward to seeing you soon! Best regards, the Staff at the Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    105
    82
    29
    19
See reviews for
31
110
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This hotel was absolutely filthy. There was no hot water, there was no soap, there were no towels, there were dishes left by previous occupants and the room was filthy. The stairs were steep and narrow and the wifi barely reaches the top floor. I arrived late because of Tuesday's storm, lost my reservation elsewhere and was fooled by the rather fancy door of the Hotel der Gerstekorrel. I didn't realise how bad it was until the morning. The receptionist said that the hot water was being repaired but she didn't seem to believe any of my other complaints and refused to look at the pictures I had taken. If I didn't have a Dutch dictionary I would think that Gerstekorrel meant 'germs" or 'bacteria". My picture of the most exposed corner of the room shows the levels of hygiene in this establishment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Daniel B,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are sorry to hear that the hotel you originally booked did not have your room available when you arrived late in the night. It seems that the same storm that made you late for your original hotel also knocked the power out in one of our buildings preventing you from having hot water. Fortunately we were able to get that repaired early the same day. All guests affected by the outage were offered hot showers in our main building, which was not affected. We apologize that this offer was not acceptable to you.
We thank you for noticing our excellent location and giving us an excellent mark there. However this central location also means the classic narrow architecture, which can include a steep staircase such as the staircase you photographed in our annex building. Many of our guests find this to be charming, as it is indicative of the authentic Amsterdam World Heritage Site.
We do supply towels and soap to all of the rooms. We are not certain why you were unable to locate these items, as we were able to confirm that these items were in your room during your stay. It is unfortunate that the breakfast tray was left in your room and we do apologize for the mistake in housekeeping. Although it is unacceptable we are fairly certain that given the intensity and danger of the windstorm earlier in that same day our housekeepers were a bit rattled by it is as well and this resulted in the unfortunate mistake. The extreme close up photo that you have taken of one of the corners of the room shows a bit of insulation from a recent repair to the wall and that has now been completed. We apologize that you were in the room prior to the repair being painted.
If you do decide to visit Amsterdam again we hope that the weather is more cooperative. We also hope you will give us another try, and if you do, we kindly ask that you contact us directly as all of our returning guests are given priority in their room type preference. Best regards, the staff at the Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUNDEE
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Two of us stayed for two nights a couple of years ago.
The location is perfect, tucked just off the focal point of Dam Square.
The room was fine and good value.
What made me decide not to stay there again was the fact that we are, regrettably ,smokers.
When I asked the lady on reception if there was any enclosed (garden) area for smoking, she said no, and that there was a big fine if we smoked in the room.
Just checked friend's memory and he says "We were treated like pariahs".
I do recall the receptionist behaving almost gleefully that we had dared to even ask about a smoking area.It was quite offensive and a dismal start to our stay.
So, it was a trek up and down the steep stairs, to go outside .
There was no awning to shelter under if it was raining, and you were jostled by the teeming crowds of grazing bands of tourists.These memories have stayed with me, and I was surprised to see that apparently there ARE some smoking rooms.The GERSTEKORREL is now featured on Smokers-United .com as a smoker friendly hotel !!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Mike P: Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Thank you for the excellent marks on our location and letting us know that the rooms were satisfactory and clean. As you mentioned it has been a few years since you stayed with us so it is difficult for us to know what the circumstances were with your particular reservation and why you were not reserved to a smoking room. However we are happy to tell you that we do have smoking rooms at the hotel! Since we have a limited number of smoking rooms we ask that guests let us know at time of booking their reservation that they would prefer a smoking room. Guests who book directly with us are given priority, then it is in order of request received. If we cannot book a smoker to a smoking room we follow up with an email well in advance of the reservation to let the guest know. We do hope that you will give our hotel another try and email us in advance to let us know that you have stayed with us before and would like a smoking room so that we can be certain you are given your room preference. Best regards, the staff at Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Southern Finland, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We are from Finland and stayed at this hotel. It was very easy because almost everyone there speaks finnish.
The hotel is comfortable and the staff is super-friendly. The central location is really ideal. The rooms are nice and
the beds very good. The room service breakfast was also very good, and the wifi was free and the connection good.
If I ever need a hotel again in Amsterdam, I will stay at De Gerstekorrel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Kiitos (Thank you) for taking the time to review our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you soon! Don’t forget to contact us directly to see if you are eligible for any discounts and of course so that we can make certain you are booked to the room of your choice. Best regards, the staff at the Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Rooms were smelly, and there were a lot of noise. Staff was firendly though. I will not pick them next time but it wont hurt to stay in here. There for a business trip but definitely wont pick it again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Balbocegi: Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We greatly appreciate your compliments to the reception staff. Our receptionists enjoy making the guests feel welcome and hope to make each guests visit a pleasant one. We appreciate it when our guests come directly to reception to inform us if there is an issue with their room so that we can remedy the situation at once, if possible. This valuable feedback also gives us the information we need to make improvements for future visitors. We do wish that you had informed us while you were staying with us, as we may have been able to correct your particular situation. We hope that you will give our hotel another try if you return to Amsterdam and that you will let us know via email directly as there may be discounts available to you on your next visit. Best regards, The Staff at Hotel de Gerstekorrel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

First of all I wanted to explain about the "VERY GOOD" review...it is only for the service at the reception and the ubication.
We pay €115 via internet for a double room. And don't forget that is a 2 star hotel.
The Hotel offers a WIFI that works fine, doesn't have a lift so you have to take the stairs!.
My room 22, it had an ok size, window and view to the main street, the bathroom was not good at all (had a noise air-extractor); in general had a not pleasant smell of humidity and when we were leaving we found an empty bar-glass under the bed (we stay two nights there!). We think that cleanness of the hotel really must get better...you can make it better even in a 2 stars hotel.
About the noise of the street, you wont hear anything once you close the window.
Obs. If you are traveling with low budget, it may be the one, but ask for a clean not smelly room please.
Hope this review can help you to decide.

Room Tip: Ask about the accommodation, and to see if is it possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Diego4U:
Thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel. We appreciate your recommendation based on the outstanding location of the hotel and the enthusiasm for customer service our reception staff has. We are happy to hear that you liked your room and the view. Whenever there is something amiss in the room such as an item left behind by a previous guest or a housekeeping issue, we always hope that our guest will bring it to our attention immediately so that we can remedy the situation right away. However your feedback here has also been helpful. We are pleased to announce that this winter we will be renovating all of our bathrooms! So goodbye noisy extractor fan! Since we will have made the upgrades we invite you to give us another try the next time you are visiting Amsterdam. Email us directly for your next reservation so that we can be certain that as a returning guest that your room preferences are given top priority and that you will receive any discounts available to you. Best regards, the staff at Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I was really disappointed with this hotel The day we arrived was very hot and there was no air con & only 1 narrow window could be opened. All we had to cool down was a small fan. The room is very basic. The bathroom was very small. We had a front room on the 2nd floor over the weekend & it was so noisy that we couldn't leave the window opened. I even had to use my ear plugs. There is no lift. Having said all that, the location was perfect and the staff were very helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Iiesarose:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are pleased to see that you were very happy with the location of our hotel and that our staff in reception was pleasant and helpful. As you noted, the advantage is that the hotel is central to all of the sites and attractions in Amsterdam. On the other hand, being so centrally located can also mean that during the height of summer the festivities can be a bit noisy. As you correctly recommended to readers of your review this can be remedied by having a room in the back of the hotel. We were not able to ascertain whether or not you made your discomfort known to the front desk but it does sometimes happen that when a guest arrives on a fully booked weekend there is no ability to move them to another room. It is for this reason that all special requests should be noted on the reservation itself as we always try to honor our guest’s requests for room preferences. As a two star hotel, our central location and classic Amsterdam architecture does have an influence on the size of our bathrooms. This summer was an unusually hot summer for the Netherlands. We are sorry that the noise prevented you from leaving the window open for cooler air during the night. We hope that you will visit us again. Let us know in advance for discounts and special offers that might apply and we can make certain that your family is located in the back side of the hotel where it is quieter so that even if you do arrive during a heat wave you will be able to open the windows all of the way for cooler air! Best regards, the staff at Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel De Gerstekorrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Address: Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Gerstekorrel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for an excellent central location with friendly service and extras like breakfast in bed? Then choose Hotel de Gerstekorrel, where guests return year after year! Our 32 room hotel offers single rooms, 2 persons rooms, triple rooms as well as four persons rooms - come alone, with a friend, the whole family or a group of friends!Smoking rooms are available in the hotel by advance request. Hotel de Gerstekorrel is a popular and modern hotel close to the famous Dam Square, shopping streets such as De Kalverstraat, the canals, wonderful restaurants and unforgettable nightlife. Do you come for a concert in Ziggo Dome or Heineken music hall? Or want to see the Music Awards? Interested in football stadium Arena, Ajax? Stay with us and you easily reach all these places by public transportation.The famous Amsterdam museums - newly opened Stedelijk Museum and new Rijksmuseum, Hermitage, Van Gogh and several other museums and art galleries are also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel De Gerstekorrel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Gerstekorrel Hotel
De Gerstekorrel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Gerstekorrel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.