We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ubication but you pay for it...low budget "2 stars"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Save Saved
You added Hotel De Gerstekorrel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #187 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good ubication but you pay for it...low budget "2 stars"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

First of all I wanted to explain about the "VERY GOOD" review...it is only for the service at the reception and the ubication.
We pay €115 via internet for a double room. And don't forget that is a 2 star hotel.
The Hotel offers a WIFI that works fine, doesn't have a lift so you have to take the stairs!.
My room 22, it had an ok size, window and view to the main street, the bathroom was not good at all (had a noise air-extractor); in general had a not pleasant smell of humidity and when we were leaving we found an empty bar-glass under the bed (we stay two nights there!). We think that cleanness of the hotel really must get better...you can make it better even in a 2 stars hotel.
About the noise of the street, you wont hear anything once you close the window.
Obs. If you are traveling with low budget, it may be the one, but ask for a clean not smelly room please.
Hope this review can help you to decide.

Room Tip: Ask about the accommodation, and to see if is it possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Diego4U:
Thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel. We appreciate your recommendation based on the outstanding location of the hotel and the enthusiasm for customer service our reception staff has. We are happy to hear that you liked your room and the view. Whenever there is something amiss in the room such as an item left behind by a previous guest or a housekeeping issue, we always hope that our guest will bring it to our attention immediately so that we can remedy the situation right away. However your feedback here has also been helpful. We are pleased to announce that this winter we will be renovating all of our bathrooms! So goodbye noisy extractor fan! Since we will have made the upgrades we invite you to give us another try the next time you are visiting Amsterdam. Email us directly for your next reservation so that we can be certain that as a returning guest that your room preferences are given top priority and that you will receive any discounts available to you. Best regards, the staff at Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    85
    70
    26
    16
See reviews for
21
92
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I was really disappointed with this hotel The day we arrived was very hot and there was no air con & only 1 narrow window could be opened. All we had to cool down was a small fan. The room is very basic. The bathroom was very small. We had a front room on the 2nd floor over the weekend & it was so noisy that we couldn't leave the window opened. I even had to use my ear plugs. There is no lift. Having said all that, the location was perfect and the staff were very helpful and pleasant.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Iiesarose:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are pleased to see that you were very happy with the location of our hotel and that our staff in reception was pleasant and helpful. As you noted, the advantage is that the hotel is central to all of the sites and attractions in Amsterdam. On the other hand, being so centrally located can also mean that during the height of summer the festivities can be a bit noisy. As you correctly recommended to readers of your review this can be remedied by having a room in the back of the hotel. We were not able to ascertain whether or not you made your discomfort known to the front desk but it does sometimes happen that when a guest arrives on a fully booked weekend there is no ability to move them to another room. It is for this reason that all special requests should be noted on the reservation itself as we always try to honor our guest’s requests for room preferences. As a two star hotel, our central location and classic Amsterdam architecture does have an influence on the size of our bathrooms. This summer was an unusually hot summer for the Netherlands. We are sorry that the noise prevented you from leaving the window open for cooler air during the night. We hope that you will visit us again. Let us know in advance for discounts and special offers that might apply and we can make certain that your family is located in the back side of the hotel where it is quieter so that even if you do arrive during a heat wave you will be able to open the windows all of the way for cooler air! Best regards, the staff at Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

So My first visit to the property was the summer of 1999 and went back there in Dec of 2001 with a friend.I usually stay here whenever I visit Amsterdam as quite frankly you can not beat the location.It is next door to a kebab place which is out of the world and a 10 minute walk from the station. The rooms are quite basic,you will get a good nights sleep.I was woken up one time at 1 am by the receptionist as they had some problems with my credit card and I was supposed to check out at 6 am.To make a long story short he got an earful but to his credit he did apologize. I remember in 1999 they had a small breakfast area where they served breakfast .During my last trip i noticed they do not have that any more..I would recommend it just for the location..It is just excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Ronnie1979:
Thank you for your review of our hotel. We are very happy to see that you love our central location and have visited with us a few times. We would like to apologize for the late night phone call from reception (especially with such an early checkout) regarding the problems with your credit card. Being so centrally located in an international city dictates that we are vigilant about details such as payment and or correct credit card details prior to a guest checking out. However, we are very sorry that you, as a returning guest, were inconvenienced with this policy. As you correctly noted we now have “room service” breakfast. We find that most customers like the added luxury of having breakfast delivered directly to their room at the time that the guest specifies. With the breakfast area and small buffet a lot of food went to waste as there was no way of knowing precisely how many people wanted breakfast and or would wake up in time to come down to the breakfast area. In order to help our environment and to conserve, room service breakfast has been our solution. We hope that you will continue to stay with us in future visits to Amsterdam and try our “breakfast in bed”. We promise that in your next visit we will have all of your credit card/payment details worked out long before you decide to go to sleep for the night. Let us know in advance of your next arrival to Amsterdam so that we can make certain that you get all discounts available to you as a returning customer and first room choice. Best regards, the staff at Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Was great for what we needed. Central location, very helpful and polite staff. Yes its not a 5 star luxury hotel but as somewhere to change and sleep it was perfect. Some of the reviews have been very unfair. Our room was immaculate and rather large. Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Graeme F:
Thank you for your kind review! We are happy to hear that you and your friends enjoyed Amsterdam to the fullest and that our central location helped with that. We hope that you will visit with us again soon and let us know in advance so that we can make certain you have the room you prefer and are privy to any special offers we may have. Best regards, the Staff at the Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Found this Hotel via Tripadvisor & certainly wasn't disappointed with my choice. It is situated fairly central & only 15 mins walk from the train station. It is located on a relatively busy street but the noise wasn't a problem. It was nice late in the evening to sit outside one of the pubs in the street just watching the world go by (under a heater!). The reception staff in the Hotel were very efficient & friendly. Our room (15) was a decent size & included a very small but functional shower & toilet room. The room was a little dated but clean & tidy which is what was important to me. From our Hotel we were able to walk to all the main attractions with plenty of restaurants & bars around about us too. If I ever go back to Amsterdam I would opt for this Hotel (unless I win the lottery!) as the location is excellent and it provides great value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Jingsabove:
Thanks so much for taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed "watching the world go by" on our cozy little block in the center of Amsterdam. We hope that even if you do win the lottery you will still stop by to say hello! If not, we hope that you will consider us your home away from home and book with us again soon. Returning guests' preferences are given top priority. Be certain to check with us before booking to see if discounts are available. Best regards, the Staff at Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

If you're staying in Amsterdam & want the perfect location then I highly recommend this hotel. It is based in busy city centre right beside dam square & the red light district. Myself & boyfriend stayed & got a double room....it was very clean with bathroom & the size was big enough. The bed was very comfy, for us anyway. The hotel is 2 separate buildings. breakfast has to be ordered & eaten in yor room as there isn't a dining area but this suited us fine as there are plenty of places to eat on your door step. If you're a smoker you can request a smoking room. Our room was at the back no 52 so didn't hear a thing from the busy street but brought ear plugs just incase as we did expect noise with this location. The staff are very friendly & polite & you can purchase/borrow items like hair dryers, toiletries etc in case you forget to bring your own. I read in a few of the reviews about the stairs being very steep.....this is to be expected as most buildings in Amsterdam have steep small stairs so it is unfair that some people mark this hotel down because of that.
We will be definitely staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Kerriann B:
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit with us. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our classic Amsterdam architecture and that your experience overall in Amsterdam was enjoyable. Let us know when you are planning to visit us again so that as a returning guest your room preferences can be given top priority! Hope to see you soon! Best regards from the Staff at Hotel de Gerstekorrel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Amsterdam is one of the most expensive European cities for lodging. From my own research, I had wanted to stay within the "Canal Ring," where it seemed as though most of the action/landmarks/museums were happening. This was the cheapest hotel that I could find that had a few favorable and not horrible reviews on TripAdvisor (although it was still $165/night).

The pros of this hotel:
-Very central location. Arriving and departing from the train station (Amsterdam Centraal), it was a 10-minute walk, which was very convenient.
-Five-minute walk to the Red Light District, shopping district and a variety of restaurants
-Very friendly and knowledgeable front desk staff who helped us navigate our way through the City
-Free WiFi

The cons of this hotel:
-As with many European hotels, the room fit two single beds, and there wasn't much room for maneuvering
-Tiny bathroom with a shower with a one inch ledge, so it frequently flooded the entire floor
-The room was very warm and musty
-I had a shirt stolen when the housekeepers cleaned my room. I am positive of this as I had just purchased the shirt and left it out, and when my room was cleaned, the shirt went missing. I reported this to the front desk, who assured me that the "housekeepers were trustworthy." I mentioned that maybe it had gotten mixed up with the towels or sheets, but my inquiry seemed to fall on deaf ears. This was very distressing to me, and changed my opinion of this hotel from an average/good experience, to a lesser one.

Overall, if I had to do it again (I am a 28-year-old female, who was traveling with my younger sister), I would have trusted my original instinct to stay outside of the Canal Ring, in the Museum Quarter, which is not only cheaper, but in my opinion, was near more attractions and closer to Leidseplein, which is the best area in Amsterdam for restaurants, nightlife and shopping.

Room Tip: There are no elevators--dragging your suitcase up three flights of stairs can be a challenge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Front Office Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Ms. Peachrayz:
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of our hotel and thank you for your compliments regarding our knowledgeable staff, very central location and competitive pricing. Our room and bathroom sizes are typical for what one would find in such a central location in a 2 star hotel in the heart of the center of Amsterdam.
We, the staff at the hotel clearly remember your case of the missing t-shirt and considerate it an unfortunate incident indeed. We are proud of our housekeeping personnel, as they are carefully screened and trained professionals. We have not had issues with theft or with items disappearing from rooms. All items left by a guest or found in the hotel are recorded and tracked on our hotel software system and kept in lost & found for quite a long period of time. This gives our guests ample time to contact us and reclaim the item. The morning after you made the inquiry regarding your t-shirt to our reception we had the housekeepers do a thorough search of all outgoing laundry but unfortunately, the t-shirt did not turn up. Possibly we did not do a good enough job at communicating to you how concerned we were or how thoroughly we searched, hence your feeling that your loss “fell on deaf ears” and for that we do apologize.
Though we understand that you like the Leidseplein area, should you decide to stay in the Dam Square area again we would be happy to welcome you back to the hotel!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Gerstekorrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Address: Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Gerstekorrel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for an excellent central location with friendly service and extras like breakfast in bed? Then choose Hotel de Gerstekorrel, where guests return year after year! Our 32 room hotel offers single rooms, 2 persons rooms, triple rooms as well as four persons rooms - come alone, with a friend, the whole family or a group of friends!Smoking rooms are available in the hotel by advance request. Hotel de Gerstekorrel is a popular and modern hotel close to the famous Dam Square, shopping streets such as De Kalverstraat, the canals, wonderful restaurants and unforgettable nightlife. Do you come for a concert in Ziggo Dome or Heineken music hall? Or want to see the Music Awards? Interested in football stadium Arena, Ajax? Stay with us and you easily reach all these places by public transportation.The famous Amsterdam museums - newly opened Stedelijk Museum and new Rijksmuseum, Hermitage, Van Gogh and several other museums and art galleries are also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel De Gerstekorrel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Gerstekorrel Hotel
De Gerstekorrel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Gerstekorrel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.