We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not trust their web site and the pictures” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Save Saved
You added Hotel De Gerstekorrel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #171 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Do not trust their web site and the pictures”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Do not believe their website a second!! This place would have been OK for my 18 year old son bag-backing and stopping in Amsterdam for a night or two. Our Medical conference at the RAI center recommended this terrible place for us at 150 euros a night... unbelievable!! I would have may be paid $80 for such a place but no more. Four floors, no elevator and extremely stiff to not say dangerous stair cases. The day before the check-out, we've been told that the check-out time was 10:30am... that was the icing on the cake!!! I've been traveling everywhere in the world and have never see this... why not 8am!!
The good news is that I'm a good sleeper, otherwise do not forget your ear plugs... The location being more than animated and the building windows having no insolation of any sort...
No breakfast room, you must have your breakfast in your room, no choice... Not talking about the breakfast itself. No choice, a slice of Dutch cheese and a piece of bread visible heated-up in a microwave.
But the worst is probably the cleanness of the place. I took a few pictures that I attached to this review.
Finally the Internet is Free, hopefully free because extremely lousy!!!
AVOID THIS PLACE!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerstekorrel_De, Manager at Hotel De Gerstekorrel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review.

I am really sorry that you did not like your stay by us. The customer satisfaction is very important to us and we try to do our best to satisfy all the needs of our clients.

We are located in the city center and like in all the hotels in the center it can be noicy. However we also have some rooms on the backside and perhaps we could have moved you there. Did you mention about the noice at the reception?
For the breakfast we have three choices and indeed we do serve it up to the room, which make lot of our clients very happy. You mentioned that the bread is heated up in the micro but we actually bake it here.
The size of the room is actually very normal size of a two star hotel in Amsterdam city center but I don't know actually if the rooms are much bigger in four - or five star hotels in Amsterdam.
All the two star hotels in Amsterdam are actually without an elevator.

Regarding the cleaning I hope that you would have mentioned about it during your stay. We clean the rooms daily and if there are any problems or requests, we of course coem to clean again.
Hotel wants to provide the customers extra pillows and blankets, but of course to provide more space in the room, we can move those extras.

Like I said the customer satisfaction is very important to us and we do our best to meet the wishes that our clients have. Even being a two star, we are very much liked among to our business clients as well.
I hope that we would be able to accommodate you again in our hotel and hopefully then your stay would be much more pleasant.

With best regards, the management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    86
    71
    26
    16
See reviews for
22
95
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

It was an ok hotel. Well placed in central Amsterdam, not far from the main station. My only gripe was being asked to pay a 50 euro deposit for my room. No mention of this at the time of booking so if you don't have the 50 euros, you're in trouble. That's a rotten way to do business.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Excellent location for all main attractions. Hotel basic & clean but room very small and as we were on 3rd floor with no lift the steep stairs were a bit of a challenge. Reception staff were very helpful and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for four nights over a long weekend just there, went with 3 friends and we had a quadruple occupancy room on the 1st Floor, non-smoking. The check-in went fine, had to pay city tax of nearly 50 euros but would have had to do this anywhere. However, we were charged a 100 euro deposit for the room, which we did get back at the end but just watch out for this!

The hotel staff were very friendly and professonial, 24 hour access and they keep your room key at reception for safe keeping while you are out. The room was very clean, well laid out with the four beds, and overlooked the street outside which could be noisy at times but this is because you are right in the heart of Amsterdam, down the street from the Royal Palace. The area is very central - plenty of places for food / drink / smoking and other forms of entertainment (red light district is right around the corner).

We also had a friend staying nearby and the hotel were very kind to let us all chill out in the room together, having a few beers etc. Overall, a brilliant experience from start to finish, cannot fault this hotel at all for the price and would most definitely be staying here again in the very near future!

Room Tip: First floor rooms may be a bit noisy for families, due to the street below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

This really is the perfect low cost hotel in Amsterdam. It has everything you want especially if you are only in town for a few days. Excellent location allows you to explore everything Amsterdam has to offer within easy walking distance and the friendly reception (which is 24 hour) is helpful with anything else you need. After a busy day of enjoying amsterdamish activities the beds are super comfy and later checkout means everything is at your leisure. The rooms themselves are well appointed and over the three separate occasions that I have stayed here it has been quieter than expected in the evenings. Overall a wonderful hotel

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

1 minute walk from Dam square, it cannot be more central. The room was perfectly clean, the bed was comfy and front desk people was friendly. PERFECT for the price I've paid! I recommend this hotel for everyone who doesn't wanna pay much but still be in a very clean place in central Amsterdam.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I had a single room on the first floor facing the road and it was very neat and well kept. As it was facing the road at times it was a little noisy because it is a very busy street but the noise wasn't bad. You're definitely in the heart of Amsterdam and can walk just about anywhere or ride a bike if you are brave :) Room was small but had everything I needed, I haven't been to too many European hotels but from what I've seen most houses and hotels in Europe are on the smaller side and are more necessity than luxury, especially when in a busy area and at the right price. No complaints here, the staff was great and the hotel is centrally located to everything I wanted to see. Would definitely stay here again if I ever go back. Thumbs up!!!

Room Tip: Maybe stay away from the road side of the hotel for a quieter experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Gerstekorrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Address: Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Gerstekorrel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for an excellent central location with friendly service and extras like breakfast in bed? Then choose Hotel de Gerstekorrel, where guests return year after year! Our 32 room hotel offers single rooms, 2 persons rooms, triple rooms as well as four persons rooms - come alone, with a friend, the whole family or a group of friends!Smoking rooms are available in the hotel by advance request. Hotel de Gerstekorrel is a popular and modern hotel close to the famous Dam Square, shopping streets such as De Kalverstraat, the canals, wonderful restaurants and unforgettable nightlife. Do you come for a concert in Ziggo Dome or Heineken music hall? Or want to see the Music Awards? Interested in football stadium Arena, Ajax? Stay with us and you easily reach all these places by public transportation.The famous Amsterdam museums - newly opened Stedelijk Museum and new Rijksmuseum, Hermitage, Van Gogh and several other museums and art galleries are also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel De Gerstekorrel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Gerstekorrel Hotel
De Gerstekorrel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Gerstekorrel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.