We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value for money. And Top Location!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Gerstekorrel to your Saves list
Hotel De Gerstekorrel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #163 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Value for money. And Top Location!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

November 2012
5th time in Amsterdam. Party of 3.
Clean tidy room. Helpful friendly staff.
By far the best value for money hotel i've stayed in in Amsterdam.
Highly recommended.
Seconds away from Dam Square. Close to RLD & Rembrandt Square too.

Room Tip: Be specific before you arrive!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    102
    81
    28
    19
See reviews for
31
110
22
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Freeport, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Room was very small with double bed, no space for bags. My flight arrived early and requested early check in. Staff made it happen but had to wait outside since they do not have a lobby. All shops and resturants were closed since it was 6am. Had to walk out in cold and make up time to check in at 11am. Location was perfect, not happy about walking up two floors with bags. Room looks nothing like picture, its actually old, bed was old.

Room Tip: always check if lobby and lift is available in hotel before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Nothing bad to say everything was good/great very central, ccomfortable beds, helpful reception staff, quiet inside concidering it's busy location, only about 10mins walk from central station, hot shower

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

the location of the hotel is superb, the staff were warm, helpfull & kind. even though the rooms are very small, the room is clean, very comfortable bed ,we will gladly stay there again . We mostly appreciate Lisa and all the other staff members for their hospitalitty and wiiling ness to solve problems on the spot .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed here last weekend, saturday-tuesday. We didn't have very high hopes for this place as it was super cheap and some of the reviews on here weren't good but we were very pleasantly surprised!

The hotel itself is on Daam Street which is as you may guess right off dam square. It is the perfect location !! We walked from centraal station and it took us maybe 10 minutes.

We booked a double room en suite in the smoking section. The receptionist lead us to a separate entrance (4 doors down or so) into the smoking building. Our room was very basic but more than we were expecting. Clean, tidy and a little tv with a few good channels. It was comedy centrals family guy weekend so that suited us just perfectly! The other obvious benefit was that our room was indeed a smoking room which is becoming very hard to find in central amsterdam especially for this great price! We also had asked for a quiet room and this was the case when we went to bed. Brilliant sleep every night.

The location really did seal the deal for us though and when we go back we will definitely be returning to this hotel!

There are hairdryers at reception, you just ask and can borrow them. The hotel sells some things like adapters and tooth paste etc but these are all cheaper at the surrounding supermarkets.

Must try chipsy kings chips with garlic mayo and you see a lot of places selling pizza but the New Yorker pizza downstairs from the hotel is the best!

Room Tip: Smoking room was perfect, we also asked for a quiet room and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is a great hotel in terms of location, right in Dam Square, walkable to red light district and cafes/restaurants. Only a tram ride away from Van Gough and Remembrandt Sq.
Please note this hotel asks you for a 50euro cash deposit per room when you arrive which they will give back when you checkout. There is also a small tourist tax charge not covered in your original payment. You can swap the euros for pounds which is what we had to do as we didn't anticipate the surcharge!
The rooms are small but clean and perfect for a few days. The bathroom is very cramped. There is free wifi available just ask reception. Bring your own toileteries etc as the hotel charges for every little thing.

Room Tip: The whole hotel has very thin walls so you will hear everything on your floor regardless of which fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We have Stayed here with of friends in end of November 2012. The room has a great location, comfortable, and affordable. We had done the booking though booking.com and was really worth the money that we spent.
The location of the hotel is just un-beatable, just a stone throw away from the Dam square and all the market places and important tourism spots like Madam Tussads etc
. We were all new to the city and the staff was very helpful in pointing us in the right direction. The one complaint is that the rooms can get pretty hot at night and since we were on the street, opening the window wasn't an option if you wanted to sleep-in in the morning. Overall the hotel was great and I would recommend it to my friends.
Also the rooms need to be decorated better.
But overall a good hotel to stay

Room Tip: Good experience overall and value for money..
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel De Gerstekorrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Gerstekorrel

Address: Damstraat 22, 1012 JM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel De Gerstekorrel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for an excellent central location with friendly service and extras like breakfast in bed? Then choose Hotel de Gerstekorrel, where guests return year after year! Our 32 room hotel offers single rooms, 2 persons rooms, triple rooms as well as four persons rooms - come alone, with a friend, the whole family or a group of friends!Smoking rooms are available in the hotel by advance request. Hotel de Gerstekorrel is a popular and modern hotel close to the famous Dam Square, shopping streets such as De Kalverstraat, the canals, wonderful restaurants and unforgettable nightlife. Do you come for a concert in Ziggo Dome or Heineken music hall? Or want to see the Music Awards? Interested in football stadium Arena, Ajax? Stay with us and you easily reach all these places by public transportation.The famous Amsterdam museums - newly opened Stedelijk Museum and new Rijksmuseum, Hermitage, Van Gogh and several other museums and art galleries are also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel De Gerstekorrel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Gerstekorrel Hotel
De Gerstekorrel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Gerstekorrel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.