We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What You pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Looier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Looier to your Saves list
Hotel De Looier
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derde Looiersdwarsstraat 75, 1016 VD Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #270 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“What You pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We booked this as we where going to see a concert in the ziggo dome. It is what you pay for, its like a travellers hotel, very basic. But clean. The staff where friendly, its about a 20 min walk to the to dam square, but its a lovely walk through all the canals and all the boutique and art shops.
I really liked where the hotel was situated as there is a supermarket around the corner to get all your essentials. It is also close to Leidseplein square which is my favourite place in Amsterdam come summer or winter. In the winter this is filled with an ice rink, and in the summer it is filled with tables for people to enjoy food and drink outside. If you are not looking for a fancy hotel, just somewhere to base, this hotel is ideal, as it is easy access to everywhere in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    59
    78
    29
    27
See reviews for
32
74
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The room and bathroom were small but functional. All we needed for exploring the city and somewhere convenient to rest our weary heads! Breakfast was unexciting but everything is so local, why not go out to breakfast? :) It was clean and comfortable, no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as a couple in february. Simple rooms, clean, good location just down the road from shops and restaurants, not far from the art gallery. We spent most of our time out and about and just used the room for sleep which was fine! Had breakfast on our last morning - milk was bad but changed quickly.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The room was good, clean and spacious, it was near the park and some museums. But the staff didn't have patience to explain things to us, and the breakfast was incredible expensive (9 euros), and it was not a incredible food.

Room Tip: The 3 bed room was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Room was small with a sewerage smell emanating from the corner. Very hot so had to have window wide open with fan on. The price was a bit exy for what we got. Staff were ok.
Bed was comfy. Pretty good area - not right in town but that's ok since it was a bit quieter / not far to walk / things still around.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

This is a basic hotel with basic facilities.....however it served a purpose...
Stayed here for 3 nights and have to say was sort of difficult to find at first but walkable from the Central Station.
We were three staying in one room which was ok ish.
Breakfast was included which was ok. The staff were grumpy with the exception of cleaners, breakfast attendant and night reception (think that kind of narrows it down!!)
However.... When booking I did look at more up market hotels at a similar price and have to say that this hotel was great in terms of location .... Might have saved the blisters on my feet if it had been a little less convenient !!
Overall enjoyed my stay but in fairness didn't spend much time in the hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
141 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed overnight at this hotel, which is located away from the main tourist areas. It is a good 5 minute walk from the Central Station. The advantage of this is that the hotel is positioned in a quiet area so a good night sleep is guaranteed.

The room was of a decent size, with comfortable beds and a small desk. The bathroom had a decent shower with no bath. Not a problem for me!!

The breakfast was adequate - cereals, fruit and other continental offerings.

Not the best hotel I have stayed in Amsterdam, but more than adequate for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel De Looier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Looier

Address: Derde Looiersdwarsstraat 75, 1016 VD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Looier 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel De Looier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Looier Hotel
De Looier Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Looier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.