We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night and day” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Looier

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel De Looier to your Saves list
Hotel De Looier
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Derde Looiersdwarsstraat 75, 1016 VD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #250 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
EDINBURGH
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Night and day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Night and day
We arrived about 2100 and was allocated room 22 on the second floor? No it was ground floor. The room was facing rear window looking onto black reguse bags, tiled floor with broken one with sharp edges, shelfs needed wipe of dust, and pillows badly stained. Not what we paid for and nothing like what was on their web page!
Moved to room 242 should have been at first. Hotel located in nice area easy to walk to all places. Breakfast bar was served by very friendly staff, and comprised of cold meats, cheese, cereal, boiled and scrambled eggs, bread croissants with good coffee out of a machine etc. Disappointing not as good as hotels from past stays in Amsterdam. Note hotel does not provide wash hand basin plugs and does not have a locked secure storage.

Room Tip: Not ground floor!!!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    51
    64
    25
    19
See reviews for
26
62
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

i stayed at this hotel for 2 nights during Kingsday weekend and it was perfect for a long weekend with friends. the room was quite spacious and didnt feel cramped at all with 3 of us in there. bathroom was clean and tidy and the shower was powerful.

the best thing about this hotel is the location - so close to everything. would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel. Located quite far from the central, about 20-30 minutes walk (if you are not lost !), but you can get on Tram No 17 to Amsterdam Central Station. Tram Station is just a few steps away.

The trade-off is it is located at a quiet neighborhood and near to the canals (view is stunning !).

Booked a double room but was upgraded to a triple room upon check-in. (Triple room was not available when we did the online booking). Very happy with that as we traveled with 3 young kids.

Room was quite spacious as we have plenty of room to walk even with 2 super huge luggage. The only thing was the lighting in the room was poor. We hardly see things in the wardrobe because it was dark in the room.

Breakfast was not included in our rate but we tried their breakfast for just one morning. It was okay but you can get better options if you are willing to walk a bit.

My tip for those with limited time in Amsterdam is to get hotel near the Central Station. Go for Double Tree by Hilton, Ibis or Crowne Plaza (next to Little Istanbul, a halal restaurant).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

The hotel was difficult to find but once it was tracked down the location was quite good, handy for trams and local bars. The welcome was pleasant and luckily I had a top floor room with some views over the roof tops. The rooms were modestly appointed but were quite clean. The duvets were excellent! But as can be expected from a hotel of this price and rating the noise from the corridors and adjacent rooms was quite loud. The continental breakfast was served in a nice bright dining room and was good. Wifi adequate.
Overall a good 3* hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top 3rd floor, much brighter and I suspect quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Great location and breakfast, but poor Wifi, noisy. We stayed in the same floor as the entrance, so everyone that arrived we could hear the noise of the door (and the floor is really old so we hear anyone walking... upper and same floor) it was recently painted, so the smell was really strong!

Room Tip: Not first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhodes, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Good value for money..we just wanted a clean warm place and it was!nothing fancy nothing modern.quiet street not far from centre.one receptionist nice one receptionist rude!cleaning the room everyday but the towels older than me!!very soft bouncy matres good for sex bad for back problems!as a conclusion if you need a cheap clean place to sleep hotel de looier is a good choice!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Booked this hotel via Hotwire and after reading some of the previous reviews here, I was very apprehensive about staying there. However, it wasn't that bad. The hotel is situated in a nice quite area of the Jordaan with some lovely little cafes and shops nearby. The whole area is very pretty. It is easy to get to from the airport, red bus 197 to Markinstraat and the hotel is across the road. We had a quad room which was reasonably spacious. Bathroom a bit on the small side though. The towels which some people have commented about were clean and looked fairly new. TV and safe were both working fine. Breakfast was pretty basic. Staff at Reception were friendly and helpful. You can walk to all the main tourist areas as it's not that far. If you are planning a short visit and don't intend to spend much time in the room, then I would say that for the price, it was ok.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De Looier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Looier

Address: Derde Looiersdwarsstraat 75, 1016 VD Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel De Looier 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel De Looier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Looier Hotel
De Looier Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De Looier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.