We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's alright... not outstanding” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Albus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Albus to your Saves list
The Albus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #57 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hong Kong
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's alright... not outstanding”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

The hotel is nice. But the building walls are too thin, that I can hear clearly the tv next room and people walking outside.

Management are yet to be improved, such as baggage storage service is one of the least secured practise among the hospitality industry. They simply led me to their baggage storage room, opened the door and allow me to put my bag onto the rack by myself. Without any receipt or ticket, I simply requested the front desk staff to enter the storage room when I was back, went inside and took my (or someone else if I felt like to!) bags and go. Staff had already walked away before I came out, and only if I were nice enough to help them close the storage room door.

Also a little bit disappointed on my request of having a 2pm check out which required a sucharge of 50 euro (60% of my room charge per night). I told the nice lady manager I have to be leaving by 1-ish, as I need to catch up my flight, but she kindly offer me to stay until 1pm without charge. I felt like making a bargain at the flea market! I didnt mind to have a strict NO, but the bargaining part sounds cheap to me. This lack of flexibility is also not too competitive among the hospitality industry, as most hotels in town can offer a 2pm check out on request. As said, if availability is not affordable, a strict no would not be a problem instead of a flea market bargaining!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albushotel, Manager at The Albus, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
Thank you for your review. I am disappointed with the outcome and action has been taken. The porter situation is in progress and hopefully we have appointed someone at the end of October 2010. In the mean time our reception staff will look after the luggage. Late check out is at a charge of € 50 till 17:00 hours. Hope to meet you the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    417
    122
    37
    20
See reviews for
113
485
39
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Appleton, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

I loved the location of the hotel, it was easy to walk to many of the tourist sites and great shopping. The city is beautiful and historic in this area. We had a room with a king and single bed and this seemed to be the most affordable option for the two of us at 200 euro. It included decent breakfast. The only complaint I have is that the room was on the street side so it was loud at night. We were so tired from walking that I slept just fine anyway (I am a light sleeper) but I would request a room not on the street. We arrived by train to Amsterdam and easily caught a tram right outside to the hotel. I would stay here again. Staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albushotel, General Manager at The Albus, responded to this review, October 11, 2010
Thank you for your nice comments and perhaps we can meet when staying in the Albus the next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

4th tram stop from Central Station, easy to find.
Hotel reception modern, friendly, helpful staff. Efficient check in. Even with 5 customers arriving on different days, I felt sure my complicated booking would be a mess, but they had no problems with it.
Only one elevator, so if it is busy you will have to wait.
Rooms are modern, comfortable and clean.
Great shower, very important...
Bar is not as expensive as you would expect.
Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Albus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.