We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very comfortable room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Albus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Albus to your Saves list
The Albus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #55 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Huddersfield
1 review
“Great location, very comfortable room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Good decor, fabulous pillows (!), good-sized room, really helpful staff. Shame no fridge in the rooms (although bottled water provided each night), personal taste is for a cold drink. I know this is part of the Eco-thinking though.

Room Tip: We had room 307 at the back. Very spacious & quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    469
    142
    42
    22
See reviews for
138
572
45
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed at The Albus for two nights.
The welcome was amazing at the reception, felt very personal and caring.
The room was rather large (do not mistake the pictures of the suite) but the shower/restroom was a bit old fashioned and require some renovation.
For a night or two I would definitely recommend this hotel because of its location near Dam Square.
If you are worried that the hotel is too far from the main station - fear not, because it's a five minute walk to waterlooplein.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This hotel is nice and trendy. It is quite central so I was able to walk around the city. Staff is friendly and capable. I really didn't have any complaints. It is not cheap, but prices are reflected on the service, quality, and location.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We had a triple room, since a friend was meeting us in Amsterdam. it was a great location and clean hotel. The staff was helpful. You couldn't pick a better area to be located in my opinion. The only issue I see someone having is it seemed to me that the hotel had no air conditioning in the room-- at least ours didn't. This wouldn't be a problem typically, and for us, the first day was freezing cold out, however it warmed up quickly in Amsterdam and the last night we had a free-standing fan blowing on us all night. I hear it's blistering hot in Amsterdam this week. I'd hate to be in that room during a heat wave. If however, you are visiting Amsterdam any time other than during a heat wave or warm summer days, I would highly recommend the hotel. They also have great bath products. Nice touch Albus!

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The room was clean -- tiny, but this is Europe. The best part was the location, in the center of everything and with many trams nearby.

We were able to book a triple -- which not all hotels offer, and this is a plus.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is actually a pretty decent hotel in a good location EXCEPT when it's hot outside. I had the misfortune of checking in when it had been in the 30's C (high 80's F) for at least a week in early July, which I'm told is unusually hot for Amsterdam. Asking for a quiet room away from the noisy street, they put me in a tiny studio on the backside of the building overlooking the ugly walls of extremely close-by buildings. Breaking into a sweat upon walking into the room, I was assured that operating the floor fan with the window open would solve the problem. NOT. First, leaving the window open fully exposes the bed to the nearby neighbors, eliminating any privacy. Alarmingly, there was also a ladder lying on the roof just below my second-floor window, which anyone could have used to easily climb through my open window. Second, the noisy fan was five feet away from the bed, so ear plugs were needed to [partially] muffle the sound. Third...the fan simply wasn't sufficient, with the room temperature probably close to 80 degrees (F). Woke up the next morning in a sweat and, upon checking out, noticed that there doesn't seem to be air conditioning ANYWHERE in the building.

The staff is mostly friendly and helpful, so if you're going when it's cool outside or enjoy living in a sauna, this might be the place for you. Just be sure to check what you're getting first. I would have immediately cancelled but I'd made nonrefundable online reservations, so had no choice.

Stayed July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW


The service was first classed. On arrival we were greeted with warm smiles and offered drinks. Whatever we asked for we basically got. Our room was cosy but maybe slightly dated but it was cleaned. The reception area and reception is very contemporary and soft lighting in communal areas. The location we felt was perfect and just moments from Dam Square, trams etc. I liked the staff, hotel, location and breakfast. A well-picked hotel and can not wait to do it all over again........

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#46 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Albus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.