We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Albus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Albus to your Saves list
The Albus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #55 of 353 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Haverhill, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW via mobile

We stayed here in April. We had a room with a double bed and a single bed. the room was well designed and very clean. The staff were all very helpful and we had a lovely stay. The only downside was the wait for breakfast one day was about 45 minutes (waiting for food to be cooked) and when the food was available we were told breakfast time was nearly over so had to rush and eat fast. Also for a buffet breakfast we felt €24 was a little overpriced.
Over all a great stay and we would stay again, just perhaps have breakfast elsewhere.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    463
    141
    41
    22
See reviews for
136
567
44
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We enjoyed our stay. The room and breakfast were enjoyable. My only disappointment was with the shower head. It dripped like a gentle rain. Also the parking for our van was far away and difficult. It took 45 minutes to retrieve the van for checkout. The front desk staff were excellent and cheerful. The room tea service was nice.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The Albus Hotel is very average. No air conditioning. Very small rooms. Old bathrooms. Super thin/hard mattresses. Service was ok-
Although I felt like I was being watched at every moment. Overall, it's ok- good price though.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The staff are all fantastic. Katya, the manager sets the tone, friendly, accommodating and always welcoming.
This hotel is in a great location, near tram lines, restaurants, Central train station.
We loved the orange flavored water and the great big jar of licorice. They also have free rain ponchos just in case! We loved our stay there.

Room Tip: 801 and 801. Little aeries with great views. It is noisy if you leave the windows open. We shut the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It is a small hotel with good accommodations, does not have air conditioner neither a fridge, which can be a problem on warm nights. The staff is excellent, always helpful and always with a smile. Location is also excellent. Could walk around most of the interesting places in AMS from the hotel. I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone. For sure I will be there on my next trip to such a nice city.

  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were coming off a two week cruise and there were three of us so we had lots of luggage. So our biggest priority was finding a big enough room in central Amsterdam to fit all of our luggage as well as us. We got a triple room and there was MORE than enough room. We are used to small hotel rooms in such a central location but this hotel is not your typical city center hotel!

On top of that, the hotel emailed me a couple days before our check in date to see if we needed anything before our arrival. I told them we'd be coming off a cruise and would likely be there very early in the am. I didn't expect our room to be available to but they promised to do anything they could to get us in quickly. We waited all of ten minutes and were able to put our luggage safely away in our rooms. Then we could go about our day knowing our belongings were safely in our room.

I really cannot say enough good things about this hotel. On top of the huge rooms, the location is amazing. Literally right around the corner from Rembrandt Square, steps to Dam Square, Leiden Square, all the museums, and anything else you will want to see in Amsterdam. If that weren't enough the customer service here is really top notch. They go above and beyond to do anything to make your stay better.

One tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room away from the street towards the back of the hotel. We were right on the street and there was a little noise, but nothing that kept us up all night.

Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It's a great hotel by all means. Perfect location .....great reception staff .very conviniently located close to all the restaurants.
Since I was staying with my family.....the big room which accomdates 4 was perfect. Hope to visit this hotel again.

Stayed June 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#46 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#48 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Otel so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Albus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.