We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Albus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Albus to your Saves list
The Albus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #56 of 351 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great hotel for a great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I've stayed here many times for business trips & this year I came with friends after highly recommending it to them.
Everything about this hotel is great - it's stylish, modern, the rooms are lovely, staff are friendly, the rates are always cheap & the location is practically on top of Rembrandt Square & within close walking distance to the Dam Square area.
Since I first started staying here in 2012, they have introduced room service & have always kept true to their promise of upgrading me when I book directly with them.
The only thing I can fault, is that the check-in process is a very drawn-out & relaxed procedure. After travelling, I just want to get in my room, but at the Albus it's standard to take a seat, have a (complimentary) drink, & spend around 20-25mins going through the process. I have tried to politely hurry the process in the past, & whilst I'm always responded to with a smile, I can't seem to accelerate it! It would be great if there was an option for the more impatient customer to just stand at the desk & fill everything out at once rather than be insisted upon to take a seat & wait 20mins.
Other than that, this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    452
    137
    41
    21
See reviews for
131
553
42
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Emirate of Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Easily one of the nicest places that I have stayed at. Not going to say it's the poshest or most luxurious cause it ain't, but still I would keep on saying that it's one of the best and nicest places. The staff make you feel welcomed and are very knowledgeable about the city and all its attractions and will gladly go out of their way to make sure you get to where you want. The fact that I still remember most of their names says a lot and surely one name that I won't forget is Mariska whose smile makes the world go round!
Definitely recommended hotel and you will be pleased by how close it is to everything worth seeing.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Albus is in a very good location for getting around the centre of Amsterdam. We have stayed here before, and cannot fault anything. The staff are friendly and really helpful, rooms are equipped with everything you could want inc. a dressing gown and an 3 pin plug point hidden in the dressing table. The bed was comfy too, oh and we got two room keys which proves helpful sometimes.. Will definitely stay here again when we can.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This hotel was average in my opinion. I haven't done that much traveling but the basement room was less enjoyable than other rooms I have stayed in. Good central location. The walls were thing and you could hear what was going on in other rooms and the hallway.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I stopped here for three nights with friends and I can honestly say nothing disappointed us about this hotel. From the moment we checked in to the time we left, the team of staff we encountered were all absolutely fantastic. They were all both friendly and professional and genuinely wanted to ensure we had a good stay.

The location is fantastic, just in front of Rembrant Square with easy access to all the popular parts of the city centre, many by foot or via the frequent trams that pass by. You can also try a rickshaw, just make sure you negotiate a rate before you travel!

There is a decent hotel bar in the lobby which is reasonably priced and actually served the best Heineken draft beer that we had! This was my third trip to Amsterdam and I can honestly say that when I return this hotel will be top of my booking list. It was also reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København N
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

overall a good hotel in perfect location close to everything - walking distance to city centre and trams stop almost just outside the door. Were looking forward to Tempur luxury beds but only got thin Tempur top mattress on top of ordinary box mattress

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Very nice staff,and helpful nice clean rooms!!!
Very good position of the hotel in the heart of Amsterdam !!!!
We had A nice sleep it was quiet although it's in the center.
Special thanks to Mariska from the reception very helpful,kind,and up to date!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Agoda so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Albus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.