We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, wonderful and helpful staff. Most importantly the room itself was perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Albus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Albus to your Saves list
The Albus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #56 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
“Excellent hotel, wonderful and helpful staff. Most importantly the room itself was perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The minute we entered the hotel we were greeted by a wonderful lady, that made us feel at home. the room matched our expectations and more, it was spacious and very clean. the hotel is located near Rembrandt Square, a perfect location, near all the tourist sites, but not too Central and loud.
I will always recommend a stay here because the staff are perfect, so helpful and attentive to all our request and needs (ordering us museum tickets, tunnel cruise tickets and guiding us through the city).

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    421
    124
    38
    20
See reviews for
115
492
39
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Arrived in Amsterdam early in the morning and was very grateful to be allowed to move straight into our room, allowing us to settle in and explore the city. The room was small, but clean and served its purpose well. The staff were kind and friendly both in the restaurant and hotel. Thoroughly enjoyed our meal in the Senses restaurant and would recommend their tasting menu to all those staying in the hotel. Would recommend the hotel to friends and family, especially as an ideal location to explore Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Clean and surprisingly silent room at the back, comfortable bed, great breakfast, newspapers available, friendly staff, really nothing left to be desired. A good place from which to explore Amsterdam.

Room Tip: A room at the back for close to absolute silence
See more room tips
Green Features: It has got the attention, only the 'heaven' shower seems a water waster to me
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Travelled to Amsterdam with my parents we booked a room for 3 people. Upon arrival we were greeted with friendly and efficient staff, on seeing the room we were thrilled with the space and facilities. The room, bathroom and public spaces in the hotel were very clean throughout our stay. Very nice to have coffee making facilities in the room, you could opt for tea making facilities if preferred. Excellent quality of toiletries provided. In the reception area there are lovely refreshment facilities available between 7.30am-11.00 also an inviting looking bar area. The hotel also offered a restaurant next door which looked very nice but we didn't have the time to utilise.

Great location, near Rembrandt Square and other attractions were in walking distance. All in all an excellent hotel and we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We were placed at the back of the hotel and had a lovely quiet room.
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent, we were very impressed with the hotels environmental practices.
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Had to go for business and they booked me in albus. Good location for me close to office. Went for nice walk and bought some bulbs from the flower market round the corner. Hotel is small clean and friendly staff. Nice reception area with coffee etc. No complaints but would use it as a base as facilities are limited. Again nothing wrong but if you want a place to come back to and chill then there are probably better places.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Me and my mother stayed at the Albus for 4 nights in beginning of March 2015. First we received a room at the bacement floor. Room was nice, even that it did not have any windows. But it was really noisy there because the storage and staff facilities where opposite to our room and the doors kept slamming all the time. But when mentioning this to the reception, we got a very friendly reply and a new room at the 2nd floor. Also we got a small gift from the staff, what was very nice.
The breakfast was not including to the room price, and was quite expensive, but was a very nice breakfast buffet and it was money well spent.
Everyone at the staff where more than friendly. Never experienced such nice people working at a hotel. We felt very well taken care of. You should give them all a bonus ;)

Room Tip: Make sure you do not get a room on the basement floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Although the Albus is located in the city center, I don't recommend it. The rooms are poorly designed, old and uncomfortable. If you get a room facing the street, the noise wonwlet you sleep; didn't you hear about double glass windows? Bathroom looks like the one from a train... And I stayed in the "splendid city king room", what a 4-star joke.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#46 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#53 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Albus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.