We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved my staying” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Albus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Albus to your Saves list
The Albus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #60 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
“Loved my staying”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Cool hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Great location, beautiful interior, wonderfully friendly and helpfull stuff. Most of main attractions and places to go out are in a walking distance. Loads of places ti eat and shop. The only thing that was a bit dissapoimting - unstable wifi

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    381
    116
    36
    20
See reviews for
106
440
36
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bussum, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very clean, stylish and modern, and really wonderful and friendly staff! There wasn't any noise from the street but that was because I was at the back - good tip. I really appreciated having a staff member take me to my room and explain where everything was and how it worked.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

The hotels is very well connected to the central station and Schipol airport. Location is just perfect, you are walking distance from all the places of interest. I suggest to book trough the hotel website instead of agents cause for the same price (or even less sometimes!!) you can get nice extras: we had a free drinks card and breakfast discount upon arrival! Lounge and rooms are perfectly decorated and very welcoming. The bathrooms are simple but nices. I sincerely reccomand this hotel for couple and businness travellers and definetly stay there again next time in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear guest,

I very much appreciate that you've taken the time to write (such a lovely!) review on Tripadvisor. Thank you!

I'm so happy to read you loved your stay with us ánd that you also recommend other travelers to use our own website to make the reservation. We indeed offer various extras (free drink vouchers, 25% discount on breakfast and the lowest price and more) when guests book directly with us.

I hope we may welcome you again in the Albus for another blissful stay!

With kind regards,

Marloes Kunzmann
The Albus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

First off, the location of this hotel is ideal.

The staff are incredibly helpful, friendly, and polite.

Free wifi, simple and comfortable rooms. Coffee machine is a nice touch.

Only drawback I really noticed was the lack of a mini-bar.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear guest,

I would like to thank you for recommending us to other travelers on TripAdvisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and give us a 4 out of 5 rating!

Indeed we have no minibar: we offer room service without a surcharge so we can bring the chilled drinks to the rooms for a reasonable price! It also helps us to save a lot of energy which we believe is very important. We are a sustainable hotel and are awarded with the Golden Green Key!

I hope we will see you again in the Albus.

With kind regards,

Marloes Kunzmann
The Albus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The check in process was simple and the concierge was friendly. He explained all services and provided directions for getting around town. The hotel is in easy walking distance to all the central Amsterdam attractions and train station. Wifi was included and the room was bright and clean but quiet.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear guest,

I'm so happy to read all your positive comments about your stay with us. Thank you so much for sharing them online!

I hope we may welcome you again in the Albus when you're in Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Marloes Kunzmann
The Albus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Great location and service. Nice breakfast and the restaurant is very cosy. The room is great with free nespresso coffee provided by a coffee machine. Always they put a fresh bottle of water free of charge. The staff is very kind.

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Anna,

Thank you so much for the 5 out 5 review! I'm so glad that you've experienced 'a sense of bliss' when you stayed with us.

I will let Sofia know you appreciate her!

We'd love to see you again in the Albus.

With kind regards,

Marloes Kunzmann
The Albus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Could not fault this hotel, cracking location very good staff, clean stylish rooms free wi-fi.
Comfy beds, we stayed here for one night before Christmas and would recommend to anyone vistiting Amsterdam

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for recommending us to other travelers on TripAdvisor. I'm so happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us and that you've rewarded us with a 5 out 5 review!

Hopefully we will welcome you again when you're in Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Marloes Kunzmann
The Albus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Albus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.