We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money. Perfect location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Albus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Albus to your Saves list
The Albus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #63 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
“Great value for money. Perfect location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay. The service was very good. Staff were friendly and helpful. We had a room with a balcony with wonderful view of the city. Comfy bed and clean and nice shower. I would certainly come back on my next trip to amsterdam

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    361
    111
    35
    20
See reviews for
99
412
35
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Albus was ideally located to walk to all areas of the city. The reception was very pleasant, complimentary coffee on arrival and a quick guided tour of the room. Bed very comfortable, huge pillows and two best nights sleep for a long time. TV with various channels, free WiFi and Nespresso in room. Our break was to celebrate my 50th Birthday but there was a mix up. ½ hour after checking in, there was a knock at the door. Receptionist (all were extremely polite and professional) brought us a mini bottle of prosecco and selection of chocolate deserts to celebrate our honeymoon. After explaining the purpose of our visit, we had a chuckle and were left with deserts and drink . The following day we returned from shopping to find a further bottle of prosecco on ice in our room with a Birthday Card. The hotel staff were without exception the most helpful and friendly I have experienced. Would heartily recommend the Albus to anyone and will return if we visit Amsterdam again..

Room Tip: We chose a superior suite room I think, it had a couple of modern leather sofa/seats hence a slightl...
See more room tips
Green Features: Did not really consider this but towels/sheets only replaced if you ask.
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Manager at The Albus, responded to this review, today
Hi Duncan,

Thanks for your extensive review on Tripadvisor. I'm very glad to read you enjoyed your stay with and the gifts from our receptionist for your birthday.

Please contact me directly (marloes@albushotel.com) when you wish to stay with us again.

With kind regards,

Marloes Kunzmann
The Albus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Albus is a nice hotel, clean, very good service, very friendly with an excellent location.

Room was good, comfortable bed, clean, good heating, very comfortable. Only complaint is the bathroom is a bit old and could use some minor maintenance, and there was a funny smell on the hall outside the room. Nothing to complain about. Aside from that everything was great. Our experience was excellent. The staff were very friendly and very helpful!

I'd definitely stay again there.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Manager at The Albus, responded to this review, today
Dear guest,

I'm so happy to read your kind words about the bed, the staff and the cleanliness! Thank you very much for recommending us on TripAdvisor.

I'm currently investigating your comment about the odeur. Could you please send me an e-mail to let me know what room you stayed in?

I hope we may welcome you again soon.

With kind regards,

Marloes Kunzmann
The Albus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had an amazing stay at the Albus! The staff were here to help as soon as we arrived, explaining the directions of the museums we were interested in. The rooms are beautiful and clean with no noise at night! Had a great nights sleep every night. I'll definitely be staying here again. The breakfast is brilliant with great value for money. A 15 minute walk into Dam Square but a nice stroll with lots to see, everything is within walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Manager at The Albus, responded to this review, today
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your compliments! I will personally make sure your kind words will be spread throughout the staff of hotel. Feedback from our guests really motivates them!

I hope to welcome you again.

With kind regards,

Marloes Kunzmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is wonderful. Cute and centrally located. The rooms are great and spacious, great view! The staff is wonderful! Attached to Senses, a top restaurant in town. Would definitely recommend this place. Free WIFI which is awesome!!

Room Tip: Great view on 7th Floor.
See more room tips
Green Features: They seem good, the towels can be reused. No other comments.
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Manager at The Albus, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review on Tripadvisor. I'm very glad to read you enjoyed your stay at the Albus and I hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards,

Marloes Kunzmann
The Albus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Albus the second week of December 2014. it's location is not far from Rembrandt square. Approx 20 min walk from the Centraal train station. We walked from the hotel to all of the locations we needed to see. The hotel is on the main road, but I noticed very little noise after midnight. The room was of a good size, warm, clean & comfortable. The staff were very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Buffet style hot & cold breakfast was included in our room price. We were told that the restaurant was in the top 20 in Amsterdam. We did not eat there choosing to eat when out in one of the numerous eating places in the area. Would most definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: We paid a small amount for an upgrade. Our room was of good size facing the main road. Most noise ca...
See more room tips
Green Features: They are keen ontheir environmental policies without forcing anything on the guests. One of the staff is currently completing their university thesis on Environmental procedures and approach to sustainability
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Manager at The Albus, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Hi guest,

Thanks for writing a review about us! We really appreciate your compliments and are very happy to hear you enjoyed the location, our staff and the food that we servce.

I hope to welcome you again when you're in Amsterdam.

With kind regards,

Marloes Kunzmann
The Albus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hotel is located in a trendy neighbourhood close to clubs and bars. However the rooms are tiny and the bathroom is not as clean as expected within this price range. Positive point: Nespresso machine with capsules free of charge in te rooo and the bed matress was over-comfy!!! I wouldn't book this place again as for 200 Euros per night you can get a way nicer place than this.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the back of the hotel as it is located in front of a main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Albus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.