We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Week in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Albus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Albus to your Saves list
The Albus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #63 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
slc
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Week in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We arrived at the Albus and were greeted by reception staff who were welcoming and friendly. It was somewhat confusing as the reception staff asked us to sit in the lobby while they were checking us in. It went smoothly but the communication could have been better however, the person checking us in was in training. He did a good job. It was an incredibly hot and humid day, we had traveled all night and were looking forward to getting into our room to take a break. The rooms were very nice, the beds were really comfy and the pillows were awesome!! We LOVED the rooms, they were clean, not overly big but plenty of room. My one complaint is that there is NO air conditioning. Even with the windows open and two fans, it was miserably hot. Maybe it's an American thing but even a window unit would be better than nothing. There was no ventilation. All in all, the only reason I'm not giving a 5 is because of no air. Coffee bar in reception was great, Nespresso machines in the rooms were a nice touch. For extended trips, Dutch Dry cleaners is right next door, take your clothes to them for wash, dry and fold vs. giving it to the hotel to take it, it's much,much cheaper! I would totally stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the hotel were very quiet, in front of the hotel there was a bit of traffic noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hello precious guest,

Thank you for your extended review and wonderful compliments on our staff, the coffee corner and the rooms!

I am happy to read that you have enjoyed a blissful stay with us despite of the heat and I hope to see you again in the Albus soon!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    362
    112
    35
    20
See reviews for
99
415
35
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ayrshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

On arrival were greeted with a friendly receptionist who showed us the complimentary coffee bar, she then came over and went through everything. Hotel reception was very stylish and clean. Then we were taken to our room and the facilities in the room explained to us (this created an excellent first impression). Our room was an upgrade to a bigger room and was a good size at the front of the hotel on the 4th floor. The room was well designed and clean. The bathroom was a bit of a let down as it wasn't very large and no bath (slightly dated). Toiletries were gorgeous. Nespresso coffee machine in the room was a fantastic surprise. Plenty of plug points. Extremely comfy beds and the pillows were amazing. Reception staff were amazing and couldn't do enough for us. Only used the bar which had a good variety of drinks and again very friendly staff. Reception even phoned one day to check about housekeeping as we had left our do no disturb on the door and they checked if we wanted anything (much appreciated).
On check out reception organised a taxi for us back to the airport at a fixed price a fantastic service, we were able to pay the hotel and they gave us a voucher for the taxi.
Hotel provided free sunglasses due to the warm weather.
Best hotel for service and have been to many hotels in Amsterdam.
Only downside was the heat - would have been wonderful to have air conditioning in the room and a mini bar would have been ideal.

Room Tip: if you want a quiet room request one at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hello valuable guest,

Thank you very much for taken the time to write such an extended and positive review!

I am glad to read that you appreciate our services, the bedding and the room facilities, but more importantly that our team has been able to really make a difference.

I hope to welcome you again in the Albus soon for another blissful stay!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The location is perfect, the staff is friendly and the rooms are clean and modern. Sounds perfect, right? Unfortunately, the lack of AC made our stay really uncomfortable. The room was so hot we could barely sleep. There was also no minibar or fridge in the room. We upgraded our queen room to a room with a king-size bed. The receptionist said that the king room is way bigger than the queen room. However, our room ended up to be really small. There were 50cm between the tv on the wall and the bed. I wonder how small the queen room would have been! The hotel also had 8 floors and only one slow elevator. The hotel being full this meant waiting for the elevator several minutes everytime you wanted to go up or down.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hello precious guest,

Thank you for your feedback! I understand your frustrations about the heat and the waiting times for the lift, however I am afraid that this is sometimes difficult to manage. We do not have airconditioning in the guests rooms, but we try to minimalize the heat as much as possible by providing soundless fans, windows that open and we try to keep the curtains closed during sunny days.

I am glad that you have enjoyed the location, the design and cleanliness of our rooms and that you have experienced our staff friendliness. Therefore I do hope that you will choose to stay in the Albus on your next visit to Amsterdam!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We worried this hotel is more romantic gateway butt we were with young kids.

However it worked out great for us. Stuff was great and helpful (Mariska and another blonde lady from reception helped us a lot)

The pros: comfort , staff , location , good room size

Cons: it is expensive(at least in relation to NA), No AC in the room

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, General Manager at The Albus, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hello valuable guest,

Thank you for leaving a review on this website!

I am happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us with your kids as we try to be family friendly and romantic at the same time. I am glad you have enjoyed the spacious room and I hope that you have also made use of the free breakfast that we include for the younger ones when booking a family room.

Hoping to welcome you and your familiy back in the Albus soon!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The hotel's website really made me excited to stay here BUT on arrival the staff were all over the place and didn't seem to know what was going on. There is a hidden €50 deposit in which I hadn't accounted for on my short stay. When you get the deposit back they take tourist tax off it as well around €8 which they didn't mention when they took it. I would have expected to pay this when paying for the hotel before the stay. The room was clean but small and boiling hot. No aircon. Large clean bathroom but looked dated. The bed was nice and comfy but me and my boyfriend ended up with a gap between us. (2 singles pushed together) I was extremely disappointed with the hotel and the price and star rating does not reflect what you are paying for.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hello valuable guest,

Thank you for your honest feedback!

I am sorry that you were not informed about the € 50,00 deposit as a guarantee for possible extra's and about the 5.5% city tax that all hotels in Amsterdam are obliged to charge. I am not sure which booking channel you have used to make your booking, but we share this information on our website and in our written confirmations. We also mention our deposit policy and city tax levy upon check in. I am very sorry that you missed all this!

We try to communicate as much as possible about our payment policies on other websites as well, however some external booking chennels do not publish this information. Therefore I always recommend to use our own website for your reservations (and best rates guaranteed!).

Do not hesitate to contact me directly if you have any further questions on this matter on lisa@albushotel.com.

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Usa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Cool hotel, Robin the girl who greeted us was awesome. Rooms are decent size, clean, and modern, but it has no Air Conditioning, which made our stay uncomfortable. We would rush to get out of the hotel, and dread the time to come back.
The hotel has a great price, but we made the mistake of booking in hotels.com, which charged us 70 Euros more per night!!! I would stay here again but not in the summer and booking directly through the hotel.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hello precious guest,

Thank you for your nice compliments on Robin and I am glad to read that you would stay with us again despite of the discomfort that you have expereinced because of the heat. It has been exceptionally warm lately!

Please, do make your next booking through www.albushotel.com or just contact us by e-mail on reservations@albushotel.com for the best rates guaranteed.

I hope to welcome you again soon!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The hotel is clean, well equipped and very well placed (around the corner of the flower market and Rembrandtplein) within walking distance from the train station and the heart of the city. Personnel is friendly, always ready to help, breakfast correct although not a very big choice of food. They also have a “restaurant” offering a modest dinner at affordable price. The only disadvantages that I had experienced, were the busy street (if you happen to get a room on the street side) and high temperatures on floors 5 and up...All together a place to return to on a cooler day!

Room Tip: Not the street side if you like calm nights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hello precious guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comments on our friendly staff and our restaurant!

In case you have any suggestions for our blissful breakfast buffet, please let me know on lisa@albushotel.com as we currently are working hard to improve the range/variety of the buffet. We do believe that all we offer should be of excellent taste rather than an overload of products of inferior quality, but there is always room for expansion or changes. Your personal feedback is more than welcome!

Hoping to welcome you in the Albus soon for an even better breakfast and blissful stay!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#70 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Albus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.