We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my favorite hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Albus

Save Saved
You added The Albus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Albus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #66 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not my favorite hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This was our third hotel on a European tour. It was a our least favorite for several reasons. The positives: The location was great! We found it easy to navigate either walking or by tram to any location. The staff were very friendly and we enjoyed having the complimentary drinks in the lobby and coffee and water in the room. Also, the bed was large and comfortable. We were also allowed to check in early when our train arrived early in the day. The negatives: We were placed on the first floor on the busy street side. We talked to the front desk about the street noise and they asked us to stay to "try it out", neither my husband or I like to cause trouble so we stayed put after that even though it was not enjoyable. That was paired with no air conditioning and the need to keep the windows wide open. Even during the day hours we could not hear ourselves think with the window open which was required or it was too hot. We stayed 4 nights, one of which was a world cup soccer game with the Netherlands which we slept with the window closed to try to sleep and spent the night roasting in our room. Another negative was that the bathroom was not clean. It smelled bad, there was mold in the shower, the floor wasn't clean (I found a coffee stir stick from another guest on the floor) and it was dirty/sticky. The hotel lobby and first floor smelled like sewage for two of the days we were there, then we were awoken one day to a sewer truck outside our window with a tube hooked up to the building draining the tank. It filled our room with a very offensive smell that could not be gotten rid of for hours. The first night we plugged in our cell phones to charge overnight and were disappointed to find out that all of the outlets were connected to the light switches. If the lights are off, the outlets were off.
The shower was too small for my 6'3" 260lb husband for some reason there was a tub fixture right in the way of where you would stand to be under the water stream. It appeared this was a problem for others because the fixture had been previously torn out of the wall. There was also a bar to hang on to in order to pull yourself out of the tub and this was also not attached and had been torn out of the wall. I was concerned about the bacteria that was forming and the water that was pouring into the wall behind these fixtures. My guess is that might have been contributing to the foul smell in the bathroom. Also, whenever my husband or I sat on the toilet it made a sound as if it was going to detach from the wall.

I loved the location and we did not let these things affect our vacation in a negative way. However, I would suggest to the Albus to step up their cleaning and maintenance routine. Put more information about their lack of air conditioning on their website, and also to talk to guests about the noise before putting someone front and center to the street activities. We stayed in hotels of similar price in Brussels and Paris and we had a more pleasant experience

Room Tip: This hotel does not have air conditioning in any room. If you have your window open you will be sub...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hello precious guest,

Thank you very much for your honest and extended feedback!

I take all your comments very seriously and will take the appropiate actions where nessesary. I am extremely sorry for the inconvenience regarding our housekeeping standards, this is absolutely unacceptable. I would also like to apologize for the sewer truck. Unfortunately the company responsible did not honour our urgent request to come later in the day instead of in the morning and we have filed an official complaint.

I am glad that you enjoyed our complimentary drinks in the lobby and in the rooms and that you value the friendliness of our staff. Therefore I do hope that you will return to the Albus for a blissful stay in a cool and quiet room next time!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    315
    93
    31
    19
See reviews for
84
354
32
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Friendly personel, toplocation, but keep in mind that there is no airconditioning in this hotel. As soon as the outside temperature exceeds 20 degrees celcius, it becomes unpleasantly hot in the rooms. The ventilator that is provided in each room helps, but does not solve the problem. During the first night, we had to stay in a room at the front of the hotel. The noise was so loud that we could not keep the windows open when sleeping, thus increasing the problem with the heath. So bottom line: I will not come here again during the summer. All the design in the world cannot compensate for the basic need of having a cool room that allows for a decent night of sleep.

Vriendelijk personeel, toplocatie, maar hou er rekening mee dat er geen airco is in dit hotel. Van zodra dat het buiten meer dan 20 graden is, wordt het in de kamers onaangenaam warm. De ventilator die in de kamer staat helpt, maar het blijft onaangenaam. Eerst hadden we

Room Tip: Always ask for a room at the back of the hotel. The rooms are smaller but the noise is MUCH less.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Hello precious guest,

Thank you for leaving a review on this website!

I am sorry to read that you did not have the best night of sleep due to the heat and street noise. Unfortunately the location in the heart of Amsterdam comes with the sounds of the city, meaning traffic and (party)people. Nevertheless, I hope that you would like to give the Albus a second chance in winter and I hope to welcome you back in a warm and comfy room then!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Albus in one of their one bedroom apartments. We were absolutely delighted! Everything was of course quite small but it was equipped with everything we needed including silverware, dishes, microwave, washer and dryer. Our only regret was not staying longer. The location was convenient and was a very good experience.

Room Tip: Stay in one of their apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear precious guest,

Thank you very much for your nice compliments on our apartment. We hope to welcome you again soon for another blissful stay in Amsterdam!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The staff was extremely helpful, location is great and the atmosphere is definatly upscale. The room is a little small to the American taste, but based on other hotels I've stayed at in Amsterdam, the room size is typical. The elevator was greatly appreciated as some other hotels in this price range require a climb to your room up very steep steps.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hello precious guest,

Thank you for your nice compliments on our staff and atmosphere.

I hope to welcome you back soon for another blissful stay in the Albus!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The Hotel has a superb location in the heart of Amsterdam. You get a voucher for complimentary glass of wine on arrival. Service is excellent with a very friendly staff who remind you of service in a five star hotel. Their suites are spacious and the hotel is well kept and very clean. Toiletries in the rooms are nice and good quality.

Unfortunately the rooms have no air conditioning and depending on location, can get warm during summertime. The Hotel provides you with electric fans. Depending if your room faces the street or your windows face the noisy side street, rooms are quite noisy because since the rooms have no air conditioning, you need to open the windows. To alleviate the problem, the Hotel provides you with earplugs! Imagine, wearing earplugs to sleep. Ask for quiet rooms if you mind the noise.

The Hotel is a great alternative.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet rooms away from the front and side streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hello valuable guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on this website and for your positive comments on our service standards!

Since we are located in the heart of bubbly Amsterdam which has loads of benefits, street noise is unfortunately one of the disadvantages. I am glad to see that you do value the cleanliness, the rooms and our staff and I hope that your stay has been blissful anyway!

I hope to meet you in the Albus during your next visit!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night. The location is very convenient for almost anything you'd want to do. A block from the flower market, two blocks from Rembrandt square. Quite a bit of street noise. The clue should have been complimentary ear plugs in the room. This was exacerbated by no air conditioning and open windows. Food was decent, staff was excellent. Room was a decent size.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Hello precious guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and your nice comments about our staff!

I am sorry to read that the streetnoise has been a bit disturbing during your stay, but perhaps one of our rooms in the back or on the side of the hotel will be the perfect solution for your next trip to lively Amsterdam.

I hope to welcome you again in the Albus soon!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and found the room incredibly noisy. Not only was the street noise bad, but bearable, but the sound insulation between rooms was poor. A large group of guests seemed to be departing from 4- 5.30 one morning and the shouting, door slamming, tramping up the corridor etc made it impossible to sleep. In their defence, it was almost impossible to close the door quietly. Otherwise the room was fine for our needs but slightly gloomy and the bedside reading lights were not correctly angled for reading. The Nespresso coffee available in the room and at reception was most welcome, but I really wanted tea-making facilities in my room. Despite asking staff 3 times (although I asked in passing and not at reception) these never materialised. I feel that this is a rather negative review but I left feeling rather grumpy through lack of sleep! However, the hotel was very well placed for all the major sights and the hotel staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. The welcome drink and orientation was most appreciated.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hello valuable guest,

Thank you very much for your honest feedback about your stay and your nice compliments about our staff and welcome services.

I understand that you are not happy with the noise made by some of other guests leaving early and I am sorry that you have been disturbed!

Do you remember from which staff you did try to order the tea facilities and would you be so kind to e-mail me this on lisa@albushotel.com? I know our front office team has a properly working guests request system, but of course I expect all of our staff to react on guests requirements in a adequate way.

Hoping to welcome you back in the Albus for a more peaceful stay!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#46 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, Hotel.de, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Albus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.