We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Albus

Save Saved
You added The Albus to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Albus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 49, Amsterdam 1017 HE, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #61 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
1 review
“Excellent Place to Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The staff was extremely helpful, location is great and the atmosphere is definatly upscale. The room is a little small to the American taste, but based on other hotels I've stayed at in Amsterdam, the room size is typical. The elevator was greatly appreciated as some other hotels in this price range require a climb to your room up very steep steps.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello precious guest,

Thank you for your nice compliments on our staff and atmosphere.

I hope to welcome you back soon for another blissful stay in the Albus!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    260
    277
    84
    26
    17
See reviews for
69
311
30
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Hotel has a superb location in the heart of Amsterdam. You get a voucher for complimentary glass of wine on arrival. Service is excellent with a very friendly staff who remind you of service in a five star hotel. Their suites are spacious and the hotel is well kept and very clean. Toiletries in the rooms are nice and good quality.

Unfortunately the rooms have no air conditioning and depending on location, can get warm during summertime. The Hotel provides you with electric fans. Depending if your room faces the street or your windows face the noisy side street, rooms are quite noisy because since the rooms have no air conditioning, you need to open the windows. To alleviate the problem, the Hotel provides you with earplugs! Imagine, wearing earplugs to sleep. Ask for quiet rooms if you mind the noise.

The Hotel is a great alternative.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet rooms away from the front and side streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello valuable guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on this website and for your positive comments on our service standards!

Since we are located in the heart of bubbly Amsterdam which has loads of benefits, street noise is unfortunately one of the disadvantages. I am glad to see that you do value the cleanliness, the rooms and our staff and I hope that your stay has been blissful anyway!

I hope to meet you in the Albus during your next visit!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed for one night. The location is very convenient for almost anything you'd want to do. A block from the flower market, two blocks from Rembrandt square. Quite a bit of street noise. The clue should have been complimentary ear plugs in the room. This was exacerbated by no air conditioning and open windows. Food was decent, staff was excellent. Room was a decent size.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, yesterday
Hello precious guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and your nice comments about our staff!

I am sorry to read that the streetnoise has been a bit disturbing during your stay, but perhaps one of our rooms in the back or on the side of the hotel will be the perfect solution for your next trip to lively Amsterdam.

I hope to welcome you again in the Albus soon!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and found the room incredibly noisy. Not only was the street noise bad, but bearable, but the sound insulation between rooms was poor. A large group of guests seemed to be departing from 4- 5.30 one morning and the shouting, door slamming, tramping up the corridor etc made it impossible to sleep. In their defence, it was almost impossible to close the door quietly. Otherwise the room was fine for our needs but slightly gloomy and the bedside reading lights were not correctly angled for reading. The Nespresso coffee available in the room and at reception was most welcome, but I really wanted tea-making facilities in my room. Despite asking staff 3 times (although I asked in passing and not at reception) these never materialised. I feel that this is a rather negative review but I left feeling rather grumpy through lack of sleep! However, the hotel was very well placed for all the major sights and the hotel staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. The welcome drink and orientation was most appreciated.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello valuable guest,

Thank you very much for your honest feedback about your stay and your nice compliments about our staff and welcome services.

I understand that you are not happy with the noise made by some of other guests leaving early and I am sorry that you have been disturbed!

Do you remember from which staff you did try to order the tea facilities and would you be so kind to e-mail me this on lisa@albushotel.com? I know our front office team has a properly working guests request system, but of course I expect all of our staff to react on guests requirements in a adequate way.

Hoping to welcome you back in the Albus for a more peaceful stay!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed once with a business trip back in 2013.
The hotel is in a fantastic spot, away from noise but close enough to walk pretty much anywhere!

The hotel room was really nice, but for the price you pay, it's not really worth it. It was kept clean and somewhat spacious, but you can pay a lot less for a hotel up the road!

The staff are lovely and they are very welcoming.

All in all, it was a great stay, just a little too pricey so I doubt we will go with them again. (Unless rpices are dropped)

Room Tip: No major tips; just there are cheaper hotels in the area with the same (or more) space and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello valuable guest,

Thank you for your nice compliments about the cleanliness of the rooms and our welcoming service!

Please, make sure that you book your future reservations on our own website for the best rates and unique promotions and discount actions to make sure you are not paying too much.

I hope that our competitive prices and our lovely staff will still make you coming back to the Albus during your next trip to Amsterdam!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been to The Albus two times, and I really like it. It has a great location.
The roms is goodand the staff is always helpfull and smiling.
Both times we arrived early, and they prepered our rom early for us.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello precious guest,

Thank you very much for returning to the Albus and for your nice comments on this website.

We hope to welcome you again soon for another blissful stay!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

the hotel is no more than 10-15 minutes walk from the major sites and a block from the tram. we were near eateries, the flower market, shopping etc. friendly desk staff were helpful with advice and prompt with service, e.g. a request for a kettle: it came immediately, with teabags and sugar! we had one small problem - the minimalist design includes no drawers and closet shelves were few and inconvenient. 2 people who spent 4 days found unpacking and neatness a challenge.

Room Tip: 207 is a suite. the extra space provided relative privacy to a non-couple, one of whom slept on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hello precious guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a positive review on this website!

I am glad to read that you praise our staff and services. I already received your feedback about the closet space through our front office staff and I understand your comments. We have sereval rooms with extra closet space with shelves, perhaps this is a better option when you are travelling with a lot of luggage.

Do not hesistate to contact me again for your next reservation on lisa@albushotel.com so I can arrange the most suitable room for you!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Address: Vijzelstraat 49, Amsterdam 1017 HE, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Albus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.