We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel and Wonderful Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Albus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Albus to your Saves list
The Albus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #67 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel and Wonderful Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Albus on 4/21 and 4/22. While I would echo the thoughts of some that the rooms are a bit small, I would counter that with the fact that you are rarely in your room so don't let tht stop you from staying there. It is pretty typical of most hotel rooms in Europe. What really makes this place is the wonderful staff. They were extremely responsive to any/all requests. I want to specifically call out Veron and Sofia. They were both incredibly helpful and always smiling and upbeat. Whether it is giving directions to the best places to see/dine, helping to arrange tickets for transportation in town or outside of town or just making polite conversation, these ladies are gems. The Albus is very fortunate to have them on their team!

In terms of the location of the hotel, it is a bit far from the center of the town but I think that was really nice. The area is quiet by comparison to other part of the city. Trams to the center of town are frequent and cheap. It is also not a terrible walk to any of the attractions that you might want to see. This makes the location was a plus in my book.

If you are going to Amsterdam and want to be away from the craziness of th center of the city and you are looking for a staff that goes above and beyond to make your stay the best that it can possibly be, then this is the place for you. We would stay there again without reservation.

Room Tip: Our room faced out on to the main road infront of the hotel. We were on the 4th floor so the noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    330
    98
    33
    19
See reviews for
92
369
32
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lanark, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

My husband and have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Albus. The hotel is clean and comfortable, rooms are a little small but have everything you need in them. A typically inner city hotel. We found the staff extremely helpful and pleasant, couldn't do enough for us. The view from the window is a main road so nothing really to see. We didn't go for the breakfast option as it was 16euros each which we found a little steep and there are plenty of places around Rembrant square to eat which was just around the corner. It was a bank holiday and Amsterdam was very busy with their remembrance day service and festival for the end of German occupation but we enjoyed the experience of watching all the festivities.

Room Tip: The hotel has a lift so no problems with bags, we were on the 1st floor and were not disturbed by no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hello precious guest,

Thank you very much for leaving such a nice review!

We hope to welcome you back in the Albus anothr time to discover one of our back rooms with a view over de gardens of the canal houses!

With kind regards,

Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

I just got back to the U.S. from Amsterdam and staying at the Albus. We were a group of 6 ladies, and the staff could not have been more accommodating! They bent over backwards (almost) to help us with our requests and booked several reservations and tickets for us. Their directions were extremely helpful as well. Probably my only disappointment was that there is no air-conditioning so I would not stay there from May-Sept. We Americans love our A/C! The rooms were small, but most are in Europe. Everything was very nice and clean as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hello valuable guest,

Thank you for your nice compliments, I am glad to read that you and your friends had such a good time!

I hope that you will still return to the Albus on your next trip to Amsterdam in spite of the lack of A/C as we do offer a van and central heating in each room to regulate the temprature as good as possible. And of course all our windows can be opened for fresh air as well!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed at this hotel 2 weeks ago. Although the staff could not be faulted, our rooms were very small and looked out on a skip at the back of the hotel. Other guests could (and did) access a walkway beside our bedroom windows and look in.
The hotel website is very glitzy ,but there is no bar at this hotel , just a couple of sofas in reception so nowhere you can relax after a lot of walking.They have a problem with check in so even this area is congested with people getting free drinks while they wait for rooms. Not good. We had to go to another hotel opposite to sit down with a drink before dinner.
The location is good but the restaurant choice for dinner is limited too.

We paid a lot of money expecting much better facilities. This hotel is very much style over substance.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hello precious guest,

Thank you very much for your compliments on our staff and your valuable feedback about some other experiences.

I am sorry to read that you did not try our restaurant because of the limited choice as what we do serve is honestly very good and we specialize in "off the menu" surprise menu's. Just check the Senses restaurant webpage on Tripadvisor for some very positive reviews!

I am afraid that you have mistaken our sit down check in for guests that are waiting for rooms. As long as we have the capacity, we always try to sit down with each arriving guest and complete the registration procedure while sitting down in our lounge, enjoying a nice cup of fresh coffee (or tea) after travelling.

I do hope that you will return to the Albus on your next trip to Amsterdam and get the chance to enjoy a nice glass of wine by the fire place in our lounge (with bar) after a day of exporing the city!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lincolnshire, UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We spent four nights in the Albus. It was at the height of the 'tulip season' and also a Bank Holiday weekend - so Amsterdam was very busy. The thing that I will remember about our stay at the Albus was the helpfulness of the staff. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, all of the staff were helpful, friendly and patient - often sorting things out that were well beyond the call of duty. This is a rare thing in a hotel that has a high turnover of guests. So - full marks for service.

The hotel itself is usefully positioned between the big galleries/museums and the canal/shopping action - so you really don't need to spend any money on taxis or public transport. The road itself is a bit scruffy - but we felt safe and liked the fact we could walk straight out the door into the thick of things.

The Albus has obviously been given the "boutique' treatment at some point - this is beginning to look and feel a bit tired now. That said, our king-bedded room was a useful size and was clean and well equipped. We had a couple of minor issues with the room - but these were quickly sorted out. Although it's probably due for a re-furb in the next couple of years, we thought the general standard was more than acceptable.

Overall, we thought this was a tidy hotel in a good location - and the readiness of the staff to give help and advice added to our enjoyment of a long weekend in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the hotel - don't worry you won't be looking at brick wall - o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hello valuable guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such nice review on this webiste!

I am happy to read all your compliments about our helpful staff, service and about the room.
We sincerely hope to welcome you back in the Albus soon for another long weekend in bubbly Amsterdam!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The hotel staff were so lovely ,,,we got some delay in check-in but the gave us a free drink and they were very helpful..
The location is perfect close to central and to the attractions

I would come again if i visit Amsterdam

Room Tip: its a little expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear precious guest,

We would be very happy to have you back!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for business. The rooms are clean and tidy and great facilities, including coffee/tea in the room, ironing service and fast wifi. 5 mins walk from Rembrant's square with all the bars and restaurants. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast selection is just ok. It was my second stay at this hotel and the first time room was quite noisy but nothing compared to other hotels in the center, this time it was quiet, so you have to ask for a less noisy one. Generally, good experience and will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Eigenaar at The Albus, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hello returning guest!

Thank you for choosing the Albus again as you place to stay in Amsterdam!

I am glad to read that you have enjoyed a quiete room this time and that you plan to come back.

We hope to see you again soon!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#39 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#40 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Albus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.