We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well suited for exploring Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Albus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Albus to your Saves list
The Albus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #56 of 351 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Well suited for exploring Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The Albus is located near Muntplein, which is three tram stations (a few minutes ride) from Amsterdam central station. Nearby is the Bloemenmarkt (flower market), lots of restaurants and bars (of mixed quality), various cinemas (e.g. the famous Tuschinski). Tram 16 and 24 bring you directly to the museums quarter within a few minutes. In short: The location is great when you want to explore Amsterdam.

However, the location has also its disadvantages: Some rooms are quite noisy due to the nearby traffic. The rooms themselves are nicely furnished and tidy. A nice goodie is the coffee maker and a small bottle of water every day on your room.

In my experience, the staff was extraordinary friendly and helpful.

We did not book breakfast as it is way too expensive and a there are a lot of other options around the hotel to get a breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear precious guest,

Thank you very much for your compliments about our staff and the rooms and for sharing some valuable tips about our surroundings for other travellers to read. I hope that our staff has also been of any assistance in finding the best ways to discover beautiful Amsterdam!

I understand that the front rooms can be a bit noisy, however this is because we are located in the middle of the city centre and I hope you understand that this is hard to prevent.

I hope to welcome you back with us in the near future for a quiet and blissful stay!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    452
    137
    41
    21
See reviews for
131
553
42
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Taree, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Having just finished seven weeks of living out of a suitcase at different hotels, the Albus was, for us, a fantastic end to a memorable journey. It's the attention to little things that made it a nice stay. They sit down with you on arrival and explain all there is to know about the hotel and sightseeing in Amsterdam. The supply of free real coffee in the foyer and in your room was a nice touch. The central location made it easy to get around. The rooms are a little noisy as the one we were in fronted the main street but they supply ear plugs for those that are effected. We didn't need them. The rooms were spacious, with all you could need except a fridge. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and attentive to our needs. The final icing on the cake was them looking after our luggage on the last day. We had a 7hr wait after check out till our plane left. They stored our luggage and allowed us to use their facilities, including the free coffee, for the day while we did our final sightseeing. Can't recommend the Albus more highly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear precious guest,

Thank you for your nice comments about the Albus and recommending our hotel!

I find it fantastic to read that our staff had conributed in ending your journey in a memorable way.
I am sorry that you missed a fridge or minibar, we decided to offer roomservice without any cover fee instead. As a Green Key Gold certified hotel we try to think as much about the environment as possible and saving energy from fridges that are turned on all day, might help a bit.

I hope that Amsterdam will be part one of your future journeys so we can meet again!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Room was small and very noisy. Not at all what we expected judging by the description provided on the hotel website. Will not be staying there again. On the positive side, the staff are excellent. With a quitter and more comfortable room the stay would have been enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hello precious guest,

Thank you for your honest feedback.

I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy the room that you booked as much as you expected. May I just suggest you to inform the reception directly during your next stay? We offer different room types, ranging from 18 up to 32 square meters surface, located in the front, side or back of the hotel. Most of the times it is possible to change to another room during your stay, preferably immedeately after check in.

I appreciate your positive comments on our staff and I will pass your compliments to our team.
Hoping to welcome you again in the Albus!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Just returned from 8 nights in Amsterdam, staying at The Albus. First and foremost, the staff was lovely, helpful and really friendly. Our room was very bright and spacious. The location is excellent: walking distance to many sights but not in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the city and is easily accessible via public transportation. Don't let the sexy advertising sway you one way or another; it is a perfect place to stay as a family and the unlimited coffee and licorice candies were a plus as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Hello valuable guest,

Thank you so much for all your nice comments!

I am glad you have enjoyed the free take-away coffee and our typical Ducth candies in our lobby. I am also happy to read that you recommend the Albus as a family friendly hotel as we do like to welcome our little guests!

We are hoping to see you and your whole family back soon for another long and blissful stay in Amsterdam!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbridge, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We are just back from a fantastic 3 night stay at the albus. The hotel is very well located with a tram service outside the door that brings you to both dam square and central station.... The staff are a credit to the hotel and from the minute we walked through the door we felt so welcome. A member of staff invited us to sit down and offered drinks and then went through the main attractions on the map and anything extra we would want to see. I would also recommend buying tickets at reception for certain attractions as you get to skip the queue and they were the same price. The room we had was lovely with everything you would need to relax after a long day out in Amsterdam. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a comfortable relaxing hotel in the centre of everything Amsterdam has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear precious guest,

Thank you very much for recommending the Albus!

It's nice to read that you have made use of our pre-sale tickets so you could skip the lines at the museums. Ans most importantly, I am very happy that we have made you feel welcome as we all consider this as our biggest mission!

We hope to see you again soon!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We loved staying at the Albus Hotel. The room was modern and cool, and the shower and bathroom were definitely unique! Loved the staff and everyone we met there. Perfect location for night life and close to the Tram. Would definitely stay there again!!

Room Tip: Get a king bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear valuable guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review on this website!

I am glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you have discovered the lively bars and clubs which are situated just around the corner from the hotel. I hope our staff has been able to provide you with some inside information and recommendations while you were here:).

We all hope to meet you again in the Albus soon!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Had a few days at the Albus from the 14th t0 17th April. Reception staff very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Breakfast was varied and fresh with something to suit everybody and breakfast team very efficient. I found the room really comfortable, beds, pillows etc and overall very clean. Well done Albus!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear precious guest,

Thank you for all your nice compliments! I am very happy to read that our team has ensured you a great stay in all areas during your exploration of Amsterdam.

We hope to welcome you again soon for another blissful stay!

With kind regards,
Lsa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#47 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Albus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.