We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Albus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Albus to your Saves list
The Albus
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #60 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Had a few days at the Albus from the 14th t0 17th April. Reception staff very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Breakfast was varied and fresh with something to suit everybody and breakfast team very efficient. I found the room really comfortable, beds, pillows etc and overall very clean. Well done Albus!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear precious guest,

Thank you for all your nice compliments! I am very happy to read that our team has ensured you a great stay in all areas during your exploration of Amsterdam.

We hope to welcome you again soon for another blissful stay!

With kind regards,
Lsa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    380
    116
    36
    20
See reviews for
106
439
36
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Fantastic location in Amsterdam - walking distance to everything!
The staff is very friendly and will do everything they can to help.
The street is a bit noisy at night, but having said that, the beds and pillows are lovely and I had some great nights of sleep.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street area bit noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Hello precious guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comments!

I am glad to read that you have had some great nights of sleep as we consider the beds and bedding as one of the most important things to ensure a blissful stay.

We hope to welcome you again soon for more sweet dreams!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

I was so excited to write a review when I first entered the Albus. The staff was very friendly and even gave us four free drink vouchers at the bar for the lift being out of service. But then it all started to fall apart . We were there Tuesday- Friday and Tuesday/Wednesday we good but then Thursday comes and they don't clean our rooms while we are out ALL DAY! Much to our disappointment when we get to our room Thursday at 5PM (after being out all day) the room was still the way we left it. I called reception and asked if our room could be cleaned. They apologised and sent someone up straight away- when the head housekeeping lady and another staff member came she asked when we were going to leave again so they could clean it. We said we were going out to dinner in an hour and they could clean it then. IMAGINE our surprise when we came back and found it STILL NOT CLEAN!!! Very disappointed. so I called down again and asked for someone come up. It's 830 by this point and a man comes to my room as I'm getting my two daughters ready for bed to make our beds, give us fresh coffee and water for tomorrow. He wAs very nice but it was rather unpleasant for me to be showering my children while he was in the room. My husband went to the desk to ask them what they could so for such a terrible inconvenience and they said "nothing, sorry but now someone is sorting it"
It was a very good start- terrible ending to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear valuable guest,

I am very sorry for the inconvenience that you have exprerienced due to the late housekeeping service!

I really wish that I would have been informed about your complaint by our staff directly so I would have the chance to personally speak with you ubefore your departure the next day. And perhaps I even could have changed your last impression while you were still in the hotel.

Unfortunately it is too late for that now and therefore I have send you an apoligy letter by e-mail, also requesting you some more information about the handling of your complaint. What you describe in your review is absolutely not up to our standards and I would like to make sure this will never happen again to any of our guests!

I hope to get in touch with you by e-mail soon and that I may change your last impression of the Albus to a positive one too!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

It is difficult to find a family room in Amsterdam in the week before Easter, at a reasonable price. I found The Arbus, and it was a good find, though a bit expensive.
A recent hotel, in a contemporary modern Dutch design style. We had a nice spacious room with a double bed, and a sofabed for the children (which was a bit on the small side). Complementary source water and NEspresso coffee. Nice fully equipped bathroom (not only a rain shower, but also a hand shower). A pity about the little steps in the dark corridor leading to room 001, and the steps inside the room.
Very friendly staff both at the reception and the breakfast room. Very good breakfast, (also with scrambled eggs).
Ideal location in the centre of Amsterdam, halfway between the Dam and the Rijksmuseum. Public transport (tram) in the street.
Overall a very good hotel, recommended Only minuses the steps in the corridor and the price.

Room Tip: there are some little steps in the corridor leading to room 001 (basement)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Hello precious guest,

Thank you for leaving such a valuable review on Tripadvisor!

It is very helpful for us to read about your experiences as a family, as we offer several family rooms for 2 parents and 2 kids up to 12 yeard old. I am afraid I will not be able to change the size of our sofabeds (which are 120 cm wide) on the short term, but I will certainly consider your comment about the small steps and the low lights in the corridor of room #001.

I also would like to thank you for your compliments and hope to welcome you and your family back in the Albus soon!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Great experience & kindness from all the employees who welcome everybody offering a cup of coffee or tea. And I also enjoyed the liquorice candies in the hall:-) Warm and cozy room with large bathroom with totally different design style from the room (which created a very nice contrast). Free coffee in the room, large flat tv and soft pillows. Excellent position either to reach the crowded Dam Square as well as the 9 streets district.


  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Hello valuable guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your positive comments about our staff and services on Tripadvisor!

I am glad to read that you appreciate the typical Dutch liquorice to try for all our guests and that you have find your way to the beautiful and charming 9 Streets area.

I am sure that there is much more to discover in our wonderful city and I hope that we can spoil you with some more personal recommendations on your next stay with us!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

the ALBUS Hotel lives up to its web page description, good location, friendly staff, will recommend to family, friends and associates. my fond memories of Amsterdam will include the ALBUS. There is fear when you select a hotel based upon its webpage, but there is joy when the web page is accurate and you get it right. I got it right with the ALBUS

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear precious guest,

How nice to read that you have enjoyed a blissful stay at the Albus and thank you for recommending us to your friends and family!

I am glad that you find our website accurate as we really work hard on this and we do not intent to make any faulse promises. It is always nice to hear that we create the right expectations.

I will share your compliments with our staff and I hope to meet you at the Albus during your next stay!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Excellent friendly staff that was helpful in booking trips and providing suggestions on things to see while visiting. My flight arrived in the early morning and my room was already available. Located in a great location for walking to major points of interests. Was a little farther away from Central Station than expected but still within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taco v, Owner at The Albus, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Hello valuable guest,

I am glad to read that you had a great time in Amsterdam and that we could acommodate you early in the morning on the day of your arrival.

The central train station is a 20 minutes walk away, but only a 5 minues tram ride from the Albus. Our reception sells tickets for the same price as on the tram and we even offer multiple day tickets up to 4 days for special rates.

We hope to welcome you again soon and just call or e-mail us directly if you need any help with transportation!

With kind regards,
Lisa Jurgens
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Albus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Albus

Address: Vijzelstraat 49, 1017 HE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#37 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Albus 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Albus is a four star design hotel where you can experience the vibrancy of central Amsterdam from your doorstep and unwind afterwards in our luxurious rooms. The Albus is located in the historical heart of Amsterdam within the famous Canal Belt and next to the most prestigious part of Amsterdam: The Golden Bend. You’ll be 2-10 minutes away from to the 4 main squares: Rembrandsquare, Leidsesquare, Damsquare and Muntsquare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Albus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Albus Hotel Amsterdam
Albus Grand Amsterdam
Hotel Albus Grand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Albus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.